乌干达

为前乌干达儿童兵们提供“赋予权力之手”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Uganda/2007/Hyun
曾遭绑架的萨拉在乌干达北部的阿姆鲁难民营与她年幼的儿子玩耍。

楚侯.允报道

2007年7月16日,乌干达阿姆炉。萨拉(化名)曾在她七岁的时候被“神的抵抗军”绑架并成为儿童军 。直到去年她才在世界宣明会——联合国儿童基金会的执行伙伴的帮助下和家庭重聚,当时她已经17岁了。

因为萨拉已经怀孕,“神的抵抗军”才终于同意让她回家。释放儿童战俘据说很罕见,逃跑就更少见了。萨拉的兄弟也被绑架了,不幸的是,人们认为他在被关押期间已经丧生。

联合国儿童基金会为帮助像萨拉一样曾被绑架的儿童,建立了提供家庭追踪和心理辅导的中心。这方面努力的盟友主要有“赋予权力之手”这样的以社区为基础的组织。赋予权力之手是个提供同伴支持的团体,于2004年由曾被绑架的人们自行成立。

通过音乐和舞蹈来赋予力量

 “赋予权力之手”在村庄组织讨论,通过音乐和戏剧表演来提高对儿童绑架的认知。每次表演的收入作为循环基金用于该组织的成员进行可以创收的项目。萨拉是阿姆鲁难民营“赋予权力之手”音乐和舞蹈队的成员。现在她可以充满希望地说起她终有一天可以重新回到学校读书,即使她当裁缝的收入甚薄。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Uganda/2007/Hyun
“赋予权力之手”的音乐和舞蹈团在阿姆鲁难民营的一条主要的街道上表演“若亚舞”。

 “参与到‘赋予权力之手’让我的生活变得没那么难以能忍受了,”萨拉说。“我看到了希望。”

像“赋予权力之手”这样的基于社区的支援组织已经帮助了乌干达超过两千名曾被绑架的儿童。2006年8月,乌干达政府和“神的抵抗军”之间达成了停火协议,儿童绑架的数字在减少。可事实上,预计仍有1500名与“神的抵抗军”有关的儿童和妇女未被正式释放。

社区的支持

“让社区成员都成为支持的一份子,对于让曾被绑架的孩子们恢复原来的生活是至关重要的,”联合国儿童基金会乌干达负责人基斯麦肯锡说,“没有这种强烈的归属感,就丧失了儿童和年青人在和平宽容的环境成长的机会,而儿童和年青人正是我们最宝贵的资源。”

为回归者及其家人创建受保护的环境,社区成员的公开参与是不可或缺的。社区可以处理曾被绑架人士所面对的耻辱、有限的经济生存能力和其他一些普遍的困难,并可以共同寻求解决办法以减低他们的无助感。

在茅草屋顶干泥墙的家里,萨拉说她现在最担心的就是儿子的将来。她强调说要让儿子上学并得到适当的医疗。她所经历的战争噩梦不应该出现在孩子的生活中。

 “我对所发生的事情非常愤怒,因为那都是不应该发生的,”萨拉温柔地说。“我希望每一个能出一己之力的人都应该想办法让战争结束。”


 

 

搜索

Uganda

‘Empowering Hands’ for former child soldiers in Uganda

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Uganda/2007/Hyun
Sarah, a former abductee, plays with her young son in the Amuru camp for displaced persons in northern Uganda.

By Chulho Hyun

AMURU, Uganda, 16 July 2007 – Sarah (not her real name) is a former child soldier who was abducted by the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) when she was seven years old. She was not reuinited with her family until last year, at the age of 17, with the help of World Vision, a UNICEF implementing partner.

Sarah was able to return home when an LRA officer finally consented to her request because she was pregnant. The release of child prisoners is said to be rare, but escape is even rarer. Sarah’s brother was also abducted but unfortunately it is believed that he died while being held captive.

UNICEF helps formerly abducted children like Sarah by supporting centres that provide family tracing and psychosocial counselling. Key allies in this effort have been community-based organizations like Empowering Hands, a peer-support group established in 2004 by formerly abducted individuals themselves.

Empowerment through music and dance

Empowering Hands organizes village discussions and works to raise awareness about child abduction through musical and dramatic performances. Earnings from each performance go to a revolving fund that enables group members to start income-generating projects. Sarah belongs to the Empowering Hands music and dance troupe in the Amuru camp. She can now talk with hope about resuming her schooling one day, even as she earns a small living as a tailor to fend for herself and her son. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Uganda/2007/Hyun
The Empowering Hands music and dance troupe performs the 'Roya Dance' down a main thoroughfare of the Amuru displacement camp.

“My involvement in Empowering Hands has made life much more bearable,” says Sarah. “I see the possibilities.”

More than 2,000 formerly abducted children in Uganda have been reached this year through community-based support groups like Empowering Hands. The number of reported child abductions has been declining since August 2006, when the Government of Uganda and the LRA reached a landmark cessation of hostilities agreement. The fact remains, however, that there has yet to be an official release of the estimated 1,500 children and women associated with the LRA.

Support from the community

 “Placing the centre of support squarely on community members is essential to giving the formerly abducted their lives back,” says the head of UNICEF operations in Uganda, Keith McKenzie,  “Without this strong sense of ownership, one squanders the opportunity for children and young persons, our most precious resource, to grow up in a climate of peace and tolerance.”

The open participation of community members is an integral element in creating a protective environment for returnees and their families. Communities can address stigmatization, limited economic viability and other common challenges faced by formerly abducted persons, and look together for solutions to reduce their vulnerability.

Back in her home, made of hardened mud with a thatched grass roof, Sarah says her most immediate concern is for her son’s future. That future must include going to school and getting proper medical care, she insists. The nightmares of combat she experienced must have no place in the life of her child. 

“I am angry at what happened because it should never have happened,” Sarah says softly. “I would like everyone who can do something about this war to bring it to an end.”


 

 

New enhanced search