保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

联合国儿童基金会支持为了保护儿童人权的法律改革

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Markisz
在纽约联合国千年广场酒店召开旨在实现人权的立法改革会议上,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼致辞。

洛西尼.卡瓦尔报道

美国纽约,2008年11月19日 — 联合国儿童基金会正在召开为期两天的会议,旨在建立行之有效的法律制度,以实现妇女和儿童的权利。 参加会议的有政府代表、非政府组织、联合国各机构、以及学者、议员和人权法专家等。

安.维尼曼主任致开幕辞时指出,联合国儿童基金会在促进为实现儿童权利而进行立法改革中扮演着倡导者的角色。 维尼曼主任说,此次会议将立法改革中起着举足轻重作用的各方聚集在一起,探索如何协力将倡议付诸实现,以促进人权状况,这标志着立法改革又向前迈了一步。 该会议于今天在纽约落下帷幕。

联合国儿童基金会借这次会议,发布了《立法改革手册:实现儿童的权利》。 该手册旨在为立法者、国会议员、法学家、律师、法官及其他从事协调国内立法与国际人权条约和法律文书的人提供指导纲领。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会结合人权法会议发表了《实现儿童权利的立法改革手册》。

强化儿童的权利

联合国儿童基金会负责“性别、权利和公民参与”事务助理主任莉斯.吉本斯(Liz Gibbons)说:“正确的法律和政策,在被合理地配备资源、执行和实施下,是保护儿童免受暴力,改善他们的生存、教育和成长状况的重要基础。”

她补充说:“依靠颁布法律来消除不平等,是促进男女平等和赋予女性权力的关键。 没有法律的保障,这个世界将不可能实现千年发展目标。”

今天是《儿童权利公约》签订19周年的纪念日, 同时2008年12月10日是《世界人权宣言》的60周年纪念日,这使得本次大会的召开显得尤其及时。

联合国儿童基金会的长期承诺

本次纽约会议是联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴长期倡议的一部分,旨在帮助各国政府建立符合国际条约所承诺的法律和政策框架。

与会者通过小组讨论和专家介绍,分享他们为促进儿童权利所做的努力。 另外,参加本次活动的专家们还对儿童性剥削,以及对妇女切割生殖器的习俗进行了立法改革的探讨。

在过去的十多年中,联合国儿童基金会在许多国家对该国的立法及法律制度与《儿童权利公约》的规定进行了协调工作。 《儿童权利公约》要求各国采取一切必要的措施,以实现公约所赋予的社会、公民、文化、经济和政治的权利。


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年11月18日:联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼探讨联合国在保护妇女、儿童的人权,特别是在保护残障儿童的权利中的作用。

 视频  高速 | 低速

毛里求斯儿童人权监察员希林.奥米如迪-奇弗拉女士讲述她对其他非洲国家建立国家人权制度的看法。
 视频  高速 | 低速

巴西国会议员保罗.亨利克-鲁斯都萨讲述巴西和联合国儿童基金会正在如何致力于为实现儿童人权而进行立法改革。
 视频  高速 | 低速

布基纳法索前国会发言人麦拉格.巢拉先生讲述他的国家如何处理在女性割礼习俗中涉及的人权问题。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

UNICEF backs legislative reform to achieve human rights for children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Markisz
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman addresses the Conference on Legislative Reform to Achieve Human Rights at the Millennium United Nations Plaza Hotel in New York City.

By Roshni Karwal

NEW YORK, USA, 19 November 2008 – UNICEF is hosting a two-day conference on making legal systems work to achieve children's and women's rights. The event brings together representatives of governments, non-governmental organizations and UN agencies, as well as academics, parliamentarians and experts on human rights legislation.

UNICEF has played a leading role in encouraging legal reform to realize children's rights, Executive Director Ann M. Veneman noted in her opening remarks at the conference, which wraps up today in New York City. She added that the meeting represented a step toward bringing together key actors engaged in legislative reform initiatives – and launching discussions on how to formalize these initiatives into a coordinated effort to advance human rights.

In conjunction with the conference, UNICEF released a new publication, 'Handbook on Legislative Reform: Realizing Children's Rights'. The handbook is designed to provide guidance for legislators, parliamentarians, jurists, lawyers, judges and others who are working to harmonize national legislation with international human rights treaties and instruments.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Markisz
A copy of the 'Handbook on Legislative Reform to Achieve Children's Rights', released by UNICEF in conjunction with the conference on human rights legislation.

Bolstering children's rights
"The right laws and policies – properly resourced, implemented and enforced – are an essential foundation for protecting children from violence and promoting their survival, education and development," said UNICEF Associate Director for Gender, Rights and Civic Engagement, Liz Gibbons.

"Enacting legislation to eliminate inequalities is at the heart of gender equality and the empowerment of women, without which the world cannot meet the promises it made in the Millennium Development Goals," she added.

Today is the 19th anniversary of the Convention of the Rights of the Child (CRC), and 10 December 2008 marks the 60th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights – making the conference especially timely.

UNICEF's long-term commitment
The meeting in New York is part of a long-term initiative by UNICEF and its partners to help governments adopt legislative and policy frameworks that meet their international treaty commitments.

Through panel discussions and expert presentations, conference participants are sharing their efforts to promote children's rights. Among other areas, experts at the event are exploring legal reforms to address the sexual exploitation of children and genital mutilation of women.

Over the last decade, UNICEF has worked in numerous countries to help harmonize national legislation and legal systems with the provisions of the CRC. The Convention requires that ratifying states take all necessary measures to implement the social, civil, cultural, economic and political rights it recognizes.


 

 

Video

18 November 2008:
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman discusses the role of the UN in protecting the human rights of women and children, especially disabled children.
 VIDEO  high | low

Ombudsperson for Children in Mauritius Shirin Aumeeruddy-Cziffra describes how she sees other African countries establishing national human rights institutions.
 VIDEO  high | low

Congressman Paulo Henrique Lustosa from Brazil illustrates what his country and UNICEF are doing about legislative reform to achieve human rights for children.
 VIDEO  high | low

Former Speaker of Parliament in Burkina Faso Mélégué Traoré talks about how his country addressed the human rights issue of female genital mutilation.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search