保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

联合国儿童基金会的《儿童保护进展报告》推进实现儿童保护目标的进程

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2005-1929/LeMoyne
在海地太子港郊区的佩蒂翁维尔女子监狱,一名13岁的女孩站在院子里,周围是缠绕着带刺铁丝网的水泥墙。

艾米.贝内特报道

美国纽约,2009年10月5日 – 世界各地都有儿童基本人权被侵犯的问题,儿童正在遭受着身体上的和心理上的伤害,这些伤害对他们的影响深远,而且有些是无法弥补的。

 点击此处观看视频

这些是由维尼曼今天在东京发布的新《儿童保护进展报告》中的一些结论。

维尼曼说:“如果一个社会的最小的成员被迫早婚、被虐待成为性工作者,或被剥夺基本的权利,那么这个社会不可能繁荣昌盛。要建设一个使儿童受到保护,并有机会充分发挥潜能的环境,第一步就要认识到侵犯儿童权利的影响。”

儿童保护战略

2009年是《儿童权利公约》发表20周年,也是儿童保护的关键年。尽管自《儿童权利公约》实施以来,许多儿童权利获得了保护,但是要在世界范围内建立起一个保护儿童的环境,还有很多事情要做。

维尼曼说:“这份关于儿童伤害和虐待问题的报告发表于《儿童权利公约》20周年纪念日即将到来的仅仅六周之前,那些对儿童持续伤害和虐待的证据,一定能激起全世界为确保世界各地所有儿童的权利而做出更大的努力。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2004-1200/LeMoyne
在刚果民主共和国伊图里省东部的一个露天采矿场,一个男孩正看着拿着铁锹的人们在矿场的大坡上筛土。刚国的战争孤儿在勘探金矿。

这份《儿童保护进展报告》与2008年6月联合国儿童基金会执行局推出的儿童保护全面战略相一致。新报告使用了详细的数据,以审视短期和长期的战略执行情况。

“支持行动的数据”

收集数据意味着连接建立这个框架的各个点,包括保护儿童的法律、不再容忍伤害儿童行为的社区,以及承诺保护最弱势儿童的政府。

联合国儿童基金会儿童保护事务负责人苏珊.比斯尔(Susan Bissell)说:“我们需要数据来支持我们的行动。如果知道有一个孩子受到暴力伤害,这就足以让我们采取行动。但重要的是,如果我们的行动是有实证基础的,我们就能确保我们所做的是正确的。”

《儿童保护进展报告》介绍了目前所收集到的数据,这为在一些国家建立更好的保护项目提供了强有力的证据。比如,有些国家有数百万儿童被贩卖、没有父母照顾,或缺乏上学和获得基本卫生保健所需要的相应的文件;还有数百万男童和女童被迫在有害的条件下工作;另外还有许多儿童在家、学校、社区、收容所或在拘留所遭受暴力或虐待。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0938/Noorani
11岁的卡姆兰(化名)来自巴基斯坦卡拉奇的贫民区,他是一名性工作者。他身后的卡比尔(化名)也是一名儿童性工作者,他们一起坐在阿姆加德(化名)的小房间里。

呼吁采取行动

根据现有数据,有些进展还是显而易见的。例如,《儿童保护进展报告》显示,在孟加拉、几内亚和尼泊尔这三个童婚盛行的国家,平均的结婚年龄虽然还是不足18岁,但结婚年龄都呈上升趋势。

这份报告还指出,在女性生殖器官切割流行的国家,这种行为正在缓慢减少。

然而,如果要更全面地了解儿童保护的各种挑战,还需要在许多领域收集到更好的数据。《儿童保护进展报告》在结束语中呼吁,敦促各国政府、立法者、社区及公共和私营部门采取行动,为儿童建立一个更受保护的环境。

比斯尔说:“我们的儿童保护问题还有很大空间,需要每个人都行动起来。无论南北东西,我们都被这个儿童保护问题团结在一起。没有任何一个国家与儿童保护问题和权利侵犯问题无关。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年10月5日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员艾米.贝内特报道《儿童保护进展报告》中的结论和采取行动的呼吁。
 视频  
从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

UNICEF ‘Progress for Children’ report advances child-protection goals

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2005-1929/LeMoyne
A 13-year-old girl stands in the yard of the women's prison at Pétionville, a suburb of Port-au-Prince, Haiti, in front of a concrete wall topped with barbed wire.

By Amy Bennett

NEW YORK, USA, 5 October 2009 – Children around the world are experiencing fundamental infringements of their human rights, and suffering physical and psychological harm that has wide-reaching, sometimes irreparable effects.

VIDEO: Watch now

These are some of the conclusions reached by a new UNICEF report, ‘Progress for Children: A Report Card on Child Protection’, released by Executive Director Ann M. Veneman in Tokyo.

“A society cannot thrive if its youngest members are forced into early marriage, abused as sex workers or denied their basic rights,” said Veneman. “Understanding the extent of abuses of children’s rights is a first step to building an environment where children are protected and have the opportunity to reach their full potential.”

Child protection strategy

As the 20th anniversary year of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC), 2009 is a critical year for child protection. And while many children’s rights have been protected thanks to the adoption of the CRC, much work remains to be done to create a protective environment for them worldwide.

“This report on harmful practices and abuse of children comes just six weeks before the 20th anniversary,” said Veneman. “The evidence of continuing harm and abuse must inspire the world to greater effort to guarantee the rights of all children, everywhere.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2004-1200/LeMoyne
A boy watches as men with shovels sift through earth on the slope of a deep quarry in eastern Ituri Province, Democratic Republic of the Congo, where children orphaned by conflict prospect for gold.

The ‘Progress for Children’ report has been issued in accordance with UNICEF’s comprehensive strategy for child protection, adopted by the Executive Board in June 2008. Drawing upon detailed data, the new report examines both the short- and long-term implementation of that strategy.

‘Data for action’

Collecting the data means connecting the dots to build a framework comprising laws that protect children; communities that no longer accept harmful practices against children; and governments that are committed to protecting the most vulnerable.

“We need data for action,” said UNICEF Chief of Child Protection Susan Bissell. “If we know that one child is affected by a violation, that’s enough to take action,” she added. “But importantly, we can be sure that what we do is the right thing [if] our actions are based on evidence.”

‘Progress for Children’ presents the data collected so far to build a compelling case for better protection programmes in countries where millions of children are subject to trafficking, live without parental care, or lack proper documentation to attend school and receive basic health care. Additional millions of boys and girls are forced to work under harmful conditions. Still more children face violence or abuse in their homes, schools or communities, in institutions or while in detention.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0938/Noorani
Kamran (not his real name), 11, is a sex worker from a poor neighbourhood in Karachi, Pakistan. Behind him, Kabir, another child sex worker, and Amjad (their names also changed) sit in Amjad’s small apartment.

Call to action

Based on the available data, however, some progress is evident. For example, ‘Progress for Children’ notes that in Bangladesh, Guinea and Nepal – three countries where child marriage is prevalent – the median age of marriage is rising, although it is still below 18 years of age.

The report also identifies a slow decline in female genital mutilation/cutting in countries where such abuse has been common.

On the other hand, there are many areas where better data collection is needed to form a more complete picture of child-protection challenges. ‘Progress for Children’ concludes with a call to action urging governments, lawmakers, communities, and the public and private sectors to build a more protective environment for children.

“We have a broad agenda in child protection, and it calls upon everybody to take action,” noted Bissell. “The North and the South, East and West – we are all bound in this child-protection agenda. There is no country untouched by child-protection concerns and violations.”


 

 

Video

5 October 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on the findings and the call to action in ‘Progress for Children: A Report Card on Child Protection’.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search