Protection de l'enfant contre la violence, l'exploitation et les abus

Protection de l’enfance : la démarche de l’UNICEF

Image de l'UNICEF
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1082/Mariella Furrer

On ne peut pas espérer réduire le nombre d’enfants qui vivent dans la rue sans se préoccuper également des problèmes à la maison et à l’école qui peuvent expliquer leur situation. Un enfant qui est exposé au risque de devenir victime de la traite d’êtres humains peut être aussi handicapé, avoir des problèmes avec la police et la justice et subir des violences chez lui. La clé est de comprendre les causes sous-jacentes et de prendre en compte leur influence réciproque. Les dispositifs de protection de l’enfant essaient de tenir compte de l’éventail complet des facteurs de risque présents dans la vie de tous les enfants et de leurs familles. L’UNICEF et ses partenaires (gouvernements, organisations non gouvernementales, acteurs de la société civile, secteur privé) encouragent le renforcement de toutes les composantes des dispositifs de protection de l’enfant – ressources humaines, ressources financières, législation, normes, gouvernance, systèmes de suivi et services. En fonction du contexte particulier à un pays, les dispositifs de protection de l’enfant peuvent relever de plusieurs secteurs comme l’assistance sociale, l’éducation, la santé et la sécurité.

L’UNICEF et ses partenaires appuient l’inventaire et l’évaluation des dispositifs de protection de l’enfant. Ce travail aide à obtenir un consensus entre les gouvernements et la société civile sur les buts et les éléments constitutifs de ce genre de dispositifs, sur leurs points forts et leurs points faibles et sur les actions à engager en priorité. Ceci peut ensuite être traduit par une amélioration de la législation, de la politique, de la réglementation, des normes et des services qui protègent les enfants. Ce travail amène aussi le renforcement de ces dispositifs grâce aux ressources financières et humaines qui leur sont nécessaires pour obtenir des résultats en faveur des enfants.

Au cours des dix dernières années, l’UNICEF a aussi apporté son soutien à une compréhension informée des normes sociales qui conduisent à la violence, à l’exploitation et aux sévices, et a encouragé les changements nécessaires dans un certain nombre de pays. Pour promouvoir des normes positives qui permettent de mettre fin à des pratiques néfastes, l’UNICEF engage des actions de plaidoyer et de sensibilisation, encourage les débats, soutient les programmes éducatifs et les stratégies de communication pour le développement (communication for development) au niveau communautaire et national, dans les villages, parmi les groupements professionnels et les groupes religieux et au sein des communautés de la diaspora d’un pays. Combinée avec une législation, une politique et une réglementation efficaces, cette action qui se concentre sur les valeurs de la communauté et sur les droits humains amène des changements positifs et durables comme l’abandon de la mutilation génitale féminine/excision (female genital mutilation/cutting), la diminution du nombre de mariages d’enfants (child marriage) et des cas de violence domestique.

Faire changer les normes sociales liées aux formes de violence, d’exploitation et de sévices qui sont socialement admises demande du temps et des ressources en quantité considérable, mais constitue un travail crucial pour obtenir des améliorations durables de la vie des enfants.

 Cette focalisation sur la prévention de la violence, de l’exploitation et des sévices et sur les réponses à y apporter concerne toutes les phases du cycle de vie de l’enfant. Assurer que les enfants grandissent en sécurité dans un environnement favorable est un élément crucial pour la réalisation des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (Millennium Development Goals). Cette tâche ne s’applique pas seulement aux contextes de pays en développement, mais aussi aux situations d’intervention humanitaire et elle est conforme aux recommandations contenues dans le document « Étude du Secrétaire général des Nations Unies sur la violence contre les enfants » (United Nations Secretary-General's study on violence against children) de 2006, au Rapport des Nations Unies sur « L’impact des conflits armés sur les enfants » de 1996 (United Nations report on the impact of armed conflict on children) de 1996 et l’examen stratégique de ce « Rapport Machel » 10 ans après intitulé « Les enfants et les conflits armés dans un monde en évolution » (Machel study 10-year strategic review children and conflict in a changing world) publié en 2006 .

Bien qu’elles soient synonymes de dévastation, les situations d’urgence donnent à l’UNICEF l’occasion de travailler de concert avec les gouvernements et la société civile pour actualiser et renforcer la législation, la politique, la réglementation, les services et les pratiques qui protègent les enfants contre la violence, l’exploitation et les sévices, tout en abordant également les normes sociales négatives qui sous-tendent certaines formes de violence.

L’UNICEF s’engage à protéger les enfants des conséquences immédiates aussi bien qu’à long terme des catastrophes naturelles et des conflits armés qui les exposent à des risques aggravés de violence, d’exploitation et de sévices. Dans ces situations, l’UNICEF apporte son soutien aux aidants naturels et organise des espaces sécurisés où les enfants peuvent jouer, apprendre et obtenir l’aide nécessaire à leur bien-être psychologique et mental (psychological and mental well-being) ; identifie les enfants séparés de leur famille et de leurs aidants naturels (children separated from their families and caregivers) ; s’occupe d’eux et les réunit avec leurs familles ; appuie une assistance multiforme en faveur des enfants et des adultes qui ont été victimes de violence sexiste (gender-based violence) ; s’efforce de faire libérer les enfants associés avec des forces armées ou des groupes armés (children associated with armed forces or armed groups) et aide à leur réinsertion dans la communauté ; fait la promotion du suivi personnalisé intégré des enfants vulnérables ; aide à coordonner l’action des acteurs humanitaires qui interviennent sur la protection de l’enfant, la violence sexiste, la santé mentale et le soutien psychosocial des enfants ; signale et documente les cas de graves violations des droits de l’enfant et y répond (monitors, reports on and responds to grave child rights violations) ; et finalement, travaille activement à la mise en place de mesures qui réduisent les risques auxquels font face les enfants et leur évitent d’être victimes de mauvais traitements.

Comme les programmes doivent être fondés sur des données et des faits fiables (data and evidence) pour obtenir des résultats, l’UNICEF appuie également la recherche, la collecte et l’analyse de données pour élargir la base factuelle de son action de protection de l’enfant. L’UNICEF a par exemple récemment terminé une étude sur les pratiques disciplinaires à la maison (child disciplinary practices at home). Données et éléments factuels sont aussi utilisés pour éclairer les interventions définies dans le cadre ses programmes et de sa politique ainsi que son action de suivi et évaluation afin que ces interventions atteignent leurs buts et aient un effet positif sur la vie des enfants. .


 

 

A systems approach to child protection

Endorsed by UNICEF, UNHCR, and Save the Children, Adapting a Systems Approach to Child Protection: Conceptual Clarity Paper, 2010

UNICEF, Child Protection System Mapping and Assessment Tool Kit, 2010 (User's guide) (Core toolkit) (Comprehensive toolkit)

Child protection in emergencies

Report of Graça Machel, Impact of Armed Conflict on Children, 1996

Machel Study Ten Year Strategic Review, Children and Conflict in a Changing World, 2009

Emergency response

UNICEF’s response to emergencies is firmly grounded in the Core commitments for children in humanitarian action and UNICEF’s responsibilities under the Global protection cluster and more specifically the Child protection working group, the Gender based violence area of responsibility working group and the Inter-agency standing committee reference group on mental health and psychosocial support.

Recherche

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

UNICEF’s approach to child protection

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1082/Mariella Furrer

One cannot reduce the number of children living on the streets without also engaging with the problems at home or in school that could explain their situation. A child who faces the risk of being trafficked, may also be disabled, in conflict with the law and experience violence in the home. Understanding the underlying causes and addressing this interconnectedness is key. Child protection systems seek to address the full spectrum of risk factors in the lives of all children and their families. Along with partners, including governments, non-governmental organizations, civil society actors and the private sector, UNICEF promotes the strengthening of all components of child protection systems - human resources, finances, laws, standards, governance, monitoring and services. Depending on the country context, child protection systems may cut across part of the social welfare, education, health, and security sectors.

UNICEF and its partners support the mapping and assessment of child protection systems. This work helps build consensus among government and civil society on the goals and components of such systems, their strengths, weaknesses and priorities upon which to act. This then translates into improved laws, policies, regulations, standards and services protecting all children. It also leads to the strengthening of these systems with the financial and human resources necessary to deliver results for children.

Over the past decade, UNICEF has also supported the informed understanding of social norms that result in violence, exploitation and abuse and has promoted change in a number of countries. To promote positive norms to bring about an end to harmful practices, UNICEF engages in advocacy and awareness raising and supports discussions, education programmes and communication for development strategies at community and national levels, within villages, across professional and religious groups and within diaspora communities. When combined with effective legislation, policies, regulations and services, this process that focuses on community values and human rights leads to positive and lasting change such as the abandonment of female genital mutilation/cutting, decreases in child marriage and domestic violence.

Changing social norms related to forms of violence, exploitation and abuse that are socially condoned is time and resource intensive. Yet, this work is crucial for sustained improvements in children’s lives.

This focus on the prevention and response to violence, exploitation and abuse cuts across the life cycle of the child. It is a critical part of realizing the Millennium Development Goals to ensure that children grow up in a safe and supportive environment. This work not only applies in development contexts but also in humanitarian settings and is in line with the recommendations of the United Nations Secretary-General's study on violence against children (2006), the United Nations report on the impact of armed conflict on children (1996) and the Machel study 10-year strategic review children and conflict in a changing world (2006).

Though devastating, emergencies provide opportunities for UNICEF to work with governments and civil society to renew and strengthen the laws, policies, regulations, services and practices that protect children from violence, exploitation and abuse while also addressing the negative social norms underlying some forms of violence.

UNICEF is committed to protecting children from the immediate and long-term effects of natural disasters and armed conflicts, which expose children to heightened risks of violence, abuse and exploitation. In such contexts, UNICEF supports children’s caregivers and arranges for safe spaces for children to play, learn and receive support for their psychological and mental well-being; identifies, reunites and cares for children separated from their families and caregivers; supports holistic assistance for children and adults who have suffered gender-based violence; actively works to release children associated with armed forces or armed groups and supports their community reintegration; promotes integrated case management of vulnerable children; helps to coordinate humanitarian actors working on child protection, gender-based violence and mental health and psychosocial support of children; monitors, reports on and responds to grave child rights violations; and actively works to put in place measures that reduce the risks of and prevent children from being harmed.

As programming must be grounded in robust data and evidence to demonstrate results, UNICEF also supports research, data collection and analysis to broaden the evidence base on child protection. For example, UNICEF recently completed a study on child disciplinary practices at home. Data and evidence are also used to inform programme and policy interventions, and monitoring and evaluation to ensure that interventions are reaching their goals and having a positive impact on the lives of children.


 

 

A systems approach to child protection

Endorsed by UNICEF, UNHCR, and Save the Children, Adapting a Systems Approach to Child Protection: Conceptual Clarity Paper, 2010

UNICEF, Child Protection System Mapping and Assessment Tool Kit, 2010 (User's guide) (Core toolkit) (Comprehensive toolkit)

Child protection in emergencies

Report of Graça Machel, Impact of Armed Conflict on Children, 1996

Machel Study Ten Year Strategic Review, Children and Conflict in a Changing World, 2009

Emergency response

UNICEF’s response to emergencies is firmly grounded in the Core commitments for children in humanitarian action and UNICEF’s responsibilities under the Global protection cluster and more specifically the Child protection working group, the Gender based violence area of responsibility working group and the Inter-agency standing committee reference group on mental health and psychosocial support.

New enhanced search