保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

联合国儿童基金会加入呼吁结束对在武装冲突中的针对儿童犯罪的人的免罪

UNICEF Photo: NYC, Executive Director Ann M. Veneman
© UNICEF/HQ08-0680/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼在安理会儿童与武装冲突的会议上发表讲话。联合国儿童基金会正与秘书长特别代表一道编辑一本关于如何帮助童军重返社会的最佳做法的手册。

伊丽莎白.吉姆报道

纽约,2008年7月17日 — 把招募童军定为战争罪的法规颁布十周年之际,联合国安理会今日敦促其成员为战争冲突地区的儿童更好地提供保护,结束对侵犯儿童权利的人免罪的做法。

在儿童与武装冲突问题的公开会议上,包括联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼在内的发言者提醒安理会成员,儿童继续受到侵犯、性虐待、征兵和成为冲突地区的目标,而成年人对这些应当承担责任的罪行却袖手旁观。

“安理会是联合国在和平与安全问题上的行动机构,”负责儿童与武装冲突问题的秘书长特别代表,拉迪卡.库马拉斯瓦米说。由武装冲突中的儿童问题工作组编纂的一份最新报道中列出了一个‘耻辱名单’,库马拉斯瓦米督促安理会考虑“采取有针对性的措施” 惩罚这份名单上的惯犯。

冲突和儿童死亡率

支持库马拉斯瓦米女士对问责制的呼吁,维尼曼女士补充说,“对儿童最好的保护是要把预防冲突的爆发摆在首位。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ08-0678/Markisz
联合国特别代表拉迪卡.库马拉斯瓦米在安理会儿童与武装冲突问题的会议上发表讲话。她说最近对伊拉克,阿富汗,乍得和中非共和国进行的访问,使她深信“战争的性质正在发生改变。”

维尼曼女士指出,除了因暴力和战争强加给儿童的身体犯罪和家庭失散外,武装冲突使儿童的健康也付出了沉重的代价。在冲突中和冲突后的地区,疟疾、麻疹和腹泻等可预防的疾病往往又死灰复燃。

据维尼曼女士说,从2002年至2006年,在33个受武装冲突影响最严重的国家中,有20个国家在减少5岁以下的儿童死亡率方面很少或根本没取得进展。

性暴力成为‘触发器’

发言者还呼吁安全理事会着手解决冲突情况下日益猖獗的性暴力问题,重新将把强奸定为战争罪行的1820号决议提上了日程。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ08-0675/Markisz
联合国安理会在纽约联合国总部就儿童与武装冲突问题召开会议。

在会上,来自非政府组织联盟Watchlist的代表凯瑟琳.亨特呼吁联合国把性暴力当作‘触发器’,纳入监测和报告的范围。

这也得到了比利时、法国、美国和意大利等国代表的支持。现行框架所覆盖的仅包括征募和使用童军。

推进1612号决议

今天的特别辩论由越南政府主持,越南外交部长是本月安全理事会轮值主席。在以往关于武装冲突中的儿童的辩论中,最后都通过了声明文件。但自对招募童军进行监测和报告的决议实施以来,就再也没有制定新的决议。

此次会议最后通过主席声明,重申监测和报告机制在保护儿童权利方面的作用,以及进一步完善工作组工作的重要性。


 

 

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

UNICEF joins call to end impunity for violators against children in armed conflict

UNICEF Image: NYC, Executive Director Ann M. Veneman
© UNICEF/HQ08-0680/Markisz
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman addresses the Security Council meeting on children and armed conflict. UNICEF is working with the Special Representative of the Secretary-General to compile a manual of best practices on the reintegration of child soldiers.

By Elizabeth Kiem

NEW YORK, 17 July 2008 – On the tenth anniversary  of the statute classifying child recruitment as a war crime, members of the United Nations Security Council were urged today to take measures offering greater protection for children in conflict zones and ending impunity for violators of children’s rights.

During the open meeting on children and armed conflict, speakers including UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman reminded Council members that children continue to be violated, sexually abused, conscripted and targeted in areas of conflict, while the adults responsible for these crimes are not held accountable.

“The Security Council is the UN body of action on issues of peace and security,” said the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict, Radhika Coomaraswamy. She urged that the Security Council consider “imposing targeted measures” against persistent violators on the so-called ‘shame list’, an annex compiled by the Working Group on Children in Armed Conflict in the latest Secretary-General’s reports.

Conflict and child mortality

Supporting Ms. Coomaraswamy’s call for accountability, Ms. Veneman added that “the best protection for children is to prevent the outbreak of conflict in the first place.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ08-0678/Markisz
UN Special Representative Radhika Coomaraswamy addresses the Security Council meeting on children and armed conflict. She said recent trips to Iraq, Afghanistan, Chad and CAR have convinced her "that the nature of warfare is changing."

Ms. Veneman noted that in addition to the physical crimes and family losses imposed upon children by violence and warfare, armed conflict takes a grave toll on children’s health. In conflict and post-conflict areas, there is often a resurgence of preventable diseases such as malaria, measles and diarrhoea.

In the 33 countries most affected by armed conflict from 2002 to 2006, 20 have made little or no progress in reducing mortality among children under the age of five, according to Ms. Veneman.

Sexual violence as ‘trigger for action’

Speakers also urged that the rampant use of sexual violence in conflict situations be addressed by the Security Council, recalling the recent adoption of Resolution 1820, which classifies rape as a war crime.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ08-0675/Markisz
The UN Security Council meeting on children and armed conflict convenes at United Nations headquarters in New York.

During the meeting, Kathleen Hunt of Watchlist, a coalition of non-governmental organizations, called for expanding the scope of the UN monitoring and reporting arm to include sexual violence as a “trigger for action” by the Special Representative.

Such an expansion of the current annex, which is limited only to parties who use and recruit child soldiers, was supported by representatives of member states Belgium, France, the United States and Italy.

Furthering Resolution 1612

Today’s extraordinary debate was called by the Government of Viet Nam, whose Minister of Foreign Affairs is the current President of the Security Council. Past debates on the topic of children in armed conflict have resulted in statements, but no new Security Council resolution since the 2005 resolution enabling the monitoring and reporting of child recruitment.

The meeting will conclude with a Presidential Statement reaffirming the role of monitoring and reporting mechanisms to protect child rights and the need to further improve the Working Group.


 

 

New enhanced search