保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

塞拉利昂内战幸存者获倡导妇女和儿童权利奖

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEFHQ/2009/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会驻加拿大负责儿童与武装冲突问题的特别代表玛利亚图.卡玛拉是塞拉利昂的幸存者和最新勇气之声奖得主,她在纽约联合国儿童基金会总部与执行主任安.维尼曼在一起。

伊丽莎白.基姆报道

美国纽约,2009年5月8日 – 联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼昨日会见“勇气之声奖”的最新获得者玛利亚图.卡玛拉(Mariatu Kamara),对她获奖表示祝贺。

这一奖项来自妇女难民委员会,由该委员会的创始人之一丽芙.乌尔曼(Liv Ullmann)在纽约颁发。

卡玛拉女士是塞拉利昂内战的幸存者,也是致力于为那里的妇女和儿童提供庇护和关怀的玛利亚图基金会的创始人。她还是联合国儿童基金会驻加拿大负责儿童与武装冲突问题的特别代表。

卡玛拉女士因杰出的工作已经获得过其它奖项,但她说,能加入到其他进取女性倡导者的行列,获得该委员会的奖项感觉非常“美妙”。

作为幸存者代表讲话

现年22岁的卡玛拉女士在2002年逃离了她的祖国。她曾在12岁的时候被叛军抓获,砍掉了双手。这个磨难之后的三年,她是在难民营渡过的,而后,她获得了加拿大的庇护。
自此,卡玛拉女士与联合国儿童基金会和北美非政府组织“释放儿童”合作,促进儿童权利,并谴责战争对儿童的影响。作为联合国儿童基金会驻加拿大的代表,她曾前往塞拉利昂访问项目。
讲到这些项目,她说:“很高兴看到已经取得的进展,但是我们需要更广泛地扩大支持。虽然战争结束了,但是还有许多小孩子在受苦。”

未来的计划

通过她的基金会,卡玛拉女士希望为塞拉利昂受虐待的妇女和儿童建设安全的房子。目前,她正在多伦多的乔治布朗学院攻读咨询专业。她认为自己的亲身经历适合将来为战争的幸存者提供心理帮助,但她也保留了做其它选择的机会。

她说:“我一直想成为一名律师,参与司法和人权问题。”

卡玛拉女士的首次纽约之行,除了受到联合国儿童基金会执行主任的欢迎及领取妇女难民委员会的颁奖之外,还会见了国际救援委员会的代表以及联合国负责儿童与武装冲突问题特别代表拉迪卡.库马拉斯瓦米(Radhika Coomaraswamy)。


 

 

相关链接

以下为外部链接,将在新窗口打开

勇气之声奖官方网站

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

Sierra Leonean survivor honoured for advocacy on behalf of women and children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEFHQ/2009/Markisz
UNICEF Canada Special Representative for Children and Armed Conflict Mariatu Kamara, a survivor of the conflict in Sierra Leone and the newest Voices of Courage Award winner, with Executive Director Ann M. Veneman at UNICEF headquarters in New York.

By Elizabeth Kiem

NEW YORK, USA, 8 May 2009 – The newest recipient of the Voices of Courage Award, Mariatu Kamara, met yesterday with UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman, who congratulated her on the honour.

The award from the Women’s Refugee Commission was presented in New York by the Commission’s co-founder, Liv Ullmann.

Ms. Kamara is a survivor of the civil conflict in Sierra Leone and founder of the Mariatu Foundation, which seeks to provide refuge and healing for women and children there. She is also UNICEF Canada’s Special Representative for Children in Armed Conflict.

While Ms. Kamara has already received other awards for her work, she said it was “wonderful” to join the ranks of other enterprising women advocates honoured by the Commission.

Speaking out as a survivor
Now 22, Ms. Kamara fled her native country in 2002. At age 12, she had been taken captive by rebel soldiers who cut off both her hands. This ordeal was followed by three years in a refugee camp, after which she received asylum in Canada.

Since then, Ms. Kamara has worked with both UNICEF and the North American non-governmental organization Free the Children to promote child rights and decry the impact of war on children. As a UNICEF Canada representative, she has visited programmes in Sierra Leone.

“It is nice to see the progress being made,” she said of those programmes. “But we need to spread support a little wider. Even though the war is over, there are still so many little children suffering.”

Plans for the future
Through her foundation, Ms. Kamara hopes to set up safe houses for abused women and children in Sierra Leone. She is currently studying counselling at George Brown College in Toronto. While she thinks her personal experience suits her for a future in providing psychosocial help to survivors of conflict, she is keeping other options open.

“I’m always thinking about being a lawyer – being involved in justice and human rights,” she said.

During her first visit to New York, in addition to being welcomed by UNICEF’s Executive Director and honoured by the Women’s Refugee Commission, Ms. Kamara has met with representatives of the International Rescue Committee and with the UN Special Representative on Children and Armed Conflict, Radhika Coomaraswamy.


 

 

New enhanced search