Progress for Children Homepage
UN BILAN DE LA NUTRITION NUMÉRO 4, MAI 2006 Voir les numéros précédents >

Video

Vitamine A pour le Myanmarbas | haut débit
(Real player)


La vitamine A est indispensable au bon fonctionnement du système immunitaire et à la survie, à la croissance et au développement des enfants. La prise de suppléments fortement dosés tous les quatre à six mois a un impact spectaculaire sur la santé des enfants âgés de six à 59 mois, la diminution du risque de décès pouvant aller jusqu’à 23 %16.

Supplémentation en vitamine A

Supplémentation en vitamine A

Dans le monde en développement, le taux global de supplémentation en vitamine A administrée à des enfants âgés de six à 59 mois était de 61 % en 2003. Globalement parlant, le taux est supérieur à la moyenne (76 %) dans les pays les moins avancés, où le besoin est inévitablement le plus grand. L’Asie du Sud a le taux de supplémentation le plus faible (58 %) et la région de l’Asie de l’Est et du Pacifique (à l’exclusion de la Chine) le taux le plus élevé (73 %). L’Afrique de l’Ouest et centrale a un taux de 60 % et l’Afrique de l’Est et australe atteint 68 % des enfants ciblés. Les données disponibles ne permettent pas de présenter un taux global pour la région d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes, celle de l’ECO/CEI et celle du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord.17

Des difficultés techniques et financières ont empêché un grand nombre de pays d’évaluer le véritable niveau de l’avitaminose A, mais on estime qu’entre 100 et 140 millions d’enfants sont touchés par cette « faim cachée ». La plupart de ces enfants vivent dans les régions les moins avancées de l’Asie du Sud et de l’Afrique subsaharienne.18 Selon des estimations récentes, plus de 43 millions d’enfants vivant en Afrique subsaharienne risquent une avitaminose A.19

 

16  Beaton, et al., Effectiveness of Vitamin A Supplementation in the Control of Young Child Morbidity and Mortality in Developing Countries, ACC/SCN State of the Art Series, Nutrition PolicyPaper No. 13, 1993.
17  Les taux de supplémentation en vitamine A sont basés sur les estimations les plus récentes dont on dispose pour la période 1998–2004..
18  Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance, ‘Vitamin A Supplementation: Progress for child survival’, Document de travail établi par la Section nutrition, UNICEF, New York, 2005.
19  Aguayo, Victor M. et Shawn K. Baker, ‘Vitamin A Deficiency and Child Survival in sub-Saharan Africa: A reappraisal of challenges and opportunities’, Food and Nutrition Bulletin, vol. 26, n° 4, 2005, pp. 348 à 355.

Progress for Children Homepage
A REPORT CARD ON NUTRITION: NUMBER 4, MAY 2006 View Previous Editions>

Video

Vitamin A for Myanmar
Low | High bandwidth
(Real player)


Vitamin A is essential for immune system functions and the survival, growth and development of children. The provision of high-dose supplements every four to six months has a dramatic impact on the health of children aged 6–59 months, reducing the risk of mortality by up to 23 per cent.16

Vitamin A supplementation

Vitamin A supplementation

The overall coverage rate for vitamin A supplementation to children 6–59 months old in the developing world stood at 61 per cent in 2003. Coverage is higher than average (76 per cent) in the least-developed countries, where the need is inevitably greatest. South Asia has the lowest rate of supplementation, at 58 per cent, and East Asia/Pacific (excluding China) the highest, at 73 per cent. West/Central Africa has a coverage rate of 60 per cent, and Eastern/Southern Africa reaches 68 per cent of the children targeted. Data are insufficient to provide an overall coverage rate in CEE/CIS, Latin America/Caribbean and the Middle East/North Africa.17

Although many countries have not been able to assess the true level of vitamin A deficiency due to technical and financial constraints, an estimated 100 million to 140 million children are afflicted by this hidden hunger. Most of these children live in the least-developed areas of South Asia and sub-Saharan Africa.18 Recent estimates show that more than 43 million children in sub-Saharan Africa are at risk of vitamin A deficiency.19

 

16  Beaton, et al., Effectiveness of Vitamin A Supplementation in the Control of Young Child Morbidity and Mortality in Developing Countries, ACC/SCN State of the Art Series, Nutrition Policy Paper No. 13, 1993.
17  Coverage rates of vitamin A supplementation are based on latest available estimates during 1998–2004.
18  United Nations Children’s Fund, ‘Vitamin A Supplementation: Progress for child survival’, Working Paper prepared by the Nutrition Section, UNICEF, New York, 2005.
19  Aguayo, Victor M., and Shawn K. Baker, ‘Vitamin A Deficiency and Child Survival in sub-Saharan Africa: A reappraisal of challenges and opportunities’, Food and Nutrition Bulletin, vol. 26, no. 4, 2005, pp. 348–355.