UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

联合国儿童基金会发布的报告以图表的形式呈现了29个富裕国家的儿童福利状况

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/SWIT2006-0002/Auf der Mauer
在瑞士苏黎世,一名小女孩在运动场上玩跷跷板。联合国儿童基金会研究办公室发布的《富裕国家儿童福利报告》显示:瑞士在29个工业化国家中排名第8。这份报告评估儿童的福利状况。

联合国儿童基金会发布的一份新报告以图表的形式呈现了富裕国家的儿童福利状况。

意大利佛罗伦萨,2013年4月10日 —— 希腊财政救援计划、西班牙债务和欧元区混乱对于一个10岁大的儿童几乎没有意义,但公共支出削减及财政紧缩政策的影响却让贫困儿童和家庭真正陷入困难境地。

很难说目前的金融危机究竟有多严重,还要持续多长时间。但我们可以确定的是,这场危机的后果将在未来几年后显现,尽可能在危机期间实行保护儿童和青年权利的政策,就如同应对危机本身一样重要。

富裕国家的儿童状况

联合国儿童基金会研究办公室发布的《富裕国家儿童福利报告》(Report Card 11: Child well-being in rich countries)调查了“富裕”国家的儿童状况。赞成者和反对者关于财政紧缩政策和社会支出削减的讨论仍在继续,他们仍然持有强烈的相反观点。值此之际,《富裕国家儿童福利报告》以图表的形式呈现了全世界29个富裕国家在本世纪前十年确保儿童福利所取得的成就。

报告指出,这种全球性对照证明了这些国家中存在贫困儿童是不可避免的,但政策是容许的 —— 一些国家在保护最弱势儿童方面比其他国家做的要好。

• 下载完整报告
• 按国家查看交互信息图了解详细信息。
• 观看采访 报告作者彼得.亚当森(Peter Adamson)的视频。

报告显示,荷兰和三个北欧国家 —— 芬兰、冰岛和挪威 —— 再一次位列儿童福利表的前几名,而四个南欧国家 —— 希腊、意大利、葡萄牙和西班牙 —— 则排名偏低。

衡量儿童福利

《富裕国家儿童福利报告》:根据儿童生活状况的5个指标衡量发展情况,分别是物质福利、健康与安全、教育、行为与风险及住房与环境。

研究发现,人均国内生产总值与整体儿童福利之间没有太大关系。例如,斯洛文尼亚排名高于加拿大,捷克高于奥地利,葡萄牙高于美国。

尽管一些国家的部分具体指标出现退步情况,但二十一世纪前十年的整体趋势呈现为工业化国家的儿童福利事业稳步发展。有数据显示,每个国家的婴儿死亡率和“低保家庭”数量都有所下降,而学业进修的比率有所上升。

但是,在持续缺少儿童生活状况方面的最新国际对照数据(报告中的大多数数据适用于2009至2010年期间,没有最新的对照信息)的情况下,《富裕国家儿童福利报告》反映了各国政府在发生危机之前的这段时间进行决策所取得的成果。报告显示,发生危机之后的三年经济困难对于现在或不久的将来并非好预兆。

行为与风险领域的好消息

尽管如此,但在大多数情况下,这些数据跟踪了长期趋势并反映了对于儿童生活长期投资的成果。由于过去三年的经济倒退,例如,学业成就或免疫率或风险行为普遍程度的平均水平在短期内不会有显著变化。

当我们考察儿童福利的“行为与风险”指标时,得到的都是好消息。

例如,在29个国家接受调查的11岁、13岁和15岁儿童中,只有8%的儿童说每周至少吸一次烟,只有15%的儿童说至今至少喝醉过两次,并且大约三分之二的儿童从来没有欺负过别人或打过架。99%的女孩未在15至19岁之间怀孕。

然而,锻炼水平过低,只有爱尔兰和美国两个国家才有超过25%的儿童说每天至少锻炼一小时。

不被重视的声音

为发布《富裕国家儿童福利报告》,联合国儿童基金会联合欧盟委员会轮值主席国爱尔兰,与欧洲儿童中心(Eurochild)和欧洲反贫困网络(European Anti-Poverty Network)合作,准备于4月10日和11日在爱尔兰都柏林组织一项活动。这项活动旨在巩固通过采用欧洲委员会的建议“投资儿童:打破弱势循环”所产生的良好局面。

“无论是处于目前的经济危机时期,还是在更好的财政时期,联合国儿童基金会都敦促各国政府和社会合作伙伴要将儿童和青年作为决策制定流程的核心。”联合国儿童基金会研究办公室主任戈登.亚历山大(Gordon Alexander)说,“对于正在考虑或已经推出的每一项新政策措施,各国政府都必须明确对于儿童、有儿童的家庭、青少年和年轻人的影响。这些群体在政治进程中不具有发言权,人轻言微。”


 

 

联合国儿童基金会因诺琴蒂研究中心

报告作者Peter Adamson采访视频

聚焦

搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

Report Card 11 released by UNICEF charts the well-being of children in 29 rich countries

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/SWIT2006-0002/Auf der Mauer
A young girl playing on a swing in a playground in the city of Zurich, Switzerland. According to the Report Card 11, produced by the UNICEF Office of Research, which assesses child well-being, Switzerland ranks 8th out of 29 nations of the industrialized world.

A new report released by UNICEF charts the well-being of children in rich countries.

FLORENCE, Italy, 10 April 2013 – Greek bail-outs, Spanish debt and euro-zone scrambling mean little to a 10-year-old, but the impact of public spending cuts and belt-tightening spells real hardship for poor children and families.  

It is hard to say how deep and sustained the current financial crisis might be. What is clear, however, is that its results will be seen in the coming years, based as much on policies taken to safeguard the rights of children and youth during this crisis as on the crisis, itself.

State of children in rich countries

Report Card 11: Child well-being in rich countries, from UNICEF’s Office of Research, examines the state of children across the ‘rich’ world. As debates continue to generate strongly opposed views on the pros and cons of austerity measures and social spending cuts, Report Card 11 charts the achievements of 29 of the world’s advanced economies in ensuring the well-being of their children during the first decade of this century.

This international comparison, says the report, proves that child poverty in these countries is not inevitable, but policy susceptible – and that some countries are doing much better than others at protecting their most vulnerable children.

• Download the full report.
• See interactive infographic for details by country.
• View video interview with Peter Adamson, author of the report.

The report finds that the Netherlands and three Nordic countries – Finland, Iceland and Norway – again sit at the top of a child well-being table, while four southern European countries – Greece, Italy, Portugal and Spain – are placed in the bottom half. 

Child well-being measured

Report Card 11: measures development according to five dimensions of children’s lives – material well-being, health and safety, education, behaviour and risks, and housing and environment. 

The study does not find a strong relationship between per capita GDP and overall child well-being. For instance, Slovenia ranks higher than Canada, the Czech Republic higher than Austria, and Portugal higher than the United States of America.

Despite setbacks in some countries on specific indicators, the overall story of the 2000s is one of steady improvement in various fields of child well-being in the industrialized world. Every country for which data are available saw reductions in infant mortality and ‘low family affluence’, while the rate of further education enrolment increased.

However, given the continued absence of up-to-date internationally comparative data on children’s lives (most data in the report apply to the period 2009–2010, the latest comparative information available), Report Card 11 reflects the outcome of government decisions in the period before the crisis. The report states that the three years of economic hardship since then do not bode well for the present or near future.

Good news in behaviours and risks

Nonetheless, for the most part, these data track long-term trends and reflect the results of long-term investments in children’s lives. Average levels of school achievement, or immunization rates, or the prevalence of risk behaviours, for example, are not likely to be significantly changed in the short term by the recession of the past three years.

And, when looking at the ‘behaviours and risks’ dimension of child well-being, there is good news across the board.

For instance, among children aged 11, 13 and 15 in the 29 countries under review, only 8 per cent say they smoke cigarettes at least once a week, just 15 per cent report having been drunk at least twice in their life, and about two-thirds are neither bullied nor involved in fighting. Ninety-nine per cent of girls do not get pregnant between the ages of 15 and 19.

However, exercise levels are low, with Ireland and the United States of America the only countries in which more than 25 per cent of children report exercising for at least an hour a day.
Voices too seldom heard

To launch Report Card 11, UNICEF is organizing an event in Dublin, Ireland, on 10 and 11 April in association with the Irish Presidency of the Council of the European Union and in collaboration with Eurochild and the European Anti-Poverty Network. The event will build on the momentum generated by the adoption of the European Commission Recommendation ‘Investing in children: breaking the cycle of disadvantage’.

“Whether in today’s time of economic crisis, or in better financial periods, UNICEF urges governments and social partners to place children and young people at the heart of their decision-making processes,” said Director of UNICEF’s Office of Research Gordon Alexander. “For every new policy measure considered or introduced, governments explicitly have to explore the impact and effects on children, families with children, adolescents and young adults. These groups do not have a voice in the political processes, or their voices are too seldom heard.”


 

 

Interview with Peter Adamson, author of the report

In Focus

New enhanced search