儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

联合国进度报告敦促千年发展目标的新承诺

UNICEF Photo: Millenium Development Goals 2007 report, sub-Saharan Africa
© UNICEF/HQ07-0072/ Pirozzi
在中非共和国首都班吉的街道上,一个男孩睡在硬纸盒子上。

2007年7月2日,美国纽约。 虽然实现千年发展目标的进程已经过半,但是只有立即采取更加协调一致的行动,并且坚持到2015年及以后,全球千年发展目标才能够得以实现。

尽管在使全世界的家庭和社区脱贫方面已经取得进展,但是世界上仍有令人震惊的9.8亿人每天生活费不到一美元。 尤其在撒哈拉以南的非洲国家,目前还没有登上实现任何千年目标的轨道。

但是,一些发展中国家在实现千年发展目标中取得的大幅度的进展充分显示,当共同的意愿有共同的行动作为支持的时候,为儿童和家庭所做的努力就有可能取得积极的成果。

实现援助承诺

报告指出,要加快千年发展目标的进程,需要结合强有力的政府领导力、好的政策、制定切实可行的战略以扩大重要领域的公共投资以及来自国际社会的资金和技术支持。

在引证全世界提高小学入学率和降低儿童死亡率的结果,以及减少贫困和两性平等方面缓慢却显著的进步时,该报告指出多数发达国家没有实现他们的承诺,即为促进发展的全球合作提供足够的资金支持。

秘书长特别指出:“自2004年以来,由于官方发展援助没有加大,治理有方的国家也无法实现千年发展目标。” 事实上,只有五个捐助国达到或超过联合国的目标,即将国民总收入的0.7%援助给发展中国家。

潘秘书长宣布:“显而易见,政治领袖们需要采取紧急而协调一致的行动。”

以儿童和妇女为中心

千年发展目标进程报告强调,实现这些目标不仅只是政府的责任,也是社会各个领域的共同责任。

千年发展目标的优点在于其目标之间的相互联系性,以及截断贫穷和不平等根源的能力。 比如,赋予妇女权力不仅是千年目标中的一项,而且为其它七个目标的实现起着关键的作用。

妇女的状况直接影响儿童的幸福,而儿童又是千年发展目标的中心。 健康、有知识又有自主权的妇女能够培养出健康、有知识又自信的孩子。

《2007千年发展目标报告》阐明,只有通过对社区及社会的未来投资,即对儿童的投资,发展中国家贫困的恶性循环才能被彻底打破,并且可以一劳永逸。


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年6月29日: 联合国儿童基金会通讯员雷切尔.沃登就儿童是千年发展目标中心的报道。

 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

联合国中文网站有关千年发展目标的网页(外部链接 在新窗口内打开)

2007千年发展目标报告 [英文PDF文件]

搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

UN progress report urges new commitment to Millennium Development Goals

UNICEF Image: Millenium Development Goals 2007 report, sub-Saharan Africa
© UNICEF/HQ07-0072/ Pirozzi
A boy sleeps on a cardboard box on the street in Bangui, the capital of the Central African Republic.

NEW YORK, USA, 2 July 2007 – Despite progress made at the halfway point to the deadline for achieving the Millennium Development Goals, the global MDG targets will be achieved only if more concerted action is taken immediately and is sustained until 2015 and beyond.

Despite progress in lifting families and communities out of poverty around the world, a staggering 980 million people still live on less than $1 a day. And one region in particular, sub-Saharan Africa, is not currently on track to achieve any of the goals.

But large-scale advances towards the MDGs in some developing countries show that results for children and families are possible when the collective will is backed by collective action.

‘Much remains to be done’

These are among the key findings of a major United Nations update released today in Geneva, ‘Millennium Development Goals Report 2007’.

The report tracks progress on all of the MDG targets set forth by world leaders at the Millennium Development Summit in September 2000. Thes goals include eradicating extreme poverty and hunger, achieving universal primary education and gender equality, reducing child and maternal mortality, combating HIV/AIDS and other diseases, ensuring environmental sustainability and developing a global partnership for development.

“The results presented in this report suggest that there have been some gains and that success is still possible in most parts of the world,” writes UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon in the report’s foreword. “But they also point to how much remains to be done,” he adds.

Honouring aid commitments

Accelerating progress on the MDGs requires a combination of strong government leadership, good policies, practical strategies for scaling up public investments in vital areas and adequate financial and technical support from the international community, the report asserts.

While citing worldwide results on increased primary school enrolment and reduced child mortality – as well as slow but significant progress on poverty reduction and gender equality – the report notes that most developed countries have not honoured their commitments to provide “adequate financing within the global partnership for development.”

In particular, notes the Secretary-General, “the lack of any significant increase in Official Development Assistance since 2004 makes it impossible, even for well-governed countries, to meet the MDGs.” In fact, only five donor countries have reached or exceeded the UN target of allocating 0.7 per cent of their Gross National Income for aid to the developing world.

“There is a clear need for political leaders to take urgent and concerted action,” declares Mr. Ban.

Children and women at the centre

Still, the MDG progress report stresses that achieving the goals is not just the responsibility of governments. Rather, it is the collective responsibility of every segment of society.

The strength of the MDGs lies in their interconnectedness and their ability to address root causes of poverty and inequality. Empowering women, for example, is not only one of the goals but also plays a critical role in achieving the other seven goals, the report states.

And the status of women also has a direct impact on the well-being of children, who are at the heart of the MDGs. Healthy, educated and empowered women have healthy, educated and confident children.

As ‘Millennium Development Goals Report 2007’ makes clear, only through investment in the future of communities and societies – that is, investment in children – can the cycle of poverty in the developing world be broken, once and for all.


 

 

Video

29 June 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Rachel Warden reports on how children are at the heart of the Millennium Development Goals.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search