UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

联合国儿童基金会工作者入选《时代周刊》“全球最具影响力百人”年度榜单

普里扬卡.普鲁第(Priyanka Pruthi)报道

美国纽约,2013年4月18日——他们正在联合国儿童基金会推进新的技术和战略,重塑开发的路线。他们冲破限制、采用创新的解决方案,解决了我们所面临的一些最棘手的问题。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/RWAA2011-00482/Noorani
由联合国儿童基金会创新机构(UNICEF Innovation Unit)开发的RapidSMS采用开源技术,能够采用手机语音和短信的方式在全国范围内传递和跟踪信息。图为一名社区卫生工作者在卢旺达的一位孕妇家中,发送语音信息呼叫救护车。

今天,《时代周刊》表彰了联合国儿童基金会创新机构负责人克里斯多夫.法比安(Christopher Fabian)和艾丽卡.考奇(Erica Kochi)共同做出的贡献。两人同时入选《时代周刊》“全球最具影响力百人”年度榜单。这份声名素著的名单汇集了改革领袖、媒体大亨和文化巨头——“他们是正在改变世界的著名人物”。

“我们团队的工作被公认为具有全球影响力,这是一份殊荣。此次入选是对我们充分利用技术、设计思想和创新的极大肯定,我们的工作正积极地推进联合国儿童基金会开展的项目,并改变国际化发展的实践。对于联合国儿童基金会而言,这种公众的认可表明,我们可以为全球最弱势儿童开发并支持各种解决方案,解决方案可以针对不同规模。”考奇女士说。

实时高效

法比安先生和考奇女士领导的项目包括一个创新型RapidSMS系统的开发。该系统采用开源技术,能够采用手机语音和短信的方式在全国范围内传递和跟踪信息。例如,在马拉维,卫生工作者将实地收集的数据输入自己的手机,然后以短信的方式发送到当地的RapidSMS号码上。之后,训练有素的工作人员将编辑整理这些数据,为该国政府提供可以立即使用的实时信息。

“因此,如果某个地区的很多社区工作者发出有关如何服用口服补液盐问题的短信,我们就可以准确判断出该地区可能发生了问题,相应地派出调查组。”法比安先生解释说,“如果是书面数据,或者需要一两年时间才能送达案头的东西,怎么能有这样的实效。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2013-0180/Susan Markisz
联合国儿童基金会创新顾问艾丽卡.考奇和克里斯多夫.法比安入选《时代周刊》“全球最具影响力百人”年度榜单。他们的左前方摆放着一个数字鼓(Digital Drum)原型。

“一夜之间,我们就可以与被服务的人群进行双向对话。”考奇女士说,“我们能够实时发现:哪些人是我们还没有到达的人群。哪些人还未获得基本的服务。事情为什么会是这样的?以及,我们能采取什么行动。如今所面临的挑战不应该是事件发生后再了解情况,而是了解正在发生的事情以及立即能够采取的应对措施。”

访问联合国儿童基金会创新机构的网站

阅读联合国儿童基金会创新机构博客

世界各地的创新

联合国儿童基金会创新机构已经惠及数百万人。RapidSMS的使用已经帮助卢旺达成千上万名孕妇获得产前检查,跟踪约6300万顶蚊帐的分发,并创建了一个直接反馈循环系统,让超过19万名乌干达青年参与政府决策并改变国家政策。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/UGDA2011-00087/Tylle
在乌干达古卢(Gulu)的鲍思高(Bosco)青年中心,乌干达青年正在使用“数字鼓”。“数字鼓”是一种太阳能供电的电脑,使用当地的原材料制成。预装的信息内容涉及健康和教育。“数字鼓”入选了《时代周刊》“2011年最佳发明榜”。

“艾丽卡和克里斯多夫携手世界各地的合作伙伴们,践行理念、推进决策执行,并帮助推广创新。”联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克说,“有了他们的努力,我们正在更好地通过救生和改善生活的项目,帮助最偏远地区的儿童。”

联合国儿童基金会正与学术界、大学和充满活力的私营部门合作伙伴们进行合作。“我们这代人所面临的问题无法由一个国家单独解决,也不会被北半球大量的技术手段所解决。”法比安先生说,“只要人们团结一致、同心同德,当人们了解到这些问题背后的体系至关重要,而技术本身无足轻重,这些问题就能得到解决。”

“当‘桑迪’飓风光临[纽约]时,联邦紧急事务管理署(FEMA*)创新机构给我们打来电话说:‘我们听说你们在布隆迪、南苏丹和东非正在采取创新措施,你们可以帮助我们采取这样的创新措施吗?’对我来说,这标志着一个彻底的改变。人们面临的问题……缺乏电力、通信和交通设施——与我们在南苏丹面临的问题一样。而事实上,我们在朱巴(Juba)有一个正在专门应对这类问题的团队。这使得联邦紧急事务管理署能够采用创新的方式及时采取应急措施。”他解释说。

失败总结星期五

对于在联合国儿童基金会工作已超过六年的法比安先生和考奇女士而言,开发新的思路和技术并付诸实践并非易事。他们失败过很多次,但他们知道面对失败的唯一正确方法就是——吸取教训,屡败屡战。

“每周五,我们都会组织一次失败总结讨论会!”法比安先生说,“我们失败过很多次。RapidSMS成功前,失败了50次。我们失败得很快,所以失败的代价不高,并且我们分享失败的教训。总之,我们的失败教训是,我们必须请使用程序的人参与设计。我们的开发要基于开源的技术,这样,任何人都可以修改并重用。我们必须确保,我们正在开发的产品能够得到当地支持。”

对于联合国儿童基金会创新机构而言,有时,实施一个理念并不是最重要的任务,围绕某个问题组建一个团队才能帮助他们开发出有用的解决方案。

*美国联邦紧急事务管理署


 

 

Youtube视频:联合国儿童基金会创新

搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

UNICEF staff among TIME Magazine's annual list of 100 most influential people in the world

© UNICEF VIDEO
UNICEF correspondent Priyanka Pruthi interviews Erica Kochi & Christopher Fabian, Co-leads of UNICEF's Innovation Unit featured in Time Magazine's ' World's 100 most influential people' list.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

By Priyanka Pruthi

The UNICEF family extends it congratulations to all of the 2013 TIME 100 and, in particular, to Malala Yousafzai for her inspiring and unflagging support of girls' education.

NEW YORK, United States of America, 18 April 2013 – They are driving new technologies and strategies at UNICEF that are reshaping the development discourse. They have been pushing the envelope and bringing innovative solutions to some of the toughest problems we face.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/RWAA2011-00482/Noorani
RapidSMS, developed by the UNICEF Innovation Unit, is open source technology that uses cell phones and text messages to deliver and track information on a national scale. Here, a community health worker sends a message for an ambulance from the house of a pregnant woman in Rwanda.

Today, TIME Magazine honored the contributions of the co-leads of UNICEF’s Innovations Unit, Christopher Fabian and Erica Kochi, by featuring them in their annual list of the world’s 100 most influential people. The prestigious list is a selection of transformative leaders, media moguls and cultural titans – ‘icons who are defining the world’.

“It's an honor for my team's work to be publicly recognized for influencing the world. This selection is a fantastic recognition for our work in harnessing technology, design thinking and innovation to strengthen UNICEF programmes on the ground and transform international development practice. For UNICEF,  this public recognition shows that we can develop and support solutions that are transformative – at scale – for the world's most vulnerable children,” says Ms. Kochi.

Real results in real time

Projects that Mr. Fabian and Ms. Kochi have led include the development of the path-breaking RapidSMS system, an open source technology that uses cell phones and text messages to deliver and track information on a national scale. In Malawi, for example, health workers enter the data they collect from the field as text messages on their phones that are sent to the local RapidSMS number. The data are then mapped and graphed by trained staff, giving the government real-time information that can be used immediately.

“So, if one district has a lot of community workers texting questions about how to make oral rehydration salts, we can make a pretty good guess that something is wrong and send a team to investigate,” explains Mr. Fabian. “You can’t do that with paper data or something that takes a year or two to get to your office.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2013-0180/Susan Markisz
UNICEF Innovation Advisers Erica Kochi and Christopher Fabian have been selected for TIME Magazine’s annual list of the 100 most influential people in the world. In front of them (left) is a prototype of the Digital Drum.

“Suddenly, we can have a two-way conversation with the people we serve," says Ms. Kochi. "We can find out in real time: Who are we not reaching? Who is not using essential services? Why is this the case? And, what can we do about it? The challenge today is not about what happened after the fact, but knowing what is happening now and being able to do something about it now."

Visit the UNICEF Innovation website

Read the Stories of UNICEF Innovation blog

Innovation around the world

UNICEF’s Innovation Unit has had an impact on millions of lives. The use of RapidSMS has helped deliver prenatal care to thousands of pregnant women in Rwanda, tracked the distribution of some 63 million mosquito nets and created a direct feedback loop for more than 190,000 young Ugandans to engage with their government and change national policy.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/UGDA2011-00087/Tylle
Young Ugandans use the Digital Drum at Bosco Youth Centre in Gulu, Uganda. The Digital Drum is a solar-powered computer made of locally available materials. Its preloaded content deals with health and education. The Digital Drum was chosen as one of TIME Magazine’s Best Inventions of 2011.

“Erica and Chris are working with partners across the world to test ideas, push decisions and help scale up innovations," says UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake. “Thanks to this work, we’re doing more to reach the hardest-to-reach children with life-saving and life-changing programmes.”

UNICEF is working with academia, universities and dynamic private sector partners. “The problems that are confronting our generation are not going to be solved by one country working on things alone, and they are not going to be solved by a huge amount of technology in the global north,” says Mr. Fabian. “But they will be solved when people can collaborate together, and when people see how important the systems behind those problems are and how unimportant the technology itself is.

“When Hurricane Sandy happened here [in New York], FEMA’s* innovation unit called us and said: ‘Can you guys help us take some of the innovations we hear you are working on in Burundi and South Sudan and in East Africa?’ And to me, that signals a total change. The issues that people had…lack of power, communication and lack of access to transportation – are the same problems that we have in South Sudan. And the fact that we have a team there in Juba who is looking at exactly those issues gives FEMA an ability to jump ahead and leapfrog over this traditional approach to emergency response,” he explains.

Failure Fridays

For Mr. Fabian and Ms. Kochi, who have worked with UNICEF for over six years now, introducing new ideas and technologies and implementing them on the ground hasn’t been easy. They’ve met with a lot of failures, but they only know one way of dealing with them – by celebrating every fall.

“We have a failure Friday, every Friday!” says Mr. Fabian. “We fail a lot. Rapid SMS failed 50 times before it worked. We fail quickly, we fail cheaply and we share that failure. Across the board, what we have learned from them is that we have to design programs with people who are using them. We have to build things with open sources so that they can be adapted and reused by anybody. We have to make sure that what we are building has local support,” he elaborates.

For UNICEF’s Innovation Unit, sometimes taking an idea forward isn’t the most important task, but being able to build a community around a problem is what leads them to real solutions.

*Federal Emergency Management Agency, United States of America

 


 

 

YouTube playlist: UNICEF Innovation

New enhanced search