土耳其

儿童论坛关注土耳其青年的网络安全

土耳其安卡拉,2011 年 12 月 1 日 —— 国会不久前召开了一次具有里程碑意义的会议,倡导儿童和青年安全合理地使用信息和通信技术 (ICT)。

视频:联合国儿童基金会传媒主任卡勒德.曼苏尔在土耳其安卡拉举办的第十二届儿童论坛上接受青年记者的采访。 在Realplayer中播放
来自各个省份的160 余名儿童参加了第十二届儿童论坛,由联合国儿童基金会主办的、针对学者、民间团体和政府官员的会议在为期两天的论坛期间同时召开——  儿童第一次有机会向重要领导人提出关于这一新兴现象的建议。

网络社区迅速发展

在这些会议召开之际,作为世界上发展最迅速的网络社区之一,土耳其的网络安全问题正在引起公众的广泛关注。

幼儿权利倡导者达姆拉.古恩多甘 (Damla Gundogan) 和伊斯梅尔.珀朗库格鲁 (Ismail Pelenkoglu) 在土耳其大国民议会一个拥挤的房间里呼吁,应加大力度推动针对父母和老师的数字扫盲工作。“他们中有许多人仍不了解如何指导儿童利用网络,”伊斯梅尔说,“我们需要教会他们。”

佛亨得.厄克泰姆 (Ferhunde Öktem) 教授代表学术组织和民间团体发表讲话,敦促政策制定者提高决策透明度并尊重儿童和青年的言论自由和充分参与权。“为了促进文化多元性和机会均等,应按照我们的建议修订相关法律(有关 ICT 的法律)。”她说。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Turkey/2011/Oktay Ustun
联合国儿童基金会传媒主任卡勒德.曼苏尔和联合国儿童基金会驻土耳其国家代表阿伊曼.阿比拉巴与儿童及国家领导人共同参加了国民议会。

国会发言人杰米尔.奇切克 (Cemil Çiçek) 回应称,将成立多方利益议会研究委员会,以指导未来的循证政策制定工作。

负责儿童参与事务的家庭及社会政策部部长法特玛.沙欣 (Fatma Sahin) 也表示了对将建议纳入政策制定过程的大力支持。

网络安全风险

联合国儿童基金会近期展开了名为“土耳其青年的网络使用状况”的研究,对青年上网行为进行分析,同时对可信度高的、现有的土耳其和国际研究结果进行编译。其中一个发现是,在这个拥有7400 万人口的国家里,上网行为有着鲜明的性别差异。研究结果显示,在 16-24 岁的女孩中,使用互联网的人数只有 50%,而在相同年龄段的男孩中,使用人数高达 77%。该研究还概述了这些年轻人在使用互联网时面临的风险,其中包括,在没有适当防范措施的情况下分享个人信息、遭到恶意软件的攻击和网络欺凌以及其他安全风险。

凯拉.乌兹 (Cagla Uz) 是一位儿童权利倡导者,也是一名热衷于 Facebook 的网络用户,目前已拥有超过 460 名好友。她利用该网络平台组织活动,并成功当选为 2011-2013 年国家青年论坛协调员。目前她打算利用自己的社会媒体网络提高公众对童工的关注度。童工问题是她所在的省面临的一个主要问题。}

她说,在她的 Facebook 页面发帖子,将有关儿童在街头工作的惊人照片展现出来,可以吸引很多人来评论。现在她还会收到儿童和其他年轻行动主义者(他们致力于通过社会网络帮助这些儿童)发来的许多有关儿童权利受到侵犯的消息。

儿童赋权

“ICT 开启了以前从未打开过的窗口。”联合国儿童基金会驻土耳其国家代表阿伊曼.阿比拉巴博士说,“儿童需要了解如何应对风险,并积极有效地利用这种机会。它可以成为一种工具——帮助孩子们获取知识、民主,帮助参与和分享各种想法。”

联合国儿童基金会传媒主任卡勒德.曼苏尔出席了议会会议及其他会议,因为国家研究是全球数字公民与安全项目的一部分。该项目的主要目标是,更好地理解和处理 ICT 对发展中国家儿童和青年的生活方式带来的影响。该项目的目标还在于提高公民意识,倡导政策制定者在最大化ICT 机遇的同时,将风险降到最低。

在土耳其,联合国儿童基金会通过组织年度国家儿童论坛来支持儿童赋权。儿童论坛涉及的议题广泛,包括暴力问题、教育问题等。

下载“土耳其青年的网络使用状况”报告 点击这里.
观看青年记者的视频采访点击这里.


 

 

搜索

Turkey

Children’s Forum places focus on digital safety for Turkey’s youth

ANKARA, Turkey, 1 December 2011 - A landmark meeting was held recently at the national parliament to advocate for children and young people’s optimal and safe use of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT).

VIDEO: Khaled Mansour, UNICEF Director of Communications, speaks to a youth reporter at the 12th Children's Forum in Ankara, Turkey.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The 12th Children’s Forum galvanized more than 160 children from all the provinces. For the first time, the children gave recommendations to key leaders on this emerging phenomenon following the two-day meeting and a parallel conference for academics, civil society and government officials convened by UNICEF. 

Fast growing online community

The events come at a time when the issue is generating much public attention in Turkey - one of the fastest growing online communities in the world.

Young child rights activists, Damla Gundogan and Ismail Pelenkoglu, appealed to a packed room at the grand natıonal assembly for more efforts to boost greater access and digital literacy among parents and teachers. “Many of them are still unaware on how to guide children to navigate and take advantage of the cyberspace,” Ismail said. “We need to educate everyone.”

Professor Ferhunde Öktem spoke on behalf of the group of academics and civil society urging policy makers for more transparency and respect to freedom of expression and the full participation of children and young people. “To pave the way for cultural diversity and equal opportunity, the related law (on ICTs) should be revised to our recommendations,” she said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Turkey/2011/Oktay Ustun
Khaled Mansour, UNICEF Director of Communication and Ayman Abulaban, Turkey Country Representative with children and leaders at the national parliament.

Parliament Speaker Cemil Çiçek responded by promising to initiate a multi-stakeholder parliamentary research commission to guıde future evidence-based policymaking.

The Minister of Family and Social Policy Fatma Sahin whose office is responsible for child participation also voiced her strong support to ensure the recommendations will shape the process.

Online safety risks

UNICEF recently conducted a study ‘Youth of Turkey Online’, analyzing youth access and behavior online, compiling existing credible Turkish and international research. One of the findings highlighted a stark gender divide in this nation of 74 million people. According to the study, only 50 per cent of girls aged 16-24 compared to 77 per cent of boys in the same age group regularly use the Internet. The study also outlined primary risks faced by young people here including sharing personal information without proper precautions, exposure to malicious software and cyber bullying, as well as other safety risks

Cagla Uz is a child rights activist and an avid Facebook user with more than 460 friends. She used the platform to campaign and was successfully elected as the 2011-2013 national youth forum coordinator. She now plans to use her social media network to raise awareness of child labour, a major concern in her home province.

Posting striking images of children working on the streets trigger a lot of comments on her Facebook page, she said. She now also receives much more information about child rights violations from children themselves as well as from other young activists who can help fight for these children through social networks.


Child empowerment

“ICT has opened a window that has not been opened before,” said Dr. Ayman Abulaban, UNICEF Country Representative for Turkey. “Children need to know how to deal with the risks and also use this window of opportunity as constructively as they can. It can be a tool to gain knowledge, democracy, for participation and sharing ideas.”

Khaled Mansour, UNICEF Director of Communication, was also present at the parliament meeting and the conferences, as the country study is part of a global digital citizenship and safety project. The project’ s main goal is to better understand and address the impact of ICTs on the lifestyle of children and young people in developing countries. It also aims to raise public awareness and to advocate to policy makers on how to maximize ICT opportunities while minimizing risks.

In Turkey, UNICEF has supported child empowerment by organizing annual national child forums discussing a variety of issues ranging from violence against children to education.
 
To download the report ‘Youth of Turkey Online’ click here.
To watch youth reporters blogging video interviews about the forum click here.


 

 

New enhanced search