保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

联合国儿童基金会为暴力侵害儿童问题指定了一位发言人,联合国的报告为人们带来了一线希望

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2007/Toutounji
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼(右)欢迎该组织最近刚刚指定的暴力侵害儿童问题的发言人,萨拉.琼斯。

克里斯.奈尔斯报道

美国纽约,2007年10月19日。今天提交给联合国大会的最新报告指出在彻底根除最恶劣形式的对儿童的暴力方面正在取得进展。该报告的递交恰逢联合国儿童基金会指定托尼奖获奖女演员萨拉.琼斯作为暴力侵害儿童问题的第一位发言人。

根据今天向联合国大会提交的报告,贩卖儿童、对儿童的商业性剥削、学校内的暴力以及童工问题都显示出了一定程度的进展。该报告进一步更新了一年前发布的 秘书长对暴力的研究。

这份最新的报告显示2006年提出的的12项核心建议均取得了进展,包括立法改革;培训帮助受暴利影响的儿童的专业人员;公共意识宣传以及可靠性。

报告建议政府各层面支持社区一起动员来创造一个社会变革的氛围。报告还强调在这个过程中,儿童与青少年的合作是非常重要的。

“结束对儿童施加的暴力”

“无论在什么样的社会、经济或文化背景之下,我们必须团结一致结束对儿童施加的暴力,”琼斯女士说。

为了纪念这份暴力研究报告的发布,来自134个国家的1000个非政府组织在联合国发起了有关该问题的行动呼吁。琼斯女士,这位托尼奖获奖女演员,表演了一个她自己创作的节目,旨在让大家关注对儿童的暴力。

如她在百老汇演出的单人秀《桥梁与隧道》一样,在这次的表演中,琼斯女士扮演了几个不同的角色,而每一个角色都表达了他/她对暴力侵害儿童问题的看法。

期待进步

“它给我们带来了另外一种视角-不仅仅是看新闻故事或数据,而是真正看到并听到声音和脸庞”琼斯女士谈到她通过表演提高公众意识的工作时说,“这样更具影响力。”

“我充满希望,在暴力侵害儿童问题方面我们将取得更大的进步,”琼斯女士继续说。“讽刺的是,让我充满希望的原因之一是这是一件影响全世界所有人的事情。不论你在哪里,对儿童施加的暴力是真实存在于生活中的。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年10月19日:
联合国儿童基金会新指定的暴力侵害儿童问题的发言人萨拉.琼斯谈论她的新角色。
 视频  高速 | 低速

____________________

剧作家兼演员萨拉.琼斯是在联合国呈现一场特殊的表演,旨在帮助提高公众对暴力侵害儿童问题的意识。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

As UNICEF names spokesperson on child violence, UN report offers signs of hope

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2007/Toutounji
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman (right) welcomes the organization’s newly appointed Spokesperson on Violence Against Children, Sarah Jones.

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, USA, 19 October 2007 – An update presented to the UN General Assembly today shows that progress is being made towards eradicating some of the worst forms of violence against children. The report comes just as UNICEF has appointed Tony Award-winning actress Sarah Jones as its first Spokesperson on Violence against Children.

The rates of child trafficking, commercial sexual exploitation, violence in educational settings and some forms of child labour are showing signs of improvement, according to the report – presented today to the United Nations General Assembly to update the groundbreaking Secretary General’s child violence study released one year ago.

According to the new report, progress is also being made on the 2006 study’s 12 overarching recommendations, including legislative reforms; training for professionals who deal with children affected by violence; public awareness campaigns; and accountability.

The report recommends that communities mobilize to create a climate of social change, backed by political support at all levels. The collaboration of children and young people in this process is crucial, it stresses.

‘End violence against children’

“We must all unite, no matter what social, economic or cultural background, to end violence against children,” said Ms Jones.

To mark the release of the violence study update, 1,000 non-governmental organizations from 134 countries staged a call to action on the issue at the UN. Ms Jones, a Tony Award winning actress, performed a show she has written to draw attention to the issue.

In the show – as in her hit one-woman production on Broadway, ‘Bridge and Tunnel’ – Ms. Jones plays several different characters. In this case, each gives his or her views on violence against children.

Hoping for progress

“It offers an alternative perspective – not just seeing stories on the news or reading statistics but actually seeing and hearing the voices and faces,” Ms. Jones said, referring to her effort to raise awareness through the performance. “It has more of an impact,” she added.

“I am really hopeful that progress can be made on the issue of violence against children in general,” Ms. Jones continued. “One of the things that makes me hopeful, ironically, is that this is something that affects all of us in every nation. It doesn’t matter where you are, violence against children is a fact of life.”

 


 

 

Video

19 October 2007:
UNICEF’s newly appointed Spokesperson on Violence Against Children, Sarah Jones, talks about her latest role.
 VIDEO  high | low

_______________________

Playwright and actress Sarah Jones in a specially commissioned performance at the United Nations to help raise awareness on violence against children.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search