保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

联合国安理会发布儿童与武装冲突问题最新报告

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1162/Markisz
青少年倡导者和前儿童兵格蕾斯.阿卡罗曾在2008年联合国总部召开的,宣布“受战争影响的青少年联盟”成立的新闻发布会上讲话。2009年4月29日,她又回到安理会发言。

美国纽约,2009年4月29日 – 今天,在安理会讨论联合国秘书长潘基文《关于儿童与武装冲突问题》的最新报告时,一位前儿童兵讲述了她被武装叛乱集团拐骗和虐待的故事。

现年29岁的格蕾斯.阿卡罗(Grace Akallo)说,她在乌干达北部上高中的时候,和许多同学生活在洛德抵抗军的枪口威胁之下,被拐骗、遭受性侵犯,并被迫成为士兵。

遵守国际法

阿卡罗呼吁安理会制止并惩罚性暴力的罪犯,这一请求得到联合国秘书长、联合国秘书长关于儿童与武装冲突问题特别代表拉迪卡.库马拉斯瓦米女士(Radhika Coomaraswamy)和联合国儿童基金会秘书长安.维尼曼的积极响应。

维尼曼主任说:“全世界仍有数百万儿童受到武装冲突的影响。必须加强遵守国家人道主义法并尊重儿童的权利。”

维尼曼主任还提出袭击学校及其他儿童服务设施的问题。

针对重复肇事者

这份秘书长的报告建议,在将来的报告中除了目前列出的招募儿童兵的组织名称之外,还要指出那些实施性暴力及其他针对儿童的严重暴力的组织名称。

这份报告每年发布一次,包括对20个国家的事件描述。报告将严重侵犯行为定义为在武装冲突中招募并使用儿童兵、杀害和残害儿童、强奸及其他严重性暴力行为、拐骗、攻击学校和医院以及剥夺儿童获得人道主义援助的行为。

库马拉斯瓦米女士建议安理会讨论针对重复肇事者的处理措施,这样才能确保这些话语不是空洞的文字。


 

 

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

UN Security Council addresses latest report on children in armed conflict

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1162/Markisz
Youth advocate and former child soldier Grace Akallo speaks at a 2008 press conference at UN headquarters announcing the creation of the Network of Young People Affected by War. She returned to address the Security Council on 29 April 2009.

NEW YORK, USA, 29 April 2009 – A former child soldier told the tale of her abduction and abuse by an armed rebel group to the United Nations Security Council today, as the council discussed the latest report from UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon on children in armed conflict.

Grace Akallo, now 29, explained that while attending high school in northern Uganda, she and many of her fellow students were abducted at gunpoint by the Lord’s Resistance Army, sexually assaulted and forced to become soldiers.

Adherence to international law

Akallo’s plea to the Security Council – that the perpetrators of sexual violence be stopped and punished – echoed remarks by the Secretary-General, the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children in Armed Conflict, Radhika Coomaraswamy, and UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman.

“Millions of children around the world continue to be impacted by armed conflict,” said Veneman. “Adherence to international humanitarian law and respect for children’s rights must be strengthened.”

Veneman also raised the issue of attacks on schools and other facilities that serve children.

Targeting repeat offenders

The Secretary-General’s report recommends that groups perpetrating sexual violence and other grave violations against children be named in future reports, alongside those currently named for engaging in child recruitment.

The report, which is issued annually, includes descriptions of incidents in 20 countries. It defines grave violations as recruitment and use of children in armed conflict, killing and maiming of children, rape and other grave sexual violence, abductions, attacks on schools and hospitals, and denial of humanitarian access to children.

Coomaraswamy called on the Security Council to ensure that its words were not empty threats. To that end, she recommended that the council discuss targeted measures against repeat offenders.


 

 

New enhanced search