Progress for Children Homepage
UN BILAN DE LA NUTRITION NUMÉRO 4, MAI 2006 Voir les numéros précédents >

Quelque deux milliards de personnes à travers le monde souffrent d’anémie20; il s’agit le plus souvent d’une anémie ferriprive, qui est une cause importante de décès maternels et de déficit intellectuel chez le jeune enfant, qui peut ultérieurement affecter de façon permanente le développement moteur et les résultats scolaires. De plus, l’anémie a des effets négatifs sur le bien-être économique des individus et des familles et sur l’économie nationale elle-même. Le Comité permanent de la nutrition (CPN) du système des Nations Unies a calculé que les coûts économiques liés à l’anémie au Bangladesh, par exemple, s’élèvent à 7,9 % du produit intérieur brut du pays.21

Carence en fer et anémie ferriprive

Carence en fer et anémie ferriprive

La supplémentation en fer réduit l’anémie ferriprive chez la femme enceinte ou allaitante, mais les programmes qui lui ont été consacrés n’ont pour l’essentiel pas donné de résultats satisfaisants, surtout parce qu’ils s’adressaient en général aux femmes à un moment trop avancé de leur grossesse. L’anémie et la carence en fer sont également très répandus parmi les jeunes enfants; pourtant, peu de pays se sont dotés de programmes visant à faire reculer ces troubles. On n’a donc enregistré aucune baisse notable de l’incidence mondiale de l’anémie au cours des 15 dernières années.22 On renforce en ce moment les programmes d’enrichissement de la farine et de supplémentation en fer avec divers partenaires.

 

20  Organisation mondiale de la Santé et Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance, ‘Focusing on Anaemia: Towards a joint approach for effective anaemia control’, OMS, Genève, 2004.
21  Comité permanent de la nutrition du système des Nations Unies (CPN), 5th Report on the World Nutrition Situation: Nutrition for improved development outcomes, CPN, mars 2004, p. 14.
22  Mason, J., J. Rivers et C. Helwig, ‘Recent Trends in Malnutrition in Developing Regions: Vitamin A deficiency, anemia, iodine deficiency, and child underweight’, Food and Nutrition Bulletin, vol. 26, 2005, pp. 28 à 34.

Progress for Children Homepage
A REPORT CARD ON NUTRITION: NUMBER 4, MAY 2006 View Previous Editions>

Around two billion people worldwide suffer from anaemia20, most commonly iron-deficiency anaemia, a major cause of maternal deaths and of cognitive deficits in young children; it can permanently affect later motor development and school performance. Anaemia also has a negative impact on the economic well-being of individuals, families and national economies. The UN Standing Committee on Nutrition (SCN) has estimated that the economic costs of anaemia in Bangladesh, for example, amount to 7.9 per cent of the country’s gross domestic product.21

Iron deficiency and anaemia

Iron deficiency and anaemia

Iron supplementation reduces iron-deficiency anaemia in pregnant and lactating women, but programmes have been largely unsuccessful so far, not least because they have tended to reach women too late in their pregnancy. Anaemia and iron deficiency are also very prevalent in young children, yet few countries have significant, large-scale programmes to address these conditions. As a result there has been no evidence of significant improvement in the global incidence of anaemia during the past 15 years.22 Flour fortification and iron supplementation programmes are being stepped up with partner support.

 

20  World Health Organization and United Nations Children’s Fund, ‘Focusing on Anaemia: Towards an integrated approach for effective anaemia control’ (joint statement), WHO, Geneva, 2004.
21  United Nations System Standing Committee on Nutrition (SCN), 5th Report on the World Nutrition Situation: Nutrition for improved development outcomes, SCN, March 2004, p. 14.
22  Mason, J., J. Rivers and C. Helwig, ‘Recent Trends in Malnutrition in Developing Regions: Vitamin A deficiency, anemia, iodine deficiency, and child underweight’, Food and Nutrition Bulletin, vol. 26, 2005, pp. 28–34.