中国

联合国儿童基金会支持亚太地区儿童权利国际合作高级别会议在中国北京召开

执行主任安东尼.雷克敦促加快实现均衡发展

萨拉.克罗报道

中国北京,2010年11月8日 – 会议在雄伟的中国北京人民大会堂举行,中国的重要领导人也出席了会议,会议闭幕时,来自亚太地区28个国家的代表在一块小屏幕上留下了具有象征意义的鲜红指印。

视频:2010年11月6日 – 联合国儿童基金会记者萨拉.克罗报道由联合国儿童基金会支持在北京召开的儿童权利南南合作高级别会议。  在Realplayer中播放

 

在上周举行的这次亚太地区儿童权利南南合作高级别会议受到联合国儿童基金会的支持,会议所代表的意义却远远不止一个小小的指印。随着世界人口最多的区域的经济不断发展,发展差距的扩大和不平等让数百万儿童的生活远远落后。

11月4日至6日召开的高级别会议标志着要进一步推动缩小地区发展差距,实现以儿童为本。

健康发展

中国国家副主席习近平出席了会议开幕式,他引用《儿童权利公约》中所提出的保证:“儿童是人类的未来和希望。随着人类社会的发展进步,关心和重视儿童成长越来越成为国际社会的重要共识和积极行动。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在中国北京举行的为期三天的会议结束时,与会代表们在汉字符号里表示“儿童”的标识牌上摁下红指印,以表示对改善亚太地区儿童生活的庄严承诺。

他还说:“虽然亚太地区和世界上许多国家的生活环境不断改善,并在儿童的生存、保护和发展方面取得了显著进步,但世界各国儿童发展状况还不平衡。”

习近平副主席在结束时说道:“儿童的健康发展对于建立和谐世界和实现可持续发展意义重大…我们呼吁国际社会携手维护世界和平与稳定,使妇女儿童免受战祸之苦;我们呼吁发达国家政府履行承诺,加大投入,促进全球儿童的全面发展和健康成长;我们呼吁发展中国家政府分享经验,为儿童创造更好的发展环境和条件。”

共享的利益

会议一致通过了《亚太地区儿童权利南南合作北京宣言》,宣言中表达了各国为促进与实现本地区近12亿儿童的权利而履行长期承诺的意愿。与会国政府承诺在三个重要领域加深区域合作,即:降低灾害风险;儿童保护与儿童福利体系;确保经济和社会发展的公平性,使其惠及所有儿童。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在北京举行的亚太地区儿童权利国际合作高级别会议上,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克欢迎中华人民共和国国务院妇女儿童工作委员会副主任宋秀岩。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克也参与了这次会议,并会见了中国政府高级官员,他高度赞扬了亚太地区所取得的进步。他指出,这一地区被看作世界经济的发电站,但仍然面临巨大挑战,因此呼吁该地区进一步深化合作、加大投资。

雷克先生说:“我们大家来到这个充满生机又丰富多元的地区,重申为改善该地区儿童生活的热切承诺。此次与会的28个亚太国家的儿童人数占据了世界儿童总人口的一半以上,每个儿童都有生存、成长和发展的权利,每个儿童都应该能够共享亚洲的发展成果。”

差距依然存在

中国18岁以下的儿童人数超过3亿,发展中依然存在着贫富差距、城乡经济发展差距以及东西部发展差距过大等问题。

中国国务院妇女儿童工作委员会副主任、全国妇联副主席宋秀岩说:“中国依然是发展中国家,拥有庞大的人口,因此发展工作任重道远。中国政府承诺加快西部地区的发展,为农村地区提供优惠政策,使东西部地区以及农村地区人民能过上富足的生活。”

为应对本地区日趋加深的社会与经济发展不平衡问题,缩小儿童在获得基本社会服务方面的差距,与会国政府郑重承诺将改进在数据收集与使用方面的工作,以便加深对于差距问题的认识,并致力于从源头上解决问题。这将有助于各国政府更好地制定相关政策,设定有针对性的政府开支,从而把有迫切需求的社区置于国家发展规划的优先之列。

加强合作

会议宣言中还承诺,与会各国政府将加强合作,确保以社区为基础的具体减灾措施纳入儿童的需求。

本次高级别会议标志着亚太地区各国共同致力于加强和深化南南合作、促进儿童权利全面实现的重要开端。本次会议由中华人民共和国全国妇联、国务院妇女儿童工作委员会及商务部共同主办。


 

 

儿童权利公约

搜索

China

UNICEF supports Beijing high-level conference on child rights in Asia and the Pacific

Executive Director Anthony Lake urges development with equity

By Sarah Crowe

BEIJING, China, 8 November, 2010 – The conference started in the vast grandeur of China’s Great Hall of the People with one of the land’s most powerful leaders at the helm, and it ended with delegates from 28 countries in Asia and the Pacific symbolically stamping their thumbprints in red on a small screen.

VIDEO: 6 November 2010 - UNICEF correspondent Sarah Crowe reports from Beijing on the UNICEF-supported High Level Meeting on South-South Cooperation for Child Rights in the Asia-Pacific Region.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

But the real mark left behind after last week’s High Level Meeting on South-South Cooperation for Child Rights in the Asia-Pacific Region – held with UNICEF’s support – was more than just a thumbprint. As the world’s most populous region moves forward with ever-increasing economic growth, vast disparities and inequities have left millions of children behind.

The High Level Meeting from 4 to 6 November marked a new push toward bridging development gaps in the region and putting its children first.

Healthy development

“Children represent the future and hope of humankind. With the development and progress of human society, there has been growing international consensus to prioritize and act for the cause of children,”China’s Vice President Xi Jinping said at the opening of the conference, citing the guarantees set forth by the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake greets Song Xiuyan, Vice-Chairperson of China's National Working Committee on Children and Women under the State Council, at the high-level Beijing conference on child rights in the Asia-Pacific region.

“As the living environment in the Asia-Pacific region and many other countries around the world has improved,” he added, “there have been remarkable advances in the survival, protection and development of children. However, disparities persist in the status of children across the world.”

Mr. Xi concluded: “The healthy development of children is essential to building a harmonious world and achieving sustainable development.... We call on the international community to jointly safeguard world peace and stability to save women and children from the scourge of war. We call on governments of developed countries to fulfil their commitments and increase resources to promote the healthy, all-round development of children. We call on governments of developing countries to share their experience and create a better environment for children.”

Shared benefits

The unanimous adoption of the meeting’s outcome document – the Beijing Declaration on South-South Cooperation for Child Rights in the Asia-Pacific Region – offered hope of a lasting commitment to advancing the rights of the region’s nearly 1.2 billion children. That commitment focuses on regional cooperation in three key areas: disaster risk reduction; child protection and welfare systems; and economic and social development that is equitable and reaches all children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
At the end of a three-day meeting in Beijing, China, delegates leave their thumbprints on the Chinese symbol for 'children' as a sign of commitment to improving young lives in Asia and the Pacific.

UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake, who attended the Beijing conference and met with high-ranking Chinese government officials during his visit, saluted progress in Asia and the Pacific. But he called for much greater cooperation and investment in a region that is seen as world’s economic powerhouse, yet still faces massive challenges. 

“We have come together to reaffirm the same passionate commitment to improving children’s lives in this diverse and vibrant region,” said Mr. Lake. “Together, the 28 countries represented here are home to more than half the world’s children. Every one of those children has the same right to survive, thrive and to grow – and every one of them should be able to share in the benefits of Asia’s remarkable growth.”

Disparities persist

In China, with its population of more than 300 million children under 18 years of age, disparities exist between rich and poor households, between rural and urban areas, and between the eastern and western parts of the country.

“China remains a developing country, with a large population, so it still has a lot to do to enhance its development,” said the Deputy Director of the National Working Committee on Children and Women, and Vice-President of the All China Women's Federation, Song Xiuyan. “China’s Government pledges to accelerate development in the west and to provide favourable policies in rural areas, so that everyone in the east and west and in rural areas can enjoy a good livelihood.”

To address growing economic and social inequities in the region – and to bridge the gap in the availability of essential services for children – governments will look to improved collection and use of data to increase understanding of disparities and their underlying causes. As a result, they should be better equipped to set policies and target spending so that the communities most in need are a priority in national development plans.

Strengthening cooperation

Among other commitments laid out in the conference declaration, governments will increase cooperation on practical measures for child-friendly disaster risk reduction at the community level.

The High Level Meeting represented the beginning of intensified efforts to strengthen and deepen south-south cooperation among countries in the Asia-Pacific region, and to advance children’s rights. The meeting was hosted by the All China Women’s Federation, the National Working Committee for Children and Women under the State Council, and the Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China.


 

 

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search