儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

联合国网络发展会议绘出未来合作蓝图后落下帷幕

UNICEF Photo: web4dev09
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0103/Markisz
2月12日,在由联合国儿童基金会主办的2009年联合国网络发展会议上,格拉明解决方案公司的首席执行官卡兹.伊斯兰发表主题演讲。

艾米.贝内特报道

美国纽约,2009年2月13日 - 由联合国儿童基金会主持召开的第五届联合国网络发展年会,在规划出未来以技术为全球发展服务的合作蓝图后落下了帷幕。

世界上很多对此感兴趣的民众并没有亲身参加网络发展年会,但这不是问题,因为为期三天的大会通过网络直播、博客日志和即时信息得到了传播。

与会者听取了来自各个领域的专家的意见,同时参加了各个讨论小组,对各场演讲所提出的许多问题进行了更为亲密的讨论。他们之间建立了新的联系,这对在人道主义行动中扩大技术的使用有所帮助。

共同的需要与关心的问题
使用新技术实施解决方案远比说起来要困难的多。许多发言者警告说,在没有问自己一些棘手的问题之前,不要急于进军发展中国家。

孟加拉软件公司格拉明解决方案公司(Grameen Solutions)首席执行官卡兹.伊斯兰(Kazi Islam)说:“当你谈论解决方案的时候,想想应该如何让这个解决方案融入人们的生活中。

UNICEF Photo: web4dev09
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0107/Markisz
联合国贸易和网络通讯发展负责人大卫.盖利皮尤在网络发展大会专题会议上发言,出席的还有来自联合国教科文组织、国际教育局、世界银行、联合国毒品和犯罪问题办事处以及联合国执行局秘书处的代表。

“每个人都希望改善生活状况,希望他们的孩子受到更好的教育。因此,无论来自不同社区和不同文化背景下的人们有多大差异,他们的需要和问题还是非常一致的,”他补充说。

为成功做规划

随着会议的进行,越来越明确的共识是:发展中世界的需要不能完全由西方世界决定。

来自位于南非比勒陀利亚的科学和工业研究委员会(CSIR)的总经理卡吉索.切克恩(Kajiso Chikane)说:“你能拥有发展中国家所没有的技术,如果人们简单地将其强加于发展中世界,会发现它们无法发挥作用。”

这也得到了英特尔新兴市场平台集团研究和定义主任托尼.萨尔瓦多博士(Dr. Tony Salvador)的赞同。

“任何一种新的创新,尤其是开发,无论你带去的是什么,无论你将与当地合作伙伴做什么,要确保它没有太大的威胁,它才能挤进去,”他说。

主要合作伙伴
联合国儿童基金会不仅是会议的主办方,也是创新思维和合作伙伴关系的领导者。

萨尔瓦多博士说:“我认为联合国儿童基金会为这整个努力所做的贡献之一即是‘嘿,这就是当地现场发生的事。’他说其中一个挑战就是私营部门,要弄清如何以基于现场的角度了解有关这方面的事情。”

由南非CSIR开发的数码门廊,经常被当成这次合作的一个成功的例子。

UNICEF Photo: web4dev09
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0108/Markisz
在联合国儿童基金会大楼举行的网络发展会议上,一位与会者正在使用移动设备访问互联网。

‘它也不会碎’

切克恩女士说:“数码门廊是非常强大的电脑亭,它被开发成可安置在农村地区的社区礼堂外面、学校外面,供社区使用的设备。儿童在没有人教的情况下,也可以用它来自学使用电脑。”

她用力打着‘数码门廊’的屏幕,继续说:“你就是向它扔石头,它也不会碎。”

去年,电脑亭的雏形就吸引了许多联合国儿童基金会工作人员的注意。现在,它已经发展成一个被成为“密封”的可携式移动通讯系统,可用于人道主义紧急行动中的部署。

发展良机

会议强调了一些长期的合作伙伴关系,也宣布了新的合作伙伴。

比如,在会议的第二天,格拉明解决方案公司的伊斯兰先生就宣布将于联合国儿童基金会结成伙伴关系,以便在通过移动电话进行教育方面增加变革的机会。

通过知识共享的研讨会、专题讨论、分组研讨和新的伙伴关系,大会以合作是描绘未来蓝图的关键为结束语落下帷幕。并不是每个人都对方法和手段完全赞成,但是乐观的气氛还是显而易见的,并且机会是巨大的。公私部门都同意的几个令人难以置信的目标包括提高生活水平、教育儿童以及创造大规模的变革。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年2月13日:联合国儿童基金会记者艾米.贝内特报道由联合国儿童基金会主办的本年度网络发展会议。由爱德华.百利编辑。
 视频  高速低速

2009年2月11日:与会者在讨论未来的技术革新。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

UN Web4Dev conference wraps up with a roadmap for future collaboration

UNICEF Image: web4dev09
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0103/Markisz
Grameen Solutions CEO Kazi Islam gives a keynote address at the 2009 UN Web4Dev conference, hosted by UNICEF, on 12 February.

By Amy Bennett

NEW YORK, USA, 13 February 2009 – The fifth annual United Nations ‘Web4Dev’ conference, hosted by UNICEF for the first time, wrapped up today with a roadmap for future collaboration to put technology in the service of global development.

Many interested people around the world did not get to physically participate in Web4Dev, but that wasn’t a problem; the three-day conference was webcast, blogged and Twittered.

Participants heard from experts in a variety of fields and took part in breakout groups to more intimately discuss the ideas that the presentations brought forward. They were also able to forge new ties that will help expand the use of technology for humanitarian action.

Common needs and issues

Implementing solutions using new technology is harder than it sounds. Many Web4Dev speakers – including technology experts, academics, UN agency officials and innovators from the development and private sectors – cautioned against rushing into developing countries without first asking some tough questions.

“When you’re talking about solutions, think about how that solution can be integrated into people’s lives,” said Kazi Islam, CEO of Grameen Solutions, the Bangladesh-based software development company.

UNICEF Image: web4dev09
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0107/Markisz
David Galipeau of the UN Conference on Trade and Development speaks at a panel with representatives of UNESCO, the International Bureau of Education, the World Bank, the UN Office on Drugs and Crime, and the UN Executive Board Secretariat.

“Everybody wants to improve their livelihood, they want to have better education for their kids. So regardless of how the people are different from community to community and culture to culture, their needs and issues are very common,” he added.

Planning for success

As the conference went on, it became increasingly clear that identifying those needs and issues is a complex task.

“You can have technologies that are not developed” in poorer nations, said Kajiso Chikane, Central Manager for the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) in South Africa. “People just impose them on the developing world and then they do not work.”

The point was echoed by Dr. Tony Salvador, Director of Research and Definition for the Emerging Markets Platform Group at Intel.

“The idea for any new innovation, especially for development, is to ensure that whatever you’re bringing, whatever you’re trying to do with your local partners, doesn’t threaten too much so that it’s squashed down,” he said.

Key partnerships

UNICEF acted not only as host of the Web4Dev meeting but also as a leader on innovative thinking and partnerships.

“One of the things that UNICEF brings to this whole endeavour is, ‘Hey, this is the notion of what’s going on on the ground, in the field,’” said Dr. Salvador. One challenge, he suggested, is for partners in the private sector to learn from that field-based perspective.

‘The Digital Doorway’, developed by CSIR in South Africa, was cited as an example of a successful innovative partnership.

UNICEF Image: web4dev09
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0108/Markisz
A participant accesses the Internet via a mobile device during the Web4Dev conference at UNICEF House.

‘It will not break’

“The Digital Doorway is a very robust computer kiosk,” said Ms. Chikane. “It was developed so that it could be put in rural areas outside community halls, outside school areas, and the communities can just use it. It’s also for children to teach themselves how to use the computer without being taught by anyone.

“You can throw stones at it,” she continued, pounding forcefully on the screen of the Digital Doorway kiosk. “It will not break.”

The kiosk prototype caught the attention of UNICEF staff last year, and it has now been developed into a portable version called the ‘Bee’ mobile communication system for deployment in humanitarian emergencies.

Opportunity for development

While several standing partnerships were highlighted at Web4Dev, new partnerships were also unveiled.

For example, Mr. Islam of Grameen Solutions announced on the second day of the conference “that we’re going to partner with UNICEF to increase innovation opportunity through education with mobile phones.”

Through knowledge-sharing workshops, panels, breakout groups and new partnerships, the conference concluded with a call for collaboration as the key to the future. Not everyone was in complete agreement about methods and means, but the optimism was palpable and the opportunity for development is huge.


 

 

Video

13 February 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on this year’s UN Web4Dev conference, hosted by UNICEF. Edited by Edward Bally.
 VIDEO  high | low

11 February 2009:
John Gage of Kleiner, Perkins, Caufield and Byers – and former Vice-President, Science Office, at Sun Microsystems – discusses the future of innovation.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search