Le progrès des nations: Nutrition


Kenya et Nigéria: bientôt tout le sel iodé

En 1993 et 1994, Le progrès des nations signalait que la carence en iode affectait le développement physique et mental de quelque 50 millions d'enfants, en condamnait des dizaines de millions à l'arriération mentale et entraînait le crétinisme de 100 000 nouveau-nés par an. La solution -- ioder tout le sel -- existait depuis des décennies.

Ces deux dernières années, la situation a évolué très vite. On ne connaît pas encore les statistiques pour 1996, mais il est probable que les programmes d'iodation du sel ont réduit de moitié le nombre des enfants au risque.

Dix-neuf pays ont atteint l'objectif d'assurer en 1995 l'iodation de 90 % du sel, et 11 autres ont réussi à en ioder 70 %, en bonne situation pour réaliser l'objectif de l'an 2000. Au Kenya, la quasi-totalité du sel est iodée, et au Nigéria 97 %.

Il ne suffit pas d'ioder une forte proportion du sel. Pour être sûr que le problème ne resurgira pas par la petite porte, il faut organiser une surveillance constante, et faire comprendre au public combien il est important de n'utiliser que du sel iodé.

Certains pays enregistrent aujourd'hui le nombre de foyers qui consomment du sel iodé. D'autres contrôlent le pourcentage du sel iodé au point de production.


Photo: Bangladesh -- la moitié des enfants étaient exposés, mais aujourd'hui 62 % du sel est iodé. ©

Le dossier du sel

Pays en développement les plus exposés au risque de carence en iode en 1990, et niveau actuel d'iodation du sel

Population au risque
1990 (millions)
% actuel
de sel iodé
Kenya 10100
Nigéria 2597
Cameroun 1095
Argentine 1090
Pérou 1490
Mexique 2587
Brésil 8084
Iran, R. islamique d' 5082
Ethiopie 2575
Inde 27070
Népal 1668
R.-Unie de Tanzanie 1065
Bangladesh 6062
Chine 38051
Indonésie 9550
Thaïlande 2050
Pakistan 5045
Viet Nam 1742
Philippines 1540
Turquie 2531
R. arabe syrienne 1217
Zaïre 198
Myanmar 157
Soudan 240*


* Equipement et fournitures en place. L'iodation devrait commencer début 1996.

NOTE: On parle de population au risque quand 5 % ou plus des enfants d'âge scolaire présentent un goitre (cette enflure de la thyroïde qui est le symptôme le plus apparent d'une carence en iode). On a constaté récemment que la carence en iode constitue un problème grave même avant l'apparition d'un goitre.

SOURCES: pour les populations au risque vers 1990, Global Prevalence of Iodine Deficiency Disorders, WHO, UNICEF, and International Council for the Control of Iodine Deficiency Disorders (ICCIDD), 1993; pour l'iodation du sel, données (principalement pour 1995) fournies par les bureaux extérieurs de l'UNICEF et la Section de la nutrition de l'UNICEF, février 1996.



[Table des matières] - [Haut de la page] - [Page suivante]

The Progress of Nations: Nutrition

Kenya and Nigeria iodize most salt

In 1993 and 1994, The Progress of Nations reported that lack of iodine was affecting the mental and physical development of approximately 50 million children, condemning tens of millions to mental retardation and causing an estimated 100,000 children a year to be born as cretins. The solution - iodizing all salt supplies - had been available for decades.

Over the last two years the picture has been changing rapidly. Statistics for 1996 are not yet available, but it is likely that salt iodization programmes have halved the number of children at risk.

The goal of 90% salt iodization in all affected countries by 1995 has been achieved by 19 nations, with 11 more passing the 70% mark - and in a strong position to achieve the year 2000 goal of all but eradicating iodine deficiency disorders. Kenya now iodizes virtually all salt supplies and Nigeria has reached 97%.

High figures for salt iodization are not the end of the story. Efficient monitoring, and public education about the importance of using only iodized salt, are also needed to ensure that the problem does not return by the back door.

Some countries are now keeping track of the number of households using iodized salt. Others monitor the percentage of salt being iodized at the point of production.


Photo: Bangladesh - half of children once at risk, but 62% of salt now iodized. ©


The salt record

Developing countries with the largest numbers at risk of iodine deficiency in 1990, and their current levels of salt iodization

Population at risk
1990 (millions)
% salt currently
iodized
Kenya 10100
Nigeria 2597
Cameroon 1095
Argentina 1090
Peru 1490
Mexico 2587
Brazil 8084
Iran 5082
Ethiopia 2575
India 27070
Nepal 1668
Tanzania 1065
Bangladesh 6062
China 38051
Indonesia 9550
Thailand 2050
Pakistan 5045
Viet Nam 1742
Philippines 1540
Turkey 2531
Syria 1217
Zaire 198
Myanmar 157
Sudan 240*

* All necessary equipment installed and supplies available. Iodization expected to begin early 1996.

NOTE Populations at risk are those living in areas where 5% or more of school-age children have goitre (the swelling of the thyroid gland which is often the most visible symptom of iodine deficiency). In recent years, it has become clear that iodine deficiency constitutes a serious problem before reaching the stage of this clinical manifestation.

SOURCES Populations at risk around 1990: Global Prevalence of Iodine Deficiency Disorders, WHO, UNICEF, and International Council for the Control of Iodine Deficiency Disorders, 1993. Salt iodization: data (mostly for 1995) supplied by UNICEF field offices and UNICEF Nutrition Section, February 1996.


[Contents] - [Top of Page] - [Next Page]