联合国儿童基金会有关人员

丹尼.格洛弗

亲善大使

UNICEF Photo: Dany Glover
© Jeff Katz Photography
“……无论去到世界上的任何地方,我都会把我看到的人间疾苦告诉他人,尽到我作为亲善大使的职责。” - 丹尼.格洛弗

丹尼.格洛弗 (Danny Glover) 不但是国际著名演员和制片人,他还以在医疗、教育和经济公正方面作出的倡议和慈善努力而出名。他支持联合国的各种活动,关注非洲、拉丁美洲和加勒比海地区的贫困、疾病和经济发展状况。格洛弗于 2004 年 9 月 20 日被联合国儿童基金会任命为亲善大使。

格洛弗代表联合国儿童基金会访问发展中国家感染了艾滋病毒的孤儿、弱势儿童和其他人员。他还参加了联合国儿童基金会在拉丁美洲和美国的许多筹款和倡议活动。

作为亲善大使,格洛弗亲眼目睹了地雷给埃塞俄比亚儿童造成的惨剧。“看到年幼的儿童成为战争的牺牲品是最让人痛心的事情。”格洛弗说道。他已经录制了有关地雷和艾滋病毒如何对儿童造成影响的公益广告。他的积极拥护已经成为联合国儿童基金会在世界各地的倡议活动中的重要力量。

主要经历

丹尼.格洛弗在加州旧金山出生和成长。他的父母都是民权组织全国有色人种协进会 (NAACP) 的活跃成员。

格洛弗的首次亮相是在 1982 年阿索尔.加德的戏剧《大师哈罗德与男孩》中,这是一部有关南非种族隔离的戏剧,格洛弗凭借该剧获得了戏剧世界奖。到 20 世纪 80 年代中期,他已经成长为富有实力的电影演员,拍摄了《我心深处》、《银城大决战》、《证人》和《紫色》。在与梅尔.吉布森搭档的《致命武器》系列电影中,他的演技更加精进。之后他又出演了《大峡谷》、《造雨人》、《真爱》、《追梦女郎》、《王牌制片家》和《盲流感》。

1990 年,格洛弗凭借《带怒而眠》获得独立精神奖最佳男主角奖,同时他还是这部影片的制片人。他还因为在影视届的卓越成就获得过多项有色人种促进协会形象奖。他的艾美奖提名包括担纲主角的 HBO 电影《曼德拉》、备受赞誉的连续剧《寂寞之鸽》和电视电影《捍卫自由》。他还导演了 Showtime 的特别节目《梦》,讲的是一个男孩的成长故事,他在节目中的出色导演获得了日间节目艾美奖提名。

格洛弗被授予 2002 年玛丽安安德森奖,作为对他毕生为公共服务所作贡献的认可。他是旧金山先锋公共基金会的领导团队成员。他还是泛非论坛的董事会主席,泛非论坛是一个非裔美国人组织,为非洲和加勒比海地区争取权益。

丹尼.格洛弗住在旧金山。

 


 

 

主要经历

Danny Glover

Press release: Danny Glover visits mine-affected Ethiopia

搜索

UNICEF People

Danny Glover

Goodwill Ambassador

UNICEF Image: Dany Glover
© Brian Bowen Smith
“… during all my other trips around the world I will carry out my responsibilities as Goodwill Ambassador by telling of the suffering I have seen.” – Danny Glover

An internationally acclaimed actor and producer, Danny Glover is also well-known for his advocacy and philanthropic efforts in healthcare, education and economic justice. He has supported United Nations campaigns focusing on poverty, disease, and economic development in Africa, Latin America, and the Caribbean. Mr. Glover was appointed a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador on 20 September 2004.

On behalf of UNICEF, Mr. Glover has visited orphans and vulnerable children and others in developing countries who have been affected by HIV/AIDS. He has also participated in a number of fundraising and advocacy events for UNICEF in Latin America and the USA.

As Goodwill Ambassador, Mr. Glover has seen the devastating effects of landmines on children in Ethiopia. “It is the most painful thing to see how young children become collateral damage of wars,” he said. Mr. Glover has recorded public service announcements about the impact of landmines and HIV/AIDS on children. His outreach has been a powerful part of UNICEF’s advocacy around the world.   

Activity highlights

Danny Glover was born and raised in San Francisco, California. His parents were active members of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), a civil rights organization.

Mr. Glover made his off-Broadway debut in 1982 in Athol Fugard's Master Harold and the Boys, a play about apartheid in South Africa, for which he won a Theatre World Award. By the mid-1980s, he had established himself as a talented cinematic actor in films such as Places in the Heart, Silverado, Witness and The Color Purple. He further broadened his appeal when he teamed with actor Mel Gibson in the Lethal Weapon movie series. Later works include Grand Canyon, The Rainmaker, Beloved, DreamGirls, Be Kind Rewind and Blindness.
 
In 1990, Mr. Glover earned the Independent Spirit Award for best male lead in To Sleep with Anger, for which he was also the executive producer. He has received multiple NAACP Image Awards for his film and television achievements. His Emmy Awards nominations include those for the lead role in the HBO movie Mandela, the acclaimed miniseries Lonesome Dove and the television movie Freedom Song.  He also received a Daytime Emmy nomination for outstanding directing of a special for Showtime’s Just a Dream, about a young boy’s coming of age.

In recognition of his lifetime dedication to public service, Mr. Glover was given the 2002 Marian Anderson Award. He is on the leadership team of the Vanguard Public Foundation in San Francisco. He is chairman of the board of TransAfrica Forum, an African-American lobbying organization for Africa and the Caribbean.

Danny Glover lives in San Francisco.

 


 

 

New enhanced search