儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

庆祝《儿童权利公约》20周年纪念影展和电影节开幕

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1650/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼出席了“艺术在每个人心中”摄影展和国际儿童权利纪录片电影节开幕仪式。

艾米.贝内特报道

美国纽约,2009年11月4日 - 为庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年而举办的艺术在每个人心中摄影展和国际儿童权利纪录片电影节昨日在联合国儿童基金会纽约总部开幕。联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼出席了开幕仪式并致辞。

 点击此处观看视频

艺术在每个人心中摄影展设在丹尼凯访客中心(Danny Kaye Visitor’s Center),展出的作品来自一本收录儿童摄影、诗歌和艺术作品的新书。联合国儿童基金会在全球范围内为这个项目提供支持,维尼曼主任还为这本书写了序。

联合国儿童基金会亲善大使刘玉玲(Lucy Liu)和电影人盖.雅各布森(Guy Jacobson)也到场介绍他们的新片《红灯》(Redlight)。这部影片是国际儿童权利纪录片电影节参赛作品。国际儿童权利纪录片电影节将于12月闭幕。

有力的表达方式

维尼曼主任说:“摄影和电影是照亮社会阴暗面问题的强有力手段。文化和艺术上的表达对儿童和青少年有多重教益。”

这本新书和艺术在每个人心中摄影展中的照片、绘画和诗歌作品展示了艺术对儿童的有益影响。通过不仅限于语言的表达方式,影响儿童的问题往往可以由儿童自己来最好地表达出来。

摄影展创始人、摄影师安东尼.阿萨尔(Anthony Asael)说:“在一些国家,儿童有时害怕讲出他们的心里话,如果他们使用相机、铅笔或双手,那表达起来就容易得多了。世界各地的所有儿童都可以抓住这个大好机会,畅所欲言,讲出自己的观点,充分表达自己。

成立于2004年的艺术在每个人心中摄影展,旨在以艺术作为超越语言的沟通方式,促进世界儿童之间的宽容和文化交流。在联合国儿童基金会驻世界各地办事处的协助下,四年中共有18000名儿童参与其中。

阿萨尔说:“每个孩子都是艺术家,重要的是,我们成年人从一开始就要激发他们的创造力。”

聚焦全球关注

影片《红灯》追踪了几个柬埔寨儿童性奴隶的苦难历程。有些儿童在那段可怕的经历之后,努力重新融入柬埔寨社会,恢复正常生活。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1651/Markisz
摄影展创始人、摄影师安东尼.阿萨尔在开幕仪式上发表讲话。

这部影片通过两位获诺贝尔和平奖提名的社会活动家索马里.玛姆(Somaly Mam)和政治家莫淑华(Mu Sochua)的故事,聚焦贩卖儿童的大问题。除了有过去和现在的儿童性奴隶的证词之外,《红灯》还使用了在真正的妓院中所偷拍的镜头。

终结性剥削

联合国儿童基金会亲善大使、《红灯》的制片人和旁白叙述刘玉玲说:“当你那么近距离地看着她们的时候,感觉很不一样。这些孩子非常诚实,但对她们来讲,重温自己的遭遇是件很困难的事。而她们能说出自己的故事,这本身就会使她们面临受伤害的危险,实在让人心碎。”

《红灯》的导演雅各布森先生说:“这是一个非常鼓舞人心的故事,不是讲如何阴暗或如何可怕的影片。相反,即使在最困难的情况下,当地人还是能够令人难以置信地让儿童性奴隶问题受到关注。” 雅各布森先生还创立了“红灯儿童运动(RedLight Children Campaign)”,这是一个旨在终结所有形式的儿童性剥削的非政府组织。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年11月3日:联合国儿童基金会记者艾米.贝内特报道,为庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年而举办的艺术在每个人心中摄影展和国际儿童权利纪录片电影节昨日在联合国儿童基金会纽约总部开幕。.
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

Focus on children’s rights: UNICEF launches photo exhibit and film festival

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1650/Markisz
Executive Director Ann M. Veneman opens the ‘Art in All of Us’ photo exhibit and the International Children’s Rights Documentary Film Festival at UNICEF House in New York.

By Amy Bennett

NEW YORK, USA, 4 November 2009 – As part of the run-up to 20 November, the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman yesterday introduced a photo exhibit and opened a documentary film festival with a special screening at UNICEF headquarters in New York.

VIDEO: Watch now

The ‘Art in All of Us’ photo exhibit now on display in UNICEF’s Danny Kaye Visitors’ Centre is based on a new book that features children’s photography, poetry and art. UNICEF has provided global support for this project, and Ms. Veneman wrote the book’s foreword.

UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Lucy Liu and director Guy Jacobson were also on hand to introduce their film, ‘Red Light’. It is part of the International Children’s Rights Documentary Film Festival, which will continue through December.

Powerful means of expression
Photography and film are powerful means of shining a spotlight on issues that are often left in the dark, and artistic expression has multiple benefits for children and young people. These beneficial effects are exemplified by the works in the ‘Art in All of Us’ book and photo exhibit. They demonstrate that issues affecting children can often best be expressed by children themselves – and not only through language.

“Sometimes [children] fear, in some countries, to speak out,” said photographer Anthony Asael, founder of Art in All of Us (AiA), an international organization that promotes cultural exchange among children through art. “Having a camera or having pencils or using their hands, it’s a lot easier for them to express themselves. It is a very good opportunity, and each kid in the world can grab that opportunity to speak out.”

Founded in 2004, AiA works to promote tolerance and understanding among the world’s children, using art as a communication method that transcends language. Some 18,000 children participated in the book project over the course of four years, with help from UNICEF offices worldwide.

“Each child is an artist,” said Mr. Asael. “It is important that we adults stimulate this creativity from the very beginning.”

Film shows effects of trafficking
The other creative initiative launched yesterday, the film festival, will highlight successes and challenges in the global effort to ensure children’s rights. The festival’s documentaries feature children, young people and families who are determined to transform their lives and communities for the better.

The film screened at UNICEF, ‘Red Light’, follows the plight of several current and former child sex slaves from Cambodia. Some of them are trying to regain entry into Cambodian society and return to a normal life after their horrific experiences.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1651/Markisz
Photographer Anthony Asael – President and co-founder of Art in All of Us, an organization that promotes cultural exchange among children through art – speaks at the opening of the photo exhibit at UNICEF.

‘Red Light’ brings the big picture of child trafficking into focus through the stories of activist Somaly Mam and politician Mu Sochua, who have both been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. The film uses footage smuggled out of brothels, in addition to testimony from former and current child sex slaves.

Ending exploitation
“It’s a very different thing because you are really seeing them up close,” said Ms. Liu, the narrator and producer of ‘Red Light’. “The children are so honest, and it’s very difficult for them to relive what happened to them. For them to be able to tell the story itself creates a vulnerability that’s incredibly heartbreaking."

Added Mr. Jacobson, the film’s director: “It’s a very inspirational story – not of the gloom and doom of how horrible things are but, to the contrary, how incredible people on the ground have been able to make a dent into this problem even in the most difficult situation.”

Besides directing ‘Red Light’, Mr. Jacobson has founded the Red Light Children’s Campaign, a non-governmental organization that aims to end all forms of child sexual exploitation.


 

 

Video

3 November 2009: UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on the launch of a photo exhibit and film screening to kick off global events in the run-up to the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search