Portraits de l’UNICEF

Angélique Kidjo - Activités : faits marquants

2012 • février L'Ambassadrice itinérante, Angélique Kidjo, avec les membres de son groupe, s'est  produite en concert dans la salle de l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies pour sensibiliser et  plaider pour l'abandon de la mutilation génitale féminine/excision (MGF/E). Le concert était présenté par la Mission permanente de l'Italie auprès de l'Organisation des Nations Unies en coopération avec le Département de l'information publique, du FNUAP et de l'UNICEF. Il était diffusé dans le monde sur le site  UN webcast.

2011 • octobre • L'ambassadrice itinérante Angélique Kidjo a récemment visité l'Hôpital pédiatrique Iztapalapa à Mexico. Elle a enchanté patients et parents alors qu'elle circulait dans une salle spécialisée dans le traitement des enfants victimes de violences et d'abus sexuels.

2011 août • Angélique Kidjo s'est jointe à ses collègues de l'UNICEF, experts spécialisés dans les urgences, pour un chat en direct sur Livestream, Facebook, et Twitter (#askUnicef) à propos de la situation en Somalie et dans la Corne de l'Afrique. Les amis de l'UNICEF sur Facebook et les Twitter followers ont pu poser leurs questions en direct à l'UNICEF. (Avis aux médias en anglais)

2011 • mai • Lors d'une cérémonie aux Services culturels de l'Ambassade de France à New York, Angélique Kidjo s'est vue remettre l'insigne d'officier dans l'ordre des Arts et des Lettres, une des distinctions  culturelles française les plus prestigieuses, en reconnaissance notamment de ses efforts pour rendre le monde meilleur pour les enfants et leurs familles. (Actualités)

Auparavant, Angélique Kidjo avait été désignée comme l'une des cinq lauréats du Prix "Champions de la Terre 2011" du PNUE lors d'une cérémonie de remise des prix à New York pour son action de défense de l'équité sociale et de l'autonomie des femmes en matière de soutien au développement durable.

2010 • décembre Au cours d'une visite au Sénégal, Angélique Kidjo a appelé les élèves d'une école primaire de Dakar à s'exprimer sur ce qui est souvent une forme de criminalité que l'on occulte : la violence dans les écoles. (Actualité)

2010 • juin • Avant de se produire en concert annonçant le début des festivités de la Coupe du monde de la FIFA 2010 en Afrique du Sud, Angélique Kidjo a pris le temps de faire une visite sur le terrain à Soweto pour souligner les besoins immenses des enfants sud-africains rendus vulnérables  du fait de la pauvreté, de la violence, du VIH et du SIDA.  (Actualité)

2009 • décembre • Angélique Kidjo a effectué une visite de deux jours au Bénin pour témoigner de visu des programmes appuyés par l'UNICEF et qui aident les enfants vulnérables dans ce pays.  (Actualité)

2009 • décembre • Au Forum sur le changement climatique de Copenhague, Angélique Kidjo participait à la manifestation "Breaking Barriers and Building Bridges: Towards Global Climate Action" (Briser les barrières et construire des ponts : vers une Action mondiale pour le climat).  (Actualité)

2009 • décembre • en Afrique du Sud, Angélique Kidjo a visité un programme appuyé par l'UNICEF près de  Cape Town sur la Prévention  de la transmission de la mère à l'enfant du VIH (PTME) et qui porte une attention particulière à l'engagement des hommes dans la PTME.  Elle a aussi participé au festival sportif ‘Kicking AIDS Out’ (Éjecter le SIDA).  (Note aux médias en anglais)

2009 • novembre • En Tanzanie, Angelique Kidjo a passé une journée sur le terrain pour visiter des programmes en faveur de l'éducation des filles et soutenus par l'UNICEF.

2009 • septembre/octobre • Angélique Kidjo s'est jointe à Pampers et à l'UNICEF pour aider à atteindre l'objectif mondial pour l'élimination du tétanos néonatal (TNN) en 2012.  Elle s'est rendue à Paris, Genève, Cologne, et Londres pour un tour médiatique de promotion de cette cause.  (Note d'actualité en anglais)  

2009 • juin • À New York, Angélique Kidjo a enregistré un message d'intérêt général (PSA) à l'occasion du 20eme anniversaire de la Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant (CDE).

2009 • mai Angélique Kidjo , s'est rendue en Haïti pour voir les programmes de l'UNICEF pour lutter contre le tétanos maternel et néo-natal (TMN). (Actualité)  

2008 • juillet • En République arabe syrienne, Angélique Kidjo s'est produite sur scène à l'occasion du Festival des musiques du monde de 2008, elle s'est entretenue avec la première Dame et a visité un centre "Ami des enfants" établi par l'UNICEF et le Croissant rouge arabe syrien (SARC) pour les réfugiés Irakiens.  (Actualité)

2007 • septembre • À Cotonou, Bénin, Angélique Kidjo participait au lancement de la campagne “All Girls to School” (Toutes les filles à l'école) conduite par le gouvernement et soutenue par l'UNICEF et 15 partenaires du développement.  Elle a également visité des centres qui s'occupent d'enfants retirés du circuit de la traite. (Note  d'actualité)

2006 • novembre • À Addis Ababa, en Éthiopie, Angélique Kidjo assistait au Forum du développement africain.

2006 • novembre • En Ouganda, Angélique Kidjo a pu observer la situation des enfants et des femmes affectés par le conflit armé et s'est exprimée sur l'importance de la prévention du VIH.  (Actualité)

2006 • mai • À Dakar, Sénégal, afin de promouvoir l'éduation des filles pendant la Semaine nationale sénégalaise pour l'éducation de base, Angélique Kidjo a visité des programmes en faveur de l'éducation des filles et soutenus par l'UNICEF. (Actualité)

2006 • avril • À Harare, Zimbabwe, Angélique Kidjo a visité un projet VIH/SIDA de la Campagne Unissons-nous pour les enfants contre le SIDA. 

2006 • avril • À Nairobi, Kenya, Angélique Kidjo a participé à une mission conjointe UNICEF/Oxfam pour voir la région du Wajir touchée par la sécheresse.  Elle a aussi visité une clinique pédiatrique  pediatric AIDS clinic. 

2005 • mai • À Rome, Angélique Kidjo, a participé à des tables rondes Italie-Afrique sur l'Afrique et s'est ensuite produite en concert.

2005 • mars • Au Sénégal, Ms. Kidjo s'est ensuite produite à Africa Live : Le concert "Roll Back Malaria" (faire reculer le paludisme) à Dakar pour sensibiliser sur la lutte contre le paludisme qui tue plus d'enfants en Afrique que n'importe qu'elle autre maladie.  (Actualité)

2005 • février • À Addis Ababa, en Éthiopie, Angélique Kidjo a participé à un symposium de trois jours sur les questions affectant l'avenir des jeunes gens africains. La chanteuse s'est ensuite produite lors du concert "Africa Unite", qui devait permettre de lever 40 000 dollars des É.-U. pour contribuer à la construction du Centre Bob Marley pour le développement à Addis Ababa. Elle a aussi visité des projets VIH/SIDA, Eau et assainissement soutenus par l'UNICEF. 

2003 • octobre • En Afrique du Sud, Angélique Kidjo a participé aux rencontres du Forum mondial pour la réduction durable du taux de mortalité lié à la rougeole et le renforcement du système d'immunisation. Pendant son séjour au Cap, elle a présidé les cérémonies du Forum mondial sur la rougeole.  (Forum mondial sur la rougeole)

Portrait d'Angélique Kidjo

Image de l'UNICEF
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-1561/Asselin
Angélique Kidjo (à gauche) et une fillette signent un passeport à Cotonou au Bénin pour symboliser l'accès des filles à l'enseignement supérieur (septembre 2007).

 

 

Portrait

Recherche

UNICEF People

Angélique Kidjo Activity Highlights

2013 November • On a visit to the Kansanchis health center in Addis Ababa, Angélique Kidjo called on Africans to come together and invest more in children's health and well-being. (News story

2013 July   Goodwill Ambassador Angélique Kidjo speaks out about female genital mutilation/cutting in this video, which was shown at the launch of the FGM/C report in Washington D.C. on 22 July.

2013 • July • Goodwill Ambassador Angélique Kidjo joined in the 16th birthday celebration of Malala Yousafzai at the United Nations in New York to honour the young Pakistani girl’s courageous fight for education. Ms. Kidjo performed to a room filled with young people from all around the world who had gathered at the United Nations for a Youth Assembly to discuss the role that youth can play in enabling all children get an education.

United Nations Special Envoy for Global Education Gordon Brown named 12 July 2013 Malala Day to honour her commitment to education. Ms. Yousafzai spoke publicly for the first time since she was shot by the Taliban. Watch Malala’s speech (UN Web TV)

2012 • August • In Samburu, northern Kenya, Angelique Kidjo helped to raise awareness of the silent emergency of child stunting and expressed concerns about the profound effects it has on child development. The visit was part of a partnership between UNICEF and CNN to bring the problem to light, showing mothers and children who are suffering from undernutrition. (Newsline)

2012 • September • Goodwill Ambassador Angélique Kidjo joined UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake at the Social Good Summit, a social media event that took place in New York, to discuss child survival and how social media is one of the ways UNICEF is highlighting A Promise Renewed, a pledge for governments and others to do all they can to accelerate progress on reducing child mortality rates. Ms. Kidjo thanked everyone for their efforts to push for social change.

2012 • February • Goodwill Ambassador Angélique Kidjo along with members of her band, performed a concert in the UN General Assembly Hall to raise awareness and advocate against the practice of female genital mutilation/cutting (FGM/C). The concert was presented by the Permanent Mission of Italy to the United Nations in cooperation with the Department of Public Information, UNFPA and UNICEF.  It was broadcast globally on UN webcast.

2011 • October • Goodwill Ambassador Angélique Kidjo recently toured the Iztapalapa Paediatric Hospital in Mexico City.  She delighted patients and parents alike as she swept through a ward specializing in the treatment of child victims of violence and sexual abuse.  (Newsline)

2011  August • Angélique Kidjo joined UNICEF colleagues, who are experts on emergencies, in a live chat on Livestream, Facebook, and Twitter (#askUnicef) about the situation in Somalia and the Horn of Africa, where UNICEF Facebook friends and Twitter followers joined in and asked UNICEF questions in real time. (Media Advisory) 

2011 • May • Angélique Kidjo was conferred the insignia of Officer of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, one of France’s top cultural honours, at a ceremony at the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in New York City.  The award recognizes her efforts to make the world a better place for children and families. (Newsline)

Earlier, Ms. Kidjo was named one of the five winners of UNEP’s 2011 Champions of the Earth at an award ceremony in New York City for her inspiration and advocacy work on social equity and women empowerment in support of sustainable development.

2010 • December • During a visit to Senegal, Angélique Kidjo urged students at a Dakar elementary school to speak up about what is often a silent crime: violence in schools. (Newsline)

2010 • June • Prior to performing at the concert kicking off the FIFA World Cup 2010 festivities in South Africa, Angélique Kidjo made time to undertake a field visit in Soweto to highlight the immense needs of South African children made vulnerable by poverty, violence, and HIV and AIDS.  (Newsline)

2009 • December • Angélique Kidjo made a two-day visit to Benin to witness first-hand the UNICEF supported programmes that are helping vulnerable children there.  (Newsline)

2009 • December • At the UNICEF Children's Climate Forum in Copenhagen, Angélique Kidjo participated in the Breaking Barriers and Building Bridges: Towards Global Climate Action event.  (Newsline)

2009 • December • In South Africa, Ms. Kidjo visited a UNICEF-supported programme near Cape Town on the Prevention of Mother-To-Child Transmission (PMTCT) with specific focus on male involvement in PMTCT.  She also participated in the ‘Kicking AIDS Out’ sports festival.  (Media Advisory)

2009 • November • In Tanzania, Angélique Kidjo undertook a one-day field trip to visit UNICEF-supported programmes on girls’ education. (Newsline)

2009 • September/October • Angélique Kidjo united with Pampers and UNICEF to help achieve the goal of eliminating maternal neonatal tetanus (MNT) by 2012.  She travelled to Paris, Geneva, Cologne, and London on a media tour to promote the cause.   (NewsNote)  

2009 • May • Ms. Kidjo, travelled to Haiti to witness UNICEF maternal and neonatal tetanus (MNT) programmes.  (Newsline)  

2009 • June • In New York, Angélique Kidjo recorded a PSA for the 20th Anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC).

2008 • July • In the Syrian Arab Republic, Ms. Kidjo performed at the 2008 World Music Festival, met with the First Lady and visited a child-friendly center for Iraqi refugees established by UNICEF and the Syrian Arab Red Crescent (SARC).  (Newsline)

2007 • September • In Cotonou, Benin, Ms. Kidjo launched the “All Girls to School” campaign led by the government and supported by UNICEF and 15 other developmental partners.  She also visited centres that cared for children who had been rescued from trafficking.  (News note)

2006 • November • In Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Ms. Kidjo attended the African Development Forum.  (Newsline)

2006 • November • In Uganda, Ms. Kidjo observed the situation of children and women affected by armed conflict and spoke about the importance of HIV prevention.  (Newsline)

2006 • May • In Dakar, Senegal to promote girls’ education during Senegal’s National Week of Basic Education, Ms. Kidjo visited UNICEF-supported girl’s education programmes.  (Newsline)

2006 • April • In Harare, Zimbabwe, Ms. Kidjo visited an HIV/AIDS project for the United for Children Unite Against AIDS campaign.  (News note)

2006 • April • In Nairobi, Kenya, Ms. Kidjo took part in a joint UNICEF/Oxfam mission to see the drought-ridden region of Wajir.  She also visited a pediatric AIDS clinic.  (Newsline)

2005 • May • In Rome, Ms. Kidjo participated in Italia-Africa roundtable discussions on Africa and later performed at the concert.

2005 • March • In Senegal, Ms. Kidjo performed at the Africa Live: The Roll Back Malaria Concert in Dakar to raise awareness about the fight against malaria, which kills more children in Africa than any other disease.  (Newsline)

2005 • February • In Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, Ms. Kidjo participated in a three-day symposium on issues affecting the future of young people in Africa. The singer later performed at the Africa Unite concert, helping to raise US$40,000 for the construction of the Bob Marley Youth Development Centre in Addis Ababa. She also visited UNICEF-supported HIV/AIDS, water and environmental sanitation projects.  (Newsline)

2003 • October • In South Africa, Ms. Kidjo participated in the Global Meeting for Sustainable Measles Mortality Reduction and Immunization System Strengthening. While in Cape Town, she served as master of ceremonies for the Global Measles Forum.  (Global Measles Forum)

Angélique Kidjo profile

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-1561/Asselin
Ms. Kidjo (left) and a girl sign a passport in Cotonou, Benin to symbolize the girl's access to higher education. (September 2007)

 

 

Profile

New enhanced search