莱索托

儿童补助计划向莱索托贫困儿童发放补助金

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lesotho/2009/Barbadoro
18岁的女孩蒙珀洛康领取她的第一笔资助。在由莱索托政府、欧洲联盟和联合国儿童基金倡导的儿童资助计划的帮助下,每个季度她都可以领取到现金补助。

克莱利亚.巴尔巴多罗和伊娃.吉莲姆报道

《儿童权利公约》是一项具有里程碑意义的有关儿童基本权利的国际公约。在联合国儿童基金会即将庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年之际,联合国儿童基金会推出一系列文章,反映已经取得的成绩和仍然存在的问题。以下是其中的一篇报道。  

莱索托乐巴康,2009年11月18日 - 73岁的玛帕莱萨.瑟巴坦岩老人承担着抚养四个孙子的责任,但靠她在这个偏远小村子养鸡赚取的微薄收入很难养活他们。

 点击此处观看视频

最近,瑟巴坦岩奶奶得到了一项由莱索托政府、欧洲联盟和联合国儿童基金倡导的儿童资助计划的帮助。

现在,这个儿童资助计划已试行了几个月,其目标是改善弱势儿童的福祉状况,包括那些感染艾滋病毒和艾滋病的儿童,以及那些生活在贫困、缺粮、营养不足和难以获得基本服务的家庭的儿童。

广泛的贫穷

莱索托的半数人口生活在贫困线以下,艾滋病毒感染率高居世界第三。

儿童资助计划按季度发放小额补助金,目前已经为大约950户居民提供帮助,其中包括2370多名孤儿和弱势儿童。这种现金补助方式正逐步由其他形式的服务加以完善,如世界粮食计划署的援助和为受艾滋病影响的家庭和儿童提供的心理辅导服务。

像瑟巴坦岩奶奶家这样靠一个人的收入养家糊口的大家庭,和许多以儿童为户主的家庭都是补助金计划的受益者。

急需帮助

18岁的女孩蒙珀洛康和18岁的男孩塞罗虽然来自不同的地区,却有着许多共同之处。他们都失去了父母;两人都是各自家庭的户主,都为生存而挣扎,而且他们上个月还都曾在莱索托中部的瑟蒙空等待补助金的发放。

蒙珀洛康微笑着回忆道:“我父亲本来是个很强壮的人,但他后来开始生病,最后他彻底回家养病,直到去世。接着,我妈妈也病了,我需要照顾她和弟弟妹妹,就只好辍学了。”

塞罗的父亲也曾在矿山干活,也是一直工作到病倒,然后死去。塞罗说:“我很想念我爸爸,他去世以后,我妈也跟着去世了。我们为办葬礼卖掉了一些牛,我必须照顾剩下的牛和弟弟妹妹们。”

三重威胁

蒙珀洛康和塞罗只是数千名面临巨大困难的莱索托儿童中的两人。 贫困、艾滋病和粮食匮乏的三重威胁严重阻碍了莱索托儿童的生存、发展和受保护的权利。

尽管面临很多问题,蒙珀洛康和塞罗还是有着惊人的适应能力。他们两人都对未来抱有希望和梦想,并为补助金所带来的可能性而感到兴奋。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lesotho/2009/Barbadoro
玛帕莱萨领取补助金之后踏上了回家的路。

蒙珀洛康说:“我最大的愿望就是回学校上课,那样我就能成为一名教师,就可以帮助其他儿童的学习和成长了。我要用今天领到的这笔钱,为自己买一套校服,明年我就可以再回学校啦。”

成功的试点项目

补助金在瑟蒙空的发放,标志着补助金试点项目第一次在马特里勒(马费滕区)、乐巴康(加查斯内克区)和瑟蒙空(马塞卢区)这三个社区的现金发放工作全部结束。

这个试点项目将进一步得到完善,并在2011年之前,在莱索托的其他地区分阶段地推出。从长远来看,政府准备将这个儿童资助计划纳入国家的预算方案之中。


 

 

视频(英文)

由莱索托政府、欧洲联盟和联合国儿童基金倡导的儿童资助计划按季度发放小额补助金,目前已经为大约950户居民提供帮助。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Lesotho

Lesotho cash-grants pilot programme aims to ensure vulnerable children’s rights

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lesotho/2009/Barbadoro
Mpolokeng, 18, receives her first cash grant disbursement in Semonkong, Lesotho. As part of the programme, she will receive regular quarterly payments along with World Food Programme aid parcels.

By Clelia Barbadoro and Eva Gilliam

In the run-up to 20 November 2009, the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, UNICEF is featuring a series of stories about this landmark international agreement on the basic human rights of all children – including progress made and challenges that remain. Here is one of those stories.

LEBAKENG, Lesotho, 18 November 2009 – Mapalesa Sebatanyane, 73, is the primary caregiver for her four grandchildren, but she struggles to feed them with the small income she earns raising chickens in this remote village.

VIDEO: Watch now

Recently, help arrived for Ms. Sebatanyane in the form of cash grants delivered by helicopter from the Child Grants Programme, an initiative of the Government of Lesotho, the European Union (EU) and UNICEF.

The right to social protection
The programme is now several months into its initial pilot phase. It aims to improve the well-being of vulnerable children – including those who have been affected by HIV and AIDS, and those who live in families struggling with poverty, food insecurity, undernutrition and lack of access to essential services.

Besides ensuring every child’s right to have such basic needs met, the Convention on the Rights of the Child states, in Article 29, that all children – either through their guardians or directly – have the right to help from the government if they are poor or in need.

“The future of Lesotho depends on how you treat your children,” EU Ambassador to Lesotho Peter Christiansen said at an October ceremony to launch the Child Grants Programme.

Endemic poverty
Half of the population of Lesotho lives below the poverty line, and the country has the world’s third-highest rate of HIV prevalence.

“We’ve had a very high maternal and infant mortality rate in this area and others that we have chosen to receive the grant,” said Lesotho’s Minister of Health and Social Welfare, Dr. Mphu Ramatlapeng.

“We have children looking after families and people not looking after their health,” he added, referring to households in which children as young as 12 years of age care for younger siblings. “These are some of the factors that have contributed to destitution generally in these areas.”

Around 950 households – comprising over 2,370 orphans and vulnerable children – are currently benefiting from the small quarterly grants. This monetary assistance is gradually being complemented by other services, such as World Food Programme assistance and psychosocial support for families and children affected by HIV.

Along with large households like Ms. Sebatanyane’s that are unable to make ends meet on the income of a single provider, many child-headed households are beneficiaries of the grants programme.

The face of need
Mpolokeng, an 18-year-old girl, and Sello, an 18-year-old boy, come from different areas but have much in common. Both lost their parents; both are heading their households and struggling to make ends meet; and both were waiting to receive their cash grants last month in Semonkong, central Lesotho.

“My father was a very strong man,” Mpolokeng recalled with a smile. “I used to be so happy every time he came home from the mines [in South Africa], because he used to bring us fresh apples, sweet potatoes and gifts.

“But over time,” she added, “he started getting sick and finally came home for good, to die. Then my mother got sick and I had to take care of her and my siblings, and had to drop out of school.”

Sello’s father also worked in the mines until he, too, became ill and died. “I miss him,” said Sello. “When he died, my mother followed, so we used some of our cattle for the funerals. I had to take care of the remaining cattle and of my siblings.”

Children confront triple threat
Mpolokeng and Sello are just two of thousands of Basotho children confronted with enormous odds. The triple threat of poverty, HIV and AIDS, and food insecurity has dealt a serious blow to child survival, development and protection in Lesotho.

More than 160,000 children are orphans, robbed of the protective and nurturing role of their mothers and fathers. Of these, 110,000 are estimated to have lost one or both parents to AIDS.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lesotho/2009/Barbadoro
After receiving her first grant, Mapalesa sets off for her home in the remote village of Thaba Qhubelu.

Despite the challenges they face, Mpolokeng and Sello are astoundingly resilient. Both have hopes and dreams for the future and were excited at the possibilities offered by the cash grants they were about to receive.

“My greatest wish is to go back to school, so that one day I can become a teacher and help other children learn and grow,” said Mpolokeng. “The money I will receive today will help me to buy myself a uniform so that next year, I can enrol in school again.”

Sello is following his father’s legacy to make sure his siblings have a better future. He plans to use the money to replenish his stock of cattle.

Successful pilot programme
The disbursement in Semonkong marked the first complete payment covering all three communities in the cash-grants pilot programme: Matelile (Mafeteng district), Lebakeng (Qacha’s Nek district) and Semonkong (Maseru district).

Lesotho’s Deputy Principal Secretary of Health and Social Welfare, Moliehi Khabele, explained that the pilot phase is meant to develop and test effective systems for targeting, enrolment, payment to beneficiaries, monitoring, procurement and financial management – as well as training of stakeholders, public awareness and community involvement.

The pilot programme will be refined for a phased rollout in other districts of the country by 2011. In the longer term, the government plans to absorb the programme into its national budget.

“Cash transfers have the greatest impact when combined with other social services such as health, nutrition, education and protection,” said UNICEF Representative in Lesotho Dr. Ahmed Magan. “The grants are part of a greater child-sensitive social protection programme that will benefit entire families.”


 

 

Video

15 October 2009: UNICEF’s Eva Gilliam reports on the Lesotho Child Grants Programme, an effort to aid poor households and ensure the rights of orphans and vulnerable children.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

UNICEF-EU Partnership

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search