联合国儿童基金会有关人员

联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米娅.法罗因其出色的人道主义工作而荣获启发奖

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-1749/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米娅.法罗在联合国纽约总部举行的达格.哈马舍尔德记者基金启发奖颁奖午宴上讲话。她是 2011 年该奖的获得者。

梅兰妮.詹森 (Malene Jensen) 报道

美国纽约,2011 年 11 月 3 日 —— 联合国儿童基金会亲善大使、国际知名女演员米娅.法罗昨日在联合国受到嘉奖,她领取了达格.哈马舍尔德记者基金会授予的启发奖,以表彰其出色的人道主义工作,尤其是她对受战争影响的儿童所提供的支持。

“我们要表彰一位杰出的女性,她将所有时间都用于声援弱势群体,并呼吁全世界关注冲突地区的人们所受到的苦难,”达格.哈马舍尔德记者基金会主席伊芙琳.列奥普德 (Evelyn Leopold) 说道。该基金会是为了纪念第二任联合国秘书长达格.哈马舍尔德而成立的。达格.哈马舍尔德先生于1961年死于空难。

自从2000年担任联合国儿童基金会亲善大使以来,米娅.法罗为了倡导世界儿童的权利四处奔走,她先后访问了安哥拉、喀麦隆、中非共和国、乍得、刚果民主共和国、海地、苏丹和乌干达等地。今年 8 月,她来到肯尼亚达达阿布难民营,探访为了躲避战乱和饥荒而逃离索马里的难民。

倡导儿童权利

法罗女士表示,她代表那些在探访中遇到的无数坚强不屈的妇女和儿童接受这个奖项。她还强调了继续帮助最弱势和最边缘群体的紧迫性和必要性,这样才能使每个儿童的权利得以实现。

法罗女士说:“在今天的世界,没有任何理由让儿童忍饥挨饿、不接收教育、饮用不干净的水、死于 HIV 艾滋病、或由于得不到脊髓灰质炎疫苗而终生痛苦甚至落下残疾——在发达国家这种疫苗已经供应了半个世纪。”

法罗女士参演了超过 40 部电影,包括《魔鬼圣婴》(Rosemary’s Baby),并因支持最容易被忽略儿童及其家庭的工作而闻名。她还亲自到各地探访,并参与各种活动,以增强人们对人道主义问题的意识。2008 年,《时代》周刊将她评为世界上最有影响力的人物之一。

达格.哈马舍尔德基金会的董事会于 2006 年设立了这一年度奖项,通过表彰那些体现了达格.哈马舍尔德先生愿景的个人或组织,来缅怀他的精神。约旦王太后努尔也因其在中东地区、巴尔干半岛地区、中亚和东南亚、拉丁美洲以及非洲呼吁世界和平和公正的人道主义工作而荣获此奖。


 

 

搜索

UNICEF People

UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow receives Inspiration Award for her humanitarian work

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-1749/Markisz
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow speaks at the Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists Inspiration Award luncheon at United Nations Headquarters in New York City. She was the 2011 recipient of the award.

By Malene Jensen

NEW YORK, USA, 3 November 2011 – UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador and internationally acclaimed actress, Mia Farrow, was honoured at the United Nations yesterday where she received the Inspiration Award by the Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists for her humanitarian work, especially in support of children impacted by conflict.

‘We are honoring a woman who is dedicating her waking hours to give voice to the voiceless and highlight the misery of those in conflict zones,” said Evelyn Leopold, Chair of the

Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists, which was established in memory of the United Nations’s second Secretary-General, Dag Hammarskjöld, who was killed in a plane crash in 1961.

Since joining UNICEF as a Goodwill Ambassador in 2000, Ms. Farrow has travelled extensively to advocate for the rights of children around the world, visiting places such as Angola, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Haiti, Sudan and Uganda. In August, she was in Dadaab refugee camp in Kenya to meet with families who have fled areas of war and famine in Somalia. 

Advocating for children’s rights

Farrow accepted the award on behalf of the many women and children she has met throughout her travels, and spoke of their amazing resilience, as well as the urgent need to continue reaching the most vulnerable and marginalized so that the rights of every child are realized.

“In today’s world there is no acceptable reason for children to starve, to have no education, to have to drink dirty water, to die of HIV/AIDS or be sentenced to a life of pain and disabilities because they did not have the same polio vaccine that has been available to us in the developed world for half a century,” said Ms. Farrow.

Ms. Farrow has appeared in more than 40 films, including ‘Rosemary’s Baby,’ and is well known for her advocacy work in support of the most neglected children and their families. She also travels and campaigns extensively in her own capacity to raise awareness about humanitarian issues. In 2008, Time magazine named her one of the most influential people in the world.

The Board of Directors of the Dag Hammarskjöld Fund established the annual award in 2006 to further honor Hammarskjöld’s legacy by recognizing an individual or organization that embodies his vision. Queen Noor of Jordan also received an Inspiration Award at the event for her humanitarian work as an outspoken voice for world peace and justice in the Middle East, the Balkans, Central and Southeast Asia, Latin America and Africa.


 

 

New enhanced search