儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

原住民儿童在联合国儿童基金会的座谈会上呼吁维护土著居民权利

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0676/Markisz
在联合国儿童基金会大楼里举办的“聆听与行动-让原住民儿童和青少年通过积极而有意义的参与来维护他们的权利”活动中,来自巴西东北部巴伊亚州(Bahia State)红冠巴塔树村的19岁的卡武.巴塔树(右)正在发言,他的同龄堂弟乌拉比纳.巴塔树站在他的身边。

克里斯.尼尔斯报道

美国纽约,2010年4月22日 – 今天,两位巴西少年从巴西东北部巴伊亚州的小村庄来到了纽约联合国总部呼吁维护原住民的权利。

15岁的乌拉比纳.巴塔树(Urapinã Pataxó)和19岁的卡武.巴塔树(Kãhu Pataxó)住在红冠巴塔树村,这个村子离一些热门旅游景点很近。村民们除了靠售卖手工艺品为生之外,几乎没什么其它的收入。村里的年轻人也遭受着毒品、性暴力、歧视及做童工当苦力的威胁。

儿童成为目标

乌拉比纳说:“保护儿童非常重要,儿童是剥削者的目标,就像市场上的肉一样任人宰割。这令我很难过,因为从前我们有自己的土地。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0679/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会政策与实践处副处长伊丽莎白.吉本斯在联合国儿童基金会的小组座谈上发言。

乌拉比纳和卡武还参加了在联合国儿童基金会总部举办的一个座谈会并作了发言。他们光着脚来到座谈会,身穿传统服饰,头上还戴着染了色的羽状头饰。

卡武说:“我们原住民已经被剥夺了许多人类应有的权利——健康教育和娱乐的权利。我们应该活得更有尊严。”

这是首次有青少年代表在土著问题论坛上发言。

尊重文化多样性

“联合国土著问题常设论坛”第九次会议在纽约举办,包括乌拉比纳和卡武在内的来自世界各地的原住民代表参加了这次会议。乌拉比纳在会上做了发言。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0678/Markisz
来自加拿大的土著印第安人莫霍克人代表杰西卡.易今年24岁。

昨天,在联合国儿童基金会举办的小组座谈会上,重点探讨了有关影响儿童和青少年的问题。儿基会召集的小组会议,成员包括原住民青年政策讨论会成员杰西卡.叶(Jessica Yee)和危地马拉全球计划处主任理查德.戈麦斯.阿格尼利(Ricardo Gomez Agnoli)。

联合国儿童基金会政策与计划事务副主任伊丽莎白.吉邦斯(Elizabeth Gibbons)说:“我们希望确保文化的多样性和表达权能够完全融入世界的主流,这是个挑战。”她还说,过去几年,儿基会在这方面的参与是时断时续。在2009年《儿童权利公约》发表20周年纪念之际,提醒我们这些紧急事务被提上日程的重要性。

“我们必须做得更好”

去年,联合国儿童基金会召集世界各地的工作人员及联合国其它机构的代表就原住民和少数民族问题举行了一次会议。这次会议提出的行动路线和建议将有助于进一步扩大儿基会在土著问题上的参与。儿基会还努力让“联合国原住民权利宣言”更有利于儿童和青少年。

吉邦斯女士说:“我们可以做得更好,我们也必须做得更好。”

为了家乡发展的需要,乌拉比纳和卡武组建了“巴塔树青少年小组”,与联合国儿童基金会合作,促进维护原住民儿童和青年的权利。小组成员深入调研家乡的文化传统,鼓励有关权利的讨论,表演话剧并在乡村学校发放宣传手册。尽管面临很大挑战,他们仍然很乐观,相信他们的声音会受到重视。

卡武说:“我们来这里是为了改变未来——改变我们原住民的未来。”


 

 

Video

15岁的乌拉比纳.巴塔树介绍自己如何成为一名维护土著儿童和青少年权利的活动家。
 视频   |

19岁的卡武.巴塔树(右) 谈保护土著文化的重要性。
 视频   |

儿童权利公约

青年之声

搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

At UNICEF panel, indigenous young people speak up for their rights

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0676/Markisz
Kâhu Pataxó (right), 19, from the indigenous village of Pataxó de Coroa Vermelha in Brazil’s north-eastern Bahia State, speaks at UNICEF panel discussion. His cousin, Urapinã Pataxó, 15, is beside him.

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, USA, 23 April 2010 – Two Brazilian youth advocates have travelled from their small village in the Bahia region of north-eastern Brazil to United Nations headquarters in New York to make an impassioned appeal for the rights of indigenous peoples.

VIDEO: Watch now

Urapinã Pataxó 15,  and Kãhu Pataxó, 19, live in Pataxó de Coroa Vermelha, a community that suffers from its proximity to popular tourist destinations. There are few ways for village families to make a living except by selling handicrafts. Young people there are at risk from drugs, sexual violence, discrimination and child labour.

Children are targets

“It’s very important to protect children that are the target of predators,” said Urapinã. “They are like meat in a market. This saddens me because in the past, we had our land to ourselves.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0679/Markisz
UNICEF Deputy Director for Policy and Practice Elizabeth Gibbons speaks at the indigenous-issues youth panel held at UNICEF headquarters in conjunction with the Ninth Session of the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues.

Urapinã and Kãhu spoke yesterday at a panel discussion held at UNICEF headquarters. They came to the panel barefoot, dressed in traditional costume, with painted feathered headdresses.

“My people have been deprived of many rights that human beings are entitled to – health education, leisure. They are entitled to a dignified way of living,” said Kãhu.

Respect for cultural diversity

Indigenous people have come from all over the world to New York this week to participate in the Ninth Session of the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues. Urapinã is addressing the forum today; it’s the first time UNICEF has provided one of its speaking slots at the indigenous-issues forum to an adolescent.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0678/Markisz
Jessica Yee, 24, an indigenous Mohawk from Canada, takes part in the UNICEF-sponsored discussion on strengthening the human rights of indigenous children and adolescents through their active and meaningful participation.

At its own panel yesterday – which was designed to explore issues specifically affecting children and adolescents – UNICEF assembled a group that included Indigenous Youth Caucus member Jessica Yee and Plan International’s Guatemala Country Director, Ricardo Gomez Agnoli.

“We want to ensure that cultural diversity and the rights of cultural expression are fully mainstreamed in our world. It’s a challenge,” said UNICEF Deputy Director of Policy and Practice Elizabeth Gibbons. She added that UNICEF’s involvement in the past had been fragmentary – and that the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child in 2009 provided an important reminder of the urgency of these issues.

‘We must do better’

Last year, UNICEF convened a meeting on indigenous peoples’ and minority issues with its staff across the globe, as well as representatives of other UN agencies. The meeting led to a roadmap and action proposal that will help improve UNICEF’s engagement on indigenous issues. The agency is also working on child- and adolescent-friendly versions of the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

“We can do better and we must do better,” said Ms. Gibbons.

In response to the needs in their region, Urapinã and Kãhu have formed the Pataxó Adolescents Group, which works with UNICEF to promote the rights of indigenous children and young people. The group’s members have researched their culture and traditions, encouraged discussion about rights, staged plays and produced booklets for distribution in village schools. Despite the enormous challenges, they remain optimistic that their voices are being heard.

“We are here to change the future – the future of our people,” said Kãhu.


 

 

Video

22 April 2010: Urapinã Pataxó, 15, describes the conditions in his village in Bahia, Brazil, that led to him becoming an activist for the rights of indigenous children and young people.
 VIDEO  high | low

22 April 2010: Kãhu Pataxó, 19, discusses why preserving culture is so important to indigenous children and young people.
 VIDEO  high | low

CRC @ 20

Voices of Youth

New enhanced search