埃塞俄比亚

为危机中的非洲儿童提供跨国界的支持

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2009/Mwangi
联合国儿童基金会东非和南部非洲区域主任埃尔哈吉.阿斯.斯伊(中)与联合国非洲经济委员会副秘书长兼执行秘书阿卜杜勒.詹纳(右)会谈。左为联合国儿童基金会对非洲联盟和非洲经济委员会联络办公室主任和特别代表阿基拉.贝兰姆鲍戈。

安东尼.穆旺吉报道

埃塞尔比亚亚的斯亚贝巴,2009年10月15日 - 非洲数百万儿童几乎永远生活在因冲突、动荡、疾病及全球经济衰退的影响带来的危机之中。

为此,联合国儿童基金会正在寻求帮助提供一个协调的、非洲大陆各国共同参与的应对这些挑战的方式。

最近,乌干达发生的一件事更突显了这一点的重要性——正当联合国儿童基金会庆祝在消除小儿麻痹症方面所取得的成绩时,乌干达北部出现了新的小儿麻痹症病例,病源有可能来自苏丹南部和刚果民主共和国。

跨国界的危机

联合国儿童基金会东非和南部非洲区域主任埃尔哈吉.阿斯.斯伊(Elhadj As Sy)最近访问了总部设在亚的斯亚贝巴的非洲联盟和联合国非洲经济委员会,探讨非洲国家对跨国界危机的应对能力。

阿斯.斯伊说:“为了弱势儿童的利益,通过与区域性机构建立和加强伙伴关系,并促进与非洲联盟和联合国非洲经济委员会的密切合作,这些非洲各国所面临的共同问题需要各国一起策略性地来解决。”

联合国儿童基金会与非洲联盟和联合国非洲经济委员会的合作历史,可以追溯到1993年。那时,非洲联盟被称为“非洲统一组织”。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2009/Mwangi
联合国儿童基金会区域主任埃尔哈吉.阿斯.斯伊(左三)向非洲联盟人力资源、科学和技术专员让.皮埃尔.昂维宏.埃晋(中)及其团队讲述如何加强联合国儿童基金会与非洲联盟的密切合作关系。

更强大的国家

今天,非洲联盟致力于建设更强大和更充满活力的非洲国家,使它们能够解决重要的国际条约和相关政策的执行问题,其中包括支持儿童的政策。 虽然一些国家在对条约的批准和政策的应用方面已经取得了良好的进展,但还有许多国家执行得缓慢或仍有局限性。

联合国非洲经济委员会副秘书长和执行秘书阿卜杜勒.詹纳(Abdoulie Janneh)说:“非洲联盟是一个可信赖的机构,而且领导水平一直很高。现在,有越来越多的人相信它。”

詹纳先生希望借助联合国儿童基金会的领导力,帮助非洲儿童在已取得的成绩基础上收获更多。阿斯.斯伊强调了做事少而精的重要性,专注的活动能更加深入和具可持续性,并会对儿童产生持久的和积极的影响。

“共同的价值观”

非洲联盟人力资源、科学和技术专员让.皮埃尔.昂维宏.埃晋(Jean Pierre Onvehoun Ezin)说:“非洲联盟与联合国儿童基金会拥有共同的价值观。因此,在共同感兴趣的领域,通过制定联合战略并采取具体的行动,共同迎接非洲大陆面临的挑战。”

除了与非洲联盟合作之外,联合国儿童基金会还加强了与八个非洲区域性经济体之间的关系,以确保高级别的政治承诺,并在区域一级采取优先保护儿童的行动。

联合国儿童基金会对非洲联盟和非洲经济委员会联络办公室成立于2009年1月。此办公室与非洲联盟的各个部门密切合作,目前正在探索在政策和宣传方面的联合行动计划。


 

 

儿童权利公约

搜索

Ethiopia

Partners bolster cross-border political support for African children in crisis

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2009/Mwangi
UNICEF Regional Director for Eastern and Southern Africa Elhadj As Sy (centre) in discussions with UNECA Under-Secretary General and Executive Secretary Abdoulie Janneh (right). At left is the Head of UNICEF’s Liaison Office and Special Representative to the African Union and the Economic Commission for Africa, Akila Belembaogo.

By Anthony Mwangi

ADDIS ABABA, Ethiopia, 15 October 2009 – Millions of African children live in a state of almost permanent crisis brought on by conflict, instability, disease and the impact of the global economic downturn.

UNICEF is seeking ways to help political organizations provide a coordinated, continent-wide response to these challenges.

The need for such a response was recently highlighted in Uganda, where reports of new polio infections in the north – likely transmitted from Southern Sudan and the Democratic Republic of the Congo – came to light during UNICEF’s celebration of achievements made in the eradication of the disease.

Cross-border crises

UNICEF Regional Director for Eastern and Southern Africa Elhadj As Sy recently visited the African Union (AU) and United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) headquarters here to discuss the capacity of African nations to respond to cross-border crises.

“These Africa-wide challenges need to be collectively and strategically addressed through building and strengthening partnerships with regional institutions, and fostering closer cooperation with the AU and UNECA for the benefit of disadvantaged children,” said Mr. As Sy.

UNICEF has a history of working with both the AU and UNECA, dating back to 1993, when it began coordinating efforts with what was then known as the Organization of African Unity.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2009/Mwangi
UNICEF Regional Director Elhadj As Sy (third left) speaks with African Union Commissioner for Human Resources, Science and Technology Jean Pierre Onvehoun Ezin (centre) and his team about on how to encourage deeper collaboration between UNICEF and the AU.

Stronger nations

Today, the AU seeks to help build stronger and more resilient African nations that can tackle the implementation of crucial international treaties and related policies – including pro-child policies. While a number of nations have progressed well in the ratification of treaties and the application of policies, many more have seen slow or limited implementation.

“The AU is a credible institution, and leadership standards have been consistently high,” said UNECA Under-Secretary General and Executive Secretary Abdoulie Janneh. “More and more people today believe in it.”

Mr. Janneh sought UNICEF’s leadership to help build on gains that have already been realized for African children. Mr. As Sy emphasized the importance of doing fewer but better-focused activities that are more in depth and sustainable – and that have a lasting, positive impact on children.

‘Common values’

“The AU shares common values with UNICEF, and hence the need to address continental challenges together by developing joint strategic and concrete actions on areas of mutual interest,” said AU Commissioner for Human Resources, Science and Technology Jean Pierre Onvehoun Ezin.

Besides working with the AU, UNICEF has reinforced its relationships with the eight African Regional Economic Communities to secure high-level political commitments and priority actions for children at the regional level.

The UNICEF Liaison Office to the AU and UNECA was set up in January 2009. The office works closely with all the departments of the AU and is currently exploring joint initiatives in policy and advocacy.


 

 

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search