南非

联合国儿童基金会亲善大使奥兰多.布鲁姆探访南非儿童

南非西开普省(WESTERN CAPE),2012年12月5日 —— 联合国儿童基金会亲善大使奥兰多.布鲁姆与开普敦周边的儿童及青少年见面,以深入了解他们的生活现状,并帮助世界聆听他们的心声。

2012年12月3日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员伊娃.吉列姆(Eva Gilliam)报道联合国儿童基金会亲善大使奥兰多.布鲁姆对南非的访问。  在Realplayer中播放

 

援助弱势儿童

这位在南非拍摄电影《祖鲁》(Zulu)的英国演员要做的第一件事是根据联合国儿童基金会支持的“勇气”计划,与格拉鲍镇(Grabouw)的儿童及青少年保健工作者见面。“勇气”计划为处于受虐待、被歧视或失学危险之中的孤儿及儿童提供以社区为主导的援助。

“我们援助弱势儿童,其中许多儿童或多或少地遭受艾滋病的影响。”“勇气”计划的儿童保健工作者诺朱科.纳瓦拉斯(Nozuko Ngwalase)说。

纳瓦拉斯女士解释说,许多儿童必须照顾患病的父母,或已经失去双亲,他们必须自谋生路。

“如果没有母亲,如果母亲已经去世,这也就意味着儿童很难获得政府的援助,如:社会救助金。因此,我们也帮助他们获取这些救助金,从而,他们能够生存下去。”

纳瓦拉斯女士帮助16岁的普林斯(Prince)在其母亲去世后为普林斯及其三个兄弟姐妹获得社会救助金。普林斯父亲的工作地点离家很远,很少有时间照顾孩子,所以,纳瓦拉斯女士每天都会在孩子们上学前和放学后来到普林斯家,辅导孩子们的功课,或帮助解决孩子们遇到的其他任何问题。

据普林斯说,“她理解我们并照顾我们。她时刻帮助我们,如果我们需要食物或其他任何东西,我们都可以去找她。”

提供安全空间

在访问格拉鲍期间,布鲁姆先生与数名儿童交谈,询问孩子们的生活经历及他们正如何应对困境。随后,他探访了“安全公园”内的儿童。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1598/Miller
在距开普敦约80公里的格拉鲍“安全公园”(Safe Park),布鲁姆与儿童一起玩耍。“安全公园”是供儿童玩耍的、受监管的安全公共场所。

“在这个地区,我们没有真正的公园。”纳瓦拉斯女士解释说,“但我们有公共场所。因此,我们在草地上围成圈,这便是我们安全的玩耍空间 —— 孩子们受到监管,我们确保他们各方面的安全。”

“安全公园”每天都在放学后和周末特别娱乐时间开放。

联合国儿童基金会为运营全国各地“勇气”计划的国家儿童青少年保健工作者协会(National Association of Child and Youth Care Worker)提供援助。

电台广播

接下来,布鲁姆先生与亚特兰蒂斯(Atlantis)社区广播站的青年记者们见面,在亚特兰蒂斯(Atlantis)社区广播站,录制了他的演播室独家专访。

这些年轻人是青年记者网(Youth Reporters Network)的成员。青年记者网是联合国儿童基金会、儿童广播基金会(Children’s Radio Foundation)及基础教育部(Department of Basic Education)携手合作的一个项目,为年轻人提供一个就自身的重要问题发表看法的广播平台,如:学校的暴力现象与少女怀孕问题。

“我已经意识到,人们可以把微笑挂在脸上,装作若无其事,但是,当你与他们接触,与他们面对面地交谈时,才会了解事实真相,得知真实的故事。”青年记者网每周“青少年快讯”(Teen Express)节目的青年记者 —— 19岁的纳兹玛.萨澳尔(Nazeema Sauer)说。像所有青年记者网节目一样,“青少年快讯”的节目内容由青少年自己调查、编撰和制作。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1599/Miller
在距开普敦约40公里的亚特兰蒂斯地区,布鲁姆先生与参与社区广播电台培训计划的高中生见面。

“每个人都有真实的故事 —— 可能是很好的素材;它会让你伤心,或让你高兴。”纳兹玛继续说,“很多人给我讲述自己的故事,还有许多私人采访和录音资料,这些都激励着我。”

在南非人口中,儿童及青少年占半数,但他们的心声很少被倾听。亚特兰蒂斯社区广播电台是12个加入青年记者网的南非社区广播电台之一。

开阔眼界,敞开心扉

对于布鲁姆先生而言,拥护儿童权利是全人类的责任。

“距这里约60公里的一个小镇有年轻的残疾女孩正遭受性虐待或被利用 —— 或附近有年轻女孩子上下出租车,并认为通过性交易免费乘坐出租车是无可非议的 —— 这些事情、这些想法多么荒谬,我真的很难理解,我们所有人都需要开阔眼界,敞开心扉。”

布鲁姆先生因参演《指环王》和《加勒比海盗》声名鹊起,长期以来一直支持联合国儿童基金会的工作。2009年10月,他成为联合国儿童基金会亲善大使。此前,在2008和2007年,布鲁姆访问过多所由联合国儿童基金会支持的尼泊尔学校,主张儿童权利,其中包括获得优质教育和洁净水的权利。


 

 

搜索

South Africa

UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Orlando Bloom visits South African children

WESTERN CAPE, South Africa, 5 December 2012 - UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Orlando Bloom met up with children and young people near Cape Town to learn more about their lives and to help the world hear what they have to say.

3 December 2012: UNICEF correspondent Eva Gilliam reports on the visit of UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Orlando Bloom to South Africa.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Working with vulnerable children

The first stop for the British actor, who is in South Africa to film the movie Zulu, was to meet with child and young care workers in the town of Grabouw at a UNICEF-supported Isibindi programme, which provides community-led assistance for orphans and children at risk of abuse, neglect or dropping out of school. 

“We work with children who are vulnerable, many of whom are affected by HIV in some way,” said Isibindi child care worker Nozuko Ngwalase. 

Ms. Ngwalase explained that many children either must care for sick parents or have lost their parents and must fend for themselves.

“If there is no mother, if she has died, it also means it will be very difficult for the children to get government assistance, like the social grant. So we also help them to get those grants so that they can live day to day.”

Ms. Ngwalase helped 16-year-old Prince get social grants for himself and his three siblings after their mother died. Prince’s father works far away and has little time to look after the children, so Ms. Ngwalase comes by every day before and after school to help with homework or anything else that comes up.
 
According to Prince, “She’s the one who understands us and looks after us. She is with us, even if we need food or anything, we can go to her.”

Providing safe spaces

While in Grabouw, Mr. Bloom spoke with several children about their experiences, and how they are coping.  He then joined the children at the Safe Park.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1598/Miller
Mr. Bloom plays w/ children at a Safe Park in Grabouw, about 80 km from Cape Town. Safe Parks are safe, supervised places for children to play in public spaces.

“In this area, we don’t really have parks,” explained Ms. Ngwalase, “but we have public space. So we make a circle in the grass, and that is our safe place to play – the kids are supervised, and we make sure they are safe in every way.”

Safe Park happens every day after school, and on weekends for specific play hours.

UNICEF provides assistance to the National Association of Child and Youth Care Workers, which runs Isibindi programmes countrywide.

On the air

The actor later met with young reporters at an Atlantis community radio station, where he gave an exclusive in-studio interview.

The young people are part of the Youth Reporters Network, a partnership between UNICEF, the Children’s Radio Foundation and the Department of Basic Education that gives young people a platform through which they can broadcast their views on matters important to them, such as violence in school and teen pregnancy.

“I’ve realized that people can put a smile on their faces and just act like everything is okay, but when you go up to them and you speak to them face to face, you get the real facts and the real story,” said 19-year-old Nazeema Sauer, a youth reporter for the network’s weekly Teen Express show. Like all Youth Reporters Network shows, Teen Express is researched, written and produced by the youth themselves.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1599/Miller
Mr. Bloom visits with high school students who are part of a community radio training programme in Atlantis, a town about 40 km from Cape Town.

“Everyone has a real story – it can be a nice story; it can either make you sad or it can make you happy,” continued Nazeema. “And a lot of the stories that people have told me, the interviews, the audio profiles that I’ve done with them personally, it has inspired me.”

Children and youth account for half of South Africa’s population, yet their voices are seldom heard. Atlantis community radio is one of 12 community radio stations in South Africa participating in the Youth Reporters Network.

Opening hearts and minds

For Mr. Bloom, standing up for children’s rights is universal.

“The idea that there is a young girl in a town 60 miles from here with a disability who is being sexually abused, or taken advantage of – or that there are young kids just around the corner who are getting in and out of taxis and taking rides and thinking that sexual favors for a ride in a taxi is okay – is preposterous to me, and hard to fathom, and something that we all need to be aware of and open our eyes and our hearts and minds to.”

The actor, perhaps best known for his roles in Lord of the Rings and Pirates of the Caribbean, has long supported UNICEF’s work. He became a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador in October 2009. Before then, in 2008 and 2007, Bloom visited UNICEF-supported schools in Nepal to help advocate on behalf of the rights of children, including access to quality education and clean water.


 

 

New enhanced search