儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

专家学者撰文谈对儿童权利公约的看法

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/AFGA2009-00945/Noorani
在阿富汗喀布尔的贫困社区达阿富汗那(Dah Afghanan),一名小女孩站在面包房边上。

伊丽莎白.迪特里报道

美国纽约,2009年11月3日 – 作为纪念儿童权利公约发表20周年的活动之一, 联合国儿童基金会的年度旗舰出版物《世界儿童状况报告》正推出一系列的新文章,题为《对儿童权利公约的看法》。

工作人员邀请到来自各种背景的捐赠者,让他们谈论对公约意义的看法,以及21世纪的儿童权利倡导者们所面对的问题。

每位作者都思考了《儿童权利公约》对他们生活和工作产生的影响,并提出了在公约的基础上如何应对尚存挑战的切实意义。

这些文章可谓是一种行动呼吁,它们呼吁政府、国际组织、私营部门和个人共同努力确保公约为所有儿童许下的承诺能够得以实现。全套《观点》文章将从今天起在联合国儿童基金会有关儿童权利公约的网站(www.unicef.org/rightsite)上登出。

首批文章

这一系列文章中的第一篇来自公约最新的缔约国黑山共和国。黑山共和国在2006年11月批准了这项条约,副总理戈尔达娜.久罗维奇(Gordana Djurovic)的文章探讨在这个新独立的国家实施公约方面所取得的进展以及仍然面对的挑战,还强调了要重视少数民族、境内流离失所者和难民家庭的社会融合问题。

在第二篇文章中,曾担任联合国秘书长儿童暴力研究报告独立专家的美洲人权委员会专员保罗.塞尔吉奥.皮涅罗(Paulo Sérgio Pinheiro)根据他的独特经验,阐述了改善青少年司法系统质量的案例。

接下来,反对剥削儿童的领导机构“根除儿童卖淫和贩运组织”的女主席艾米南.阿布伊娃(Amihan Abueva)阐明了公约对法律和宣传工作的实际影响。

第四篇文章则由国际拯救儿童组织主席彼德.沃奇(Peter Woicke)撰写,解释了在促使实现公约中规定的权利方面问责制和执法机制的重要性。

即将推出

此外,在今后几周我们还将陆续推出以下作者的文章:

  • Ela Bhatt,印度自营职业妇女协会的创始人、妇女和儿童福祉的先驱倡导者,讲述印度妇女和儿童所面对的艰辛,并讨论了灵活易得的教育和社会政策的必要性。
  • Reverend Takeyasu Miyamoto, 儿童宗教全球网络的主席牧师,探讨信仰如何能够促进儿童权利。
  • Thomas Hammarberg, 欧洲人权事务高级专员兼联合国儿童权利委员会前成员,主张儿童更多地参与公约的行政管理工作之中。

行动呼吁

在今后的几个月里,还会有很多其他的人加入到这批杰出的作者队伍中。作者个人经历、专长和环境的多样性将促成一个有关宣传、政策和实践理念及创新的充满活力的对话。

我们还将从中挑选10篇文章收录在将由联合国儿童基金会在11月19日发布的《世界儿童状况报告》特别版里。

《对儿童权利公约的看法》强调了公约在全球促进儿童权利和社会进步方面所取得的显著的成果。

联合国儿童基金会感谢所有特邀作家的贡献、见解和启迪。《看法》系列中所表达的观点代表作者的个人意见,并不一定反映联合国儿童基金会的立场。


 

 

相关链接

《儿童权利公约》介绍

儿童权利公约

搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

Prominent essayists reflect on the impact of the Convention on the Rights of the Child

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/AFGA2009-00945/Noorani
A young girl standing outside a bakery in Dah Afghanan, a poor neighbourhood in Kabul, Afghanistan.

By Elizabeth Dettori

NEW YORK, USA, 3 November 2009 – As part of its commemoration of the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) on 20 November, The State of the World’s Children, UNICEF’s annual flagship publication, is launching a new essay series called ‘Perspectives on the Convention on the Rights of the Child.’

The series’ coordinators have invited a broad range of contributors to give their perspectives on what the Convention means to them and the critical issues facing advocates of children’s rights in the 21st century.

Each essayist reflects on the impact the CRC has made in his or her life and work, and offers practical suggestions of ways to build on the treaty’s successes to address the challenges that remain.

The essays are a call to action for governments, international organizations, private businesses and individuals to work together in ensuring that the promise of the Convention becomes a reality for all children. The full series of ‘Perspectives’ will roll out, starting today, on UNICEF’s website on the Convention on the Rights of the Child, www.unicef.org/rightsite.

First instalments
The first essay in the series comes from the Republic of Montenegro, the Convention’s newest State signatory, which became a party to the treaty in November 2006. Gordana Djurovic, the country’s Minister of European Integration, writes about the progress achieved and the challenges faced in implementing the Convention in the newly independent state – underlining the attention given to promoting social inclusion of minority groups and internally displaced and refugee families.

In the second instalment, Paulo Sérgio Pinheiro, Commissioner and Rapporteur on Children for the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, states the case for ending impunity for crimes of violence against children and for improving the quality of juvenile justice – drawing on his unique experience as the former Independent Expert of the UN Secretary-General for the Study on Violence against Children.

Next, Amihan Abueva, the Chairwoman of End Child Prostitution and Trafficking International – a leading organization in the fight against child exploitation – illuminates the Convention’s tangible impact on laws and advocacy efforts.

Then Peter Woicke, Chairman of Save the Children International, makes the case for accountability and enforcement mechanisms in enabling the realization of the rights prescribed in the Convention.

Coming soon
Other contributors to the series in the coming weeks will include:

  • Ela Bhatt, a pioneer advocate for the welfare of women and children, and founder of the Self-Employed Women’s Association in India, relays stories of the hardships facing women and children in India, and discusses the necessity of adaptive and accessible education and social policies.
  • Reverend Takeyasu Miyamoto, Chair of the Global Network of Religions for Children, discusses how faith can promote child rights.
  • Thomas Hammarberg, Commissioner for Human Rights in the Council of Europe and former member of the Committee on the Rights of the Child, advocates firmly for greater child participation in the administration of the Convention.
  • Yanghee Lee shares her experiences as Chair of the Committee on the Rights of the Child, the official monitoring body overseeing the advances and challenges that Member States face in implementing the Convention's principles.

A call to action
This distinguished group of contributors will be joined by many others in the coming months. The diverse nature of the contributors’ experience, expertise and environments will provide for a vibrant dialogue of ideas and innovations in advocacy, policy and practice. 

A selection of 10 essays from the series will also be featured in a special edition of The State of the World’s Children report celebrating the Convention, which will be launched by UNICEF on 19 November 2009.

‘Perspectives on the Convention on the Rights of the Child’ marks the accomplishments and advances the Convention has inspired for both child rights and social progress throughout the world. UNICEF extends its gratitude to all of the guest essayists for their contributions, insights and inspirations. The commentaries in the ‘Perspectives’ series represent the personal views of the authors; they do not necessarily reflect positions of UNICEF.


 

 

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search