儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

青少年艺术家“为地球而画” 与气候变化作战

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0928/Toutounji
联合国环境规划署执行主任阿齐姆﹒施泰纳与来自哥伦比亚的14岁的小艺术家丹尼尔.马兰泽(左)、来自英国的13岁的夏洛特.沙利文以及来自布隆迪的约瑟夫.宁朵莱拉一起,为在联合国总部举行的“为地球而画”的展览开幕式进行了剪彩。

罗什尼.卡尔瓦尔报道

美国纽约,2008年10月24日 - 15岁的安德鲁.巴托罗(Andrew Bartolo)来自马耳他圣格万,擅长绘画。他最新的一幅描绘由于气候变化迫使企鹅逃到陌生的地方的作品,使他赢得了前往联合国总部的机会。

作为六位被选为艺术大使的孩子之一,安德鲁飞往纽约参加了10月23日举行的“为地球而画”的展览开幕式。这次儿童画展旨在宣传“联合起来对抗气候变化”运动。后者呼吁定于2009年12月在丹麦首都哥本哈根召开的国际气候变化谈判能达成决定性的协议。

“我们的绘画表明,我们愿意为保护自然环境、提高人们对地球已经发生的事情的认识做出努力,”安德鲁在开幕式上说。“作为孩子,我们能做的只有这些。在家里,我们能把垃圾进行分类,随手关灯,但在全球范围内,关注环境问题还要靠各国政府和其他组织。”

艺术公益活动

获选参展的绘画作品揭示了儿童对气候变化的担忧。这些画放在一起,代表了对要求各国领导人采取行动的强烈呼吁。

UNICEF Photo
© UNEP/2008
15岁的马耳他孩子安德鲁.巴托罗的作品。

“青年绝对是与气候变化作战的关键,”联合国秘书长潘基文的代表、联合国气候变化支持小组负责人扎诺斯.帕兹托(Janos Pasztor)说。“这至少因为两点原因。其中之一是他们以后必须与他们现在所制造的气候变化共存。”

由联合国环境规划署(UNEP)和自然世界博物馆主办的此次原创艺术作品展,是从一批近20万张绘画中甄选的。该展览最终将在世界各地的各种有关气候的活动和会议上巡展,最后在明年到达哥本哈根。

周六,展览上的26幅绘画作品在纽约哈佛俱乐部进行拍卖,为联合国儿童基金会筹措紧急资金,以帮助受到气象灾害影响的儿童。其余的艺术品也将在网上进行销售,以便世界各地的人们都能参与。

气候变化与儿童

据英国救助儿童会(Save the Children UK)的报告,在今后的十年中,每年大约将有1.75亿儿童会受到因气候变化而引发的自然灾害的影响。

此外,引起气候变化的这些因素,如交通工具和工厂排放的废气,同样极大地损害了儿童的健康。除非采取紧急行动,否则到2016年,预计因哮喘病而死的人数将会增加近20%。

UNICEF Photo
© UNEP/2008
10岁的中国孩子刘清乐(音译)的作品。

联合国儿童基金会的一项气候变化研究发现,在发生自然灾害期间,儿童比成人更容易死亡,或被随这些紧急情况而来的营养不良、伤害或者疾病而压垮 —— 而现在的世界人口中,将近一半的人口为25岁以下。

比如,今年夏天海地接连受到飓风袭击,在其中65万受到最严重影响的人中,据估计有30万是儿童。

气候变化对儿童的入学也产生了重大的影响。例如,2007年7月苏丹爆发的洪灾期间,近200所学校受到破坏,有4.5万名儿童受到了影响。

“儿童的世界观”

世界各地的孩子们都表达了对解决气候变化问题的信心。英国政府2005年所做的一项调查显示,在1千名10岁至18岁的儿童中有24%的人认为,气候变化给世界的未来带来了极大的威胁。

正像年轻的安德鲁.巴托罗在‘为地球而画’的开幕式上所提出的,“儿童的世界观对打开那些当权者的眼界是极为重要的,将促使他们去寻找方法修复和保护儿童们珍视的、他们的家园”。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者洛西尼.卡瓦尔出席了在纽约联合国总部举行的“为地球而画”的开幕式,这是他发回的报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

青年之声

搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

‘Paint for the Planet’ engages young artists in the fight against climate change

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0928/Toutounji
UNEP Executive Director Achem Steiner cuts ribbon at opening of the ‘Paint for the Planet’ art exhibition at UN Headquarters, along with artists Daniella Malendez (left), 14, from Colombia; Charlotte Sullivan, 13, from the UK; and Guy Jayce Nindorera, 12, from Burundi.

By Roshni Karwal

NEW YORK, USA, 27 October 2008 – Andrew Bartolo, 15, of San-Gwann, Malta, has a talent for painting. His latest work, which depicts penguins fleeing to unfamiliar territory due to the effects of climate change, earned him a trip to United Nations headquarters.

Andrew is one of six children who were selected as artist-ambassadors and flown to New York to take part in the opening of the ‘Paint for the Planet’ exhibition on 23 October. The children’s art exhibit aims to promote ‘UNite to Combat Climate Change’, a campaign calling for a definitive agreement at international climate-change talks scheduled for December 2009 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

“Our paintings show that we are willing to make efforts to preserve the natural environment and raise awareness about what is already happening to this earth,” Andrew said at the opening. “As children, there is only so much we can do. At home, we can recycle and turn off lights, but it is up to governments and other organizations to take care of environment on a global scale.”

Art for a cause
The paintings selected for the exhibition bring to light children’s fears about climate change. Together, they represent a powerful plea for action by world leaders.

UNICEF Image
© UNEP/2008
A painting by Andrew Bartolo, 15, of Malta, selected to be part of the ‘Paint for the Planet’ exhibition on the theme of climate change at UN headquarters in New York.

“Youth are absolutely key to combating climate change, for two reasons, at least,” said the Director of the UN Secretary-General’s Climate Change Support Team, Janos Pasztor, who spoke on behalf of Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon. "One of them is, of course, that they will have to live with the impacts of climate change they are producing now.”

Organized by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the Natural World Museum, the exhibition of original artwork was chosen from a pool of nearly 200,000 paintings. The show will eventually travel to various climate-related events and meetings throughout the world, culminating in Copenhagen next year.

On 25 October, a total of 21,000 dollars was raised from the sale of 26 of these paintings auctioned at the Harvard Club in New York City. The money will go to emergency funds for UNICEF to assist children affected by climate-related disasters and emergencies.

“Last year alone, UNICEF responded to some 230 emergencies around the world,” said UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman. “Many of the main global killers of children, including malaria and diarrhoea, are sensitive to changes in temperature and rainfall and could become more common if weather patterns change. Climate change could fall disproportionately on women and children.”

Climate change and children
According to Save the Children UK, approximately 175 million children each year will be affected by climate change-related natural disasters over the next decade.

In addition, the same factors that play a role in climate change, such as emissions from vehicles and factories, significantly harm children's health. Deaths from asthma are expected to increase by nearly 20 per cent by 2016 unless urgent action is taken.

UNICEF Image
© UNEP/2008
A ‘Paint for the Planet’ selection created by Giselle Lau Ching-Yue, 10, of China.

A UNICEF climate change study found that children are more likely than adults to perish during natural disasters or to succumb to malnutrition, injuries or disease in the aftermath of these emergencies – and almost half of the world's population is now under 25 years of age.

This past summer, for instance, an estimated 300,000 children were among the 650,000 people worst affected by back-to-back hurricanes that struck Haiti.

Climate change can also have a significant impact on a child's ability to attend school. For example, during the July 2007 floods in Sudan, nearly 200 schools were damaged, affecting some 45,000 children.

‘A child’s view of the world’
Young people around the world have expressed the belief that climate change must be addressed. In a survey conducted in 2005 by the UK Government, 24 per cent of 1,000 children aged 10 to 18 said climate change presented the greatest threat to the world's future.

As young Andrew Bartolo put it at the ‘Paint for the Planet’ opening: “A child’s view of the world is essential to open the eyes of those who are in power ... and make them find new ways to repair and protect that which a child treasures so much – his or her home.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Roshni Karwal attended the launch of 'Paint for the Planet' held at UN headquarters in New York.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

Voices of Youth

New enhanced search