Portraits de l’UNICEF

Mia Farrow - Activités : faits marquants

2011 • août • Mia Farrow a rendu visite à des enfants somaliens et à leurs familles dans le vaste camp de réfugiés de Dadaab au Kenya. « Quelque chose d'énorme est en train de se produire et c'est épouvantable », a-t-elle dit.  Actualités (en anglais)

2011 • mai • Mia Farrow a reçu le Prix Marian Anderson 2011 en reconnaissance de son action humanitaire en faveur des enfants et des femmes des pays affectés par des conflits et les violences, comme au Tchad, au Darfur et en Haïti.  De plus, le Musée de l'Holocauste de Houston aux États-Unis, a décerné à Mia Farrow le Prix Lyndon Baines Johnson du Courage moral 2011 pour son action humanitaire.  Actualités

2011 • mars • Mia Farrow et l'Ambassadeur pour les urgences humanitaires de l'UNICEF UK, Martin Bell ont visité le  Sud Soudan suite au référendum organisé le 9 janvier et au cours duquel les soudanais du Sud se sont prononcés  massivement pour la sécession avec le Nord du pays.  Ils ont écouté les témoignages de femmes et d'enfants dont les vies avaient été détruites par les attaques violentes de l'Armée de résistance du Seigneur ; ils ont parlé avec des personnes nouvellement rentrées du Nord ; et ils ont visité la région frontière d'Abyei, où ils ont vu des villages déserts  abandonnés par les familles qui ont fuit les heurts récents. Actualités (en anglais)          

2011 • janvier • Mia Farrow est interviewée sur CNN’s Impact Your World pour parler de la situation des enfants d'Haïti après le tremblement de terre dévastateur.                 

2010 • septembre • Mia Farrow participait à une réunion-débat de haut niveau intitulée : « Les enfants et les OMD : atteindre les plus vulnérables », qui s'est tenue au siège de l'UNICEF à New York dans le cadre du Sommet des Objectifs du Milléaire pour le développement (OMD). 

2010 • juillet • Mia Farrow s'est déplacée en Ouganda pour rencontrer des enfants impactés par des années de conflit. Elle a également participé au tout premier Forum de la jeunesse africaine. Son voyage de trois jours comprenait une visite à Gulu, un secteur autrefois affecté par le conflit dans le Nord du pays. À cette occasion, elle s'est adressée à des enfants qui étaient retenus captifs par le groupe rebelle de la LRA (l'Armée de résistance du Seigneur) - (Newsline)

2010 • mai • Mia Farrow s'est rendue en Guinée avant des élections programmées en juin pour témoigner combien les enfants sont parmi les plus sérieusement affectés par l'agitation politique et économique dans le pays. (Newsline)

2010 • février • Mia Farrow a entrepris un voyage au Tchad pour sensibiliser l'opinion sur l'importance de vacciner les enfants contre la polio. La visite a coïncidé avec une nouvelle campagne nationale de vaccination qui ciblait environ 85 millions d'enfants à travers l'Afrique de l'Ouest et du Centre.  (Actualité)

2009 • octobre • À Gaza, Mia Farrow a visité le Territoire palestinien occupé (TPO) et Israël pour sensibiliser l'opinion de ces pays à la situation humanitaire des enfants affectés par le conflit dans la région. Au cours de cette visite, elle a été rejointe par l'Ambassadeur Régional de l'UNICEF, Mahmoud Kabil. Auparavant, Mia Farrow s'était arrêtée en Jordanie où elle a rencontré Sa Majeste la reine Rania Al-Abdullah, éminente défenseure des enfants pour l'UNICEF

2009 • septembre • Mia farrow a visité le Cameroun portant un message d'espoir à certains des enfants les plus défavorisés du pays. Elle a rendu visite aux communautés à l'Est du pays où l'on a dénombré plus de 60 000 réfugiés centrafricains, et au Camp Langui qui accueille plus de 3000 réfugiés ayant fui le Tchad l'année dernière..  (Note d'actualité) (Actualité)

2009 • juin • À New York, Mia Farrow a enregistré un Message d'intérêt général à l'occasion du 20ème anniversaire de la Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant (CDE) et a été interviewée par le Big Think, un forum mondial qui relie les gens et les idées.

2008 • décembre • En République démocratique du Congo (RDC), Mia Farrow a été témoin de l'impact ravageur du conflit continué sur la population civile.  
2008 • septembre • En Haïti, Mia Farrow a pu constater les dégâts dévastateurs causés par les quatre ouragans successifs qui ont frappé le pays. 
 
2008 • mai • Mia Farrow s'est rendue en République centrafricaine pour sensibiliser l'opinion à ce "cas d'urgence humanitaire complexe". Elle s'est entretenue avec des victimes de violences – comme les raids militaires et les déplacements forcés.  (Actualité)
 
2007 • février • En République centrafricaine et au Tchad, Mia Farrow a contribué à porter l'attention sur l'une des crises mondiales les plus négligées.  (Actualité)

 2006 • juin • Au Soudan, Mia Farrow et son fils Ronan ont de nouveau mis l'accent sur l'importance de protéger les enfants affectés par la violence continue au Darfur.
 
2004 • novembre • Au Soudan, Mia Farrow et son fils Ronan with her son Ronan, ont vu la situation humanitaire se détérier dans les camps du Darfur.

 2002 • août • En Angola, Mia Farrow et son fils Ronan ont mis en lumière l'impact ravageur, particulièrement sur les femmes et les enfants, de presque trois décennies de guerre. (Actualité)
 
2001 • janvier • Au Nigeria, Mia Farrow et son fils Ronan ont appris quels étaient les opportunités et les défis dans la lutte pour éradiquer la polio. Mia Farrow qui  participait au lancement de la Journée nationale de vaccination, s'est entretenue avec la première Dame Stella Obansanjo et a visité des programmes de santé et d'éducation soutenus par l'UNICEF.  (Actualité)
 

Portrait de Mia Farrow

Image de l'UNICEF
© UNICEF/HQ06-0704/ Cranston
Mia Farrow sits with children at the Zamzam camp for people displaced by conflict near El Fasher, the capital of North Darfur State. (June 2006)

 

 

Portrait

Recherche

UNICEF People

Mia Farrow Activity Highlights

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ06-0704/ Cranston
Mia Farrow sits with children at the Zamzam camp for people displaced by conflict near El Fasher, the capital of North Darfur State. (June 2006)

2013 • November • During her visit to the Central African Republic, Mia Farrow stopped at one of the ‘ghost’ villages that line the road to the town of Bossangoa. She looked around and picked up a charred plate that lay among the ruins of a home that had been burned. (Newsline)

2013 • January • Mia Farrow visited some of the over 200,000 Syrian refugees in Lebanon and appealed for more help for them. Ms. Farrow also met with several women in a UNICEF-supported center where medical and psychosocial services are provided to Syrian refugee women. (Newsline)

2012 • February • Mia Farrow travelled to Chad and the Democratic Republic of Congo to help raise awareness of the spread of polio. In Chad, she visited Mao in the Sahel belt to highlight a nutrition crisis that is putting over one million children at risk of severe acute malnutrition. She also visited Bukavu, South Kivu, in the DRC where she met with children impacted by conflict. (Newsline)
While in DRC, Ms. Farrow participated in UNICEF’s first ever Google Plus Hangout, which focused mainly on the eradication of polio, ‘child soldiers’, and gender based violence.

2011 • August • Mia Farrow visited Somali children and families at the vast refugee settlement in Dadaab, Kenya. "Something huge is happening, and it's terrible," she said. (Newsline

2011 • May • Mia Farrow received the 2011 Marian Anderson Award in recognition of her humanitarian efforts on behalf of children and women in countries affected by conflict and violence, including Chad, Darfur and Haiti. Additionally, the Holocaust Museum in Houston USA, bestowed Ms. Farrow with the 2011 Lyndon Baines Johnson Moral Courage Award for her humanitarian work. (Newsline)

2011 • March • Mia Farrow and UNICEF UK Ambassador for Humanitarian Emergencies Martin Bell visited Southern Sudan following a 9 January referendum in which southerners overwhelmingly voted for secession from the North. They listened to first-hand testimonies of women and children whose lives had been devastated by violent attacks by the brutal Lord’s Resistance Army; spoke to new returnees from the North; and visited the border region of Abyei, where they saw empty villages abandoned by families who had fled recent clashes. (Newsline)

2011 • January • Mia Farrow is featured on CNN’s Impact Your World to speak about the situation of children in Haiti after the devastating earthquake.                 

2010 • September • Mia Farrow participated in a high-level panel discussion entitled: 'Children and the MDGs: Reaching the Most Vulnerable', which was held in UNICEF House in New York as part of the Millennium Development Goals Summit.  

2010 • July • Mia Farrow travelled to Uganda to meet with children impacted by years of conflict and participated in the first ever African Youth Forum. Her three-day trip included a visit to Gulu, a post conflict-affected area in the North where she spoke with children once held captive by the rebel group, the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA). (Newsline)

2010 May • Mia Farrow visited Guinea ahead of scheduled elections in June to witness how children have been among the most seriously affected by political and economic turmoil in the country. (Newsline)

2010 February • Mia Farrow undertook a trip to Chad to raise awareness of the importance of vaccinating children against polio. The visit coincided with a new national immunization campaign targeting some 85 million children across West and Central Africa. (Newsline)

2009 October •  Mia Farrow visited the Occupied Palestinian Territory and Israel to raise awareness about the humanitarian situation of children affected by conflict in the region (Newsnote). She was joined by UNICEF Regional Ambassador Mahmoud Kabil on the visit (Newsline). Prior to the visit, Ms. Farrow stopped in Jordan where she met with Her Majesty Queen Rania Al-Abdullah, UNICEF’s Eminent Advocate for Children. (Newsline)

2009 • September • Mia Farrow visited Cameroon with a message of hope for some of the most disadvantaged children in the country. She travelled to communities in the East where there were over 60,000 Central African refugees, and to the Langui Camp with more than 3,000 refugees who had fled from Chad last year.  (Newsnote) (Newsline)

2009 • June • In New York, Ms. Farrow recorded a public service announcement for the 20th Anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) and was interviewed for the Big Think, a global forum connecting people and ideas.

2008 • December • In the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ms. Farrow witnessed the devastating impact of continued conflict on the civilian population. (Newsline)
 
2008 • September • In Haiti, Ms. Farrow saw the devastation of four successive hurricanes that have struck the country. (Newsline)
 
2008 • May • In the Central African Republic, Ms. Farrow raised awareness of a ‘complex humanitarian emergency’.  She spoke with victims of violence – including from military raids and forced displacement. (Newsline)
 
2007 • February • In the Central Africa Republic and Chad, Ms. Farrow helped draw attention to one of the world’s most neglected crises.  (Newsline) (Newsline)
 
2006 • June • In the Sudan, Ms. Farrow and her son Ronan once again highlighted the importance of protecting children affected by the continuing violence in Darfur.  (Newsline) (video diary)
 
2004 • November • In the Sudan, with her son Ronan, Ms. Farrow saw the worsening humanitarian crisis in the camps in Darfur.     (Newsline)
 
2002 • August • In Angola, Ms. Farrow and her son Ronan put the spotlight on the devastating impact, particularly on women and children, after nearly three decades of war. (Newsline)
 
2001 • January • In Nigeria, with her son Ronan, Ms. Farrow learned about the opportunities and challenges in the fight to eradicate polio. She helped launch a national immunization day, met with First Lady Stella Obansanjo, and visited UNICEF-supported health and educational programmes. (Newsline)
 

Mia Farrow profile


 

 

Profile

New enhanced search