Portraits de l’UNICEF

Les ambassadrices itinérantes Angélique Kidjo et Mia Farrow honorées pour leur action humanitaire

Image de l'UNICEF
© UNICEF/2006-2010/Bonn/Holt
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassadors Angélique Kidjo (left) and Mia Farrow in the field. Both have been honoured for their tireless commitment to humanitarian causes.

NEW YORK, États-Unis, 11 mai 2011 – Les ambassadrices itinérantes Angélique Kidjo et Mia Farrow, chacune séparement, ont reçu pour leur action humanitaire et leur dévouement à la cause des enfants, trois récompenses prestigieuses - toutes en l’espace d’une semaine.

Le 10 mai, Mia Farrow, actrice et activiste, a reçu en récompense le Prix Marian Anderson 2011 en reconnaissance de ses actions humanitaires en faveur des enfants et des femmes dans les pays affectés par les conflits et la violence, dont le Tchad, le Darfour et Haïti.

Le lendemain, le Musée de l'Holocauste à Houston a accordé à Mia Farrow son Prix 2011 du Courage moral Lyndon Baines Johnson pour son action humanitaire. Cette récompense met en évidence son action pour aider les populations au Darfur ainsi queles femmes et les enfants dans d'autres parties de l'Afrique, et dont les vies sont affectées par la guerre, la violence et des maladies facilement évitables comme la poliomyélite.

De même, le 11 mai, Angélique Kidjo, native du Bénin, s'est vue remettre l'insigne d'officier dans l'ordre des Arts et des Lettres, une des distinctions  culturelles française les plus prestigieuses, en reconnaissance notamment de ses efforts pour rendre le monde meilleur pour les enfants et leurs familles.

Avocates inlassables

Tant Mia Farrow qu’Angélique Kidjo sont des avocates inlassables des droits de l'enfant, particulièrement les plus vulnérables et les plus négligés.

Mia Farrow, est Ambassadrice itinérante de l'UNICEF depuis plus d'une décennie. Elle a voyagé en Angola, au Cameroun, au Tchad, en République centrafricaine, en République démocratique du Congo, en Guinée, en Haïti, en Israël, au Nigeria, dans le Territoire palestinien occupé (TPO), le Soudan et l'Ouganda. Elle s’est consacrée tout spécialement aux enfants affectés par les conflits.

Angélique Kidjo a été nommée Ambassadrice itinérante de l'UNICEF en 2002. Elle est une avocate passionnée de l’éducation des filles et a fait de cette question un point central de ses activités. Ses destinations de voyage pour l'UNICEF comprennent le Bénin, l'Éthiopie, Haïti, le Sénégal, l'Afrique du Sud, la République arabe syrienne, le Zimbabwe, la Tanzanie et l'Ouganda.


 

 

Recherche

UNICEF People

Goodwill Ambassadors Angélique Kidjo and Mia Farrow honoured for humanitarian work

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2006-2010/Bonn/Holt
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassadors Angélique Kidjo (left) and Mia Farrow in the field. Both have been honoured for their tireless commitment to humanitarian causes.

NEW YORK, USA, 11 May 2011 – UNICEF Goodwill Ambassadors Mia Farrow and Angélique Kidjo have been separately honoured for their humanitarian work and commitment to the cause of children with three prestigious awards this week.

Ms. Farrow, actress and activist, received the 2011 Marian Anderson award yesterday in recognition of her humanitarian efforts on behalf of children and women in countries affected by conflict and violence, including Chad, Darfur and Haiti.

Today, the Holocaust Museum in Houston bestowed Ms. Farrow with its 2011 Lyndon Baines Johnson Moral Courage Award for her humanitarian work. The award highlighted her efforts in support of the people in Darfur, and women and children in other parts of Africa whose lives have been affected by war, violence and easily preventable diseases such as polio.

Also today, Ms. Kidjo, who was born in Benin, is being conferred the insignia of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, one of France’s top cultural honours, at the New York cultural-services office of the French Embassy to the United States. The award recognizes her efforts to make the world a better place for children and families.

Tireless advocates

Both Ms. Farrow and Ms. Kidjo are tireless advocates for the rights of children, especially the most vulnerable and neglected.

Ms. Farrow, a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador for over a decade, has travelled widely for the organization, including trips to Angola, Cameroon, Chad, Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Guinea, Haiti, Israel, Nigeria, the Occupied Palestinian Territory, Sudan and Uganda. Her special concern if for children affected by conflict.

Ms. Kidjo was appointed a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador in 2002. She is a passionate advocate for girls’ education and has made that issue a focus of her activities. Her travels for UNICEF have taken her to a range of countries, such as Benin, Ethiopia, Haiti, Senegal, South Africa, the Syrian Arab Republic, Zimbabwe, Tanzania and Uganda.


 

 

New enhanced search