津巴布韦

津巴布韦的少年议会敦促政府确保儿童和青少年权利

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Zimbabwe/2009/Munongerwa
古古雷特.恩科莫主持第17届少年议会的开幕式。

《儿童权利公约》是一项具有里程碑意义的有关儿童基本权利的国际公约。在联合国儿童基金会即将庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年之际,联合国儿童基金会推出一系列文章,反映已经取得的成绩和仍然存在的问题。以下是其中的一篇报道。

津巴布韦哈拉雷,2009年11月6日 – 第17届津巴布韦少年议会周六在这里拉开帷幕,其目的是推动政府采取行动确保儿童的生存和权力。

 点击此处观看视频

去年,津巴布韦基本的社会服务全面崩溃,导致学校停课、卫生系统瘫痪。自那以来,津巴布韦的儿童就失去了获得教育和保健的基本权利。由于这一问题没有发生任何的改变,少年议会的成员们向政府提出了强烈的要求。

对教育和就业的担忧

儿童议员们就像议会里的成年成员们一样主持本届议会,允许成员们向成年议员及普通大众表达他们的担忧。

少年议员主席古古雷特.恩科莫(Gugulethu Nkomo)说:“当前影响年轻人的主要问题都出现在教育系统里。很多儿童都因为交不起学费而辍学了 ,还有很多人因为费用太高而无法报名参加期末考试。”

除了在教育部门出现的问题,儿童们还谈到了他们对不断升高的失业率的担忧及让年轻人参与法律制定过程的需要。

与年长的议员们的对话

联合国儿童基金会驻津巴布韦代表彼德.萨拉马(Peter Salama)博士说:“儿童们提出的问题是真实存在的。少年议会为儿童们提供一个机会来表达他们的担忧并让年长的议员们回答他们的问题。联合国儿童基金会希望他们能够就出现的问题采取行动。”

年长的议员们承诺要改善儿童们的生活状况。津巴布韦的代总统和副总统乔伊斯.穆菊茹(Joice Mujuru)共同阐述了政府承诺促进青少年发展并重振津巴布韦的卫生和教育部门。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Zimbabwe/2009/Munongerwa
津巴布韦年长的议员们和贵宾们听取儿童们的讨论。

穆菊茹女士说:“政府坚定不移地确保我们的年轻人能够获得支付得起的优质教育。政府将继续支持并扩大‘综合技能外展项目’的范围,从而制定出阐述明确、充分协调的以社区为基础的职业学徒计划。”

表达心声的权利

少年议会一直是确保儿童在影响他们的决定中表态的主要方法之一,这也是《儿童权利公约》中向儿童们保证的基本权利之一。这种参与的权利与获得教育及保健的权利同等重要。

一年一度的少年议会已经成为一个重要论坛,用来回顾津巴布韦是否履行了公约、非洲青年宪章以及有关儿童权利和福祉的非洲宪章规定的义务。

全球正为纪念11月20日《儿童权利公约》发表20周年做准备。津巴布韦的儿童们都知道距离为他们的发展设立的里程碑还有很长的路要走,但是少年议会能够帮助他们的权利进一步受到尊重,促进和保护。


 

 

视频(英文)

津巴布韦的少年议会敦促政府采取行动确保儿童和青少年权利。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe children’s parliament speaks out on rights issues

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zimbabwe/2009/Munongerwa
Gugulethu Nkomo officiated at the opening of the 17th session of the the Children's Parliament, a programme of the Zimbabwe Youth Council.

By Tapuwa Mutseyekwa

In the run-up to 20 November 2009, the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, UNICEF is featuring a series of stories about this landmark international agreement on the basic human rights of all children – including progress made and challenges that remain. Here is one of those stories.

HARARE, Zimbabwe, 6 November 2009 – The 17th session of the Children’s Parliament, a programme of the Zimbabwe Youth Council, opened recently with the aim of spurring the government into action to ensure child survival and empowerment.

VIDEO: Watch now

Since basic social services in Zimbabwe collapsed last year, leaving schools closed and the health system crippled, the country’s children have been denied their fundamental rights to both education and health. With little change on the horizon, the members of the Children’s Parliament have made a passionate plea to the government.

Concerns about education and employment
Conducting their session just as the grown-up Members of Parliament do, the child parliamentarians allowed members to present their concerns to their adult counterparts and the general public.

“The main problems affecting us as young people today are within the education system. Many children have dropped out of school for failure to pay fees, while many have failed to register for the final examinations because of the high fees being charged,” said Children’s Parliament President Gugulethu Nkomo.

Apart from the concerns raised within the education sector, the children also spoke about their concerns over growing unemployment levels and the need to involve young people in the law-making process. 

Dialogue with senior parliamentarians
“The issues that the children have raised are real,” said UNICEF Representative in Zimbabwe Dr. Peter Salama. “The Children’s Parliament has opened an opportunity for children to air their concerns and for the senior parliamentarians to respond to these queries. It is our hope, as UNICEF, that action will be taken to deliberate on all the issues raised.”

The senior parliamentarians responded with a commitment to improving the situation of children. Zimbabwe’s Acting President, along with Vice-President Joice Mujuru, spelled out the government’s commitment to youth development and the restoration of the health and education sectors in Zimbabwe.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zimbabwe/2009/Munongerwa
Senior parliamentarians and dignitaries in Zimbabwe listen to the children’s deliberations.

“Government remains resolute in ensuring that our young people get access to affordable quality education,” said Ms. Mujuru, “Government will continue to support and enhance the scope of the Integrated Skills Outreach Programme in order to come up with well articulated, well coordinated, community-based vocational apprenticeship schemes.”

The right to have a voice
The Junior Parliament has been a key method for ensuring that children have a voice in the decisions that affect them, one of the basic rights guaranteed children in the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC). This right to participation is as important as the rights to education and to health.

The annual Junior Parliament has become a forum for taking stock of whether the country is living up its obligations under Convention, as well as the Africa Youth Charter and the Africa Charter on the rights and welfare of the child.

As the world prepares to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the CRC on 20 November, Zimbabwe’s children are aware that the milestones set for their development are still a long way off. But the Junior Parliament brings them one step closer to ensuring that their rights are respected, promoted and protected.


 

 

Video

31 October 2009: UNICEF correspondent Val Wang reports on the 17th session of the Zimbabwe Children’s Parliament.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search