联合国儿童基金会有关人员

执行主任安.维尼曼

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ05-0653/Toutounji
安.维尼曼,联合国儿童基金会执行主任

下载高分辨率图像
转载请注明版权信息

安.M.维尼曼于2005年5月1日起由联合国秘书长任命,成为联合国儿童基金会第五位执行主任,代表联合国儿童机构通过倡导和保护儿童的权利,帮助世界各地儿童的生存和繁衍进行工作。联合国儿童基金会的任务是通过全球150个国家和地区中的近1万名工作人员推动支持儿童保健和营养、高质基础教育、保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病的危害,以及获得清洁水和卫生设施,及其他优先事项等计划来完成。

在联合国儿童基金会,维尼曼监督的年度计划资源超过30亿美元,资金全部来自自愿捐款。她强调“持续改进企业文化”以助于实现持久的儿童援助效果。在她的管理下,联合国儿童基金会发起倡议改进商业惯例,透明度与合作,以确保机构项目能接触到那些最弱势的群体,使资源为全世界儿童的生活有效得到利用、保护、保存和改善。这些战略包括建立一个注重结果的管理方法和为儿童的健康和发展推广使用的综合性一揽子干预措施。

自担任执行主任以来,维尼曼已前往60多个国家审查儿童所处困境和联合国儿童基金会为帮助儿童所展开的各项工作。她了解儿童生命和生活是如何在联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴项目所提供的援助下而被拯救与改善的第一手资料。维尼曼目睹了自然灾害、冲突、疾病和剥削为儿童带来的灾难。无论是管理项目、会见政府首脑、国际机构和战略伙伴,或在如世界经济论坛和克林顿全球倡议等会议上发言,这些经验使她在为儿童倡议时的希望、热情和紧迫感倍增。维尼曼还共同主持“每天都是母亲节”的节目,这是由四方援助救济社(CARE)与“白丝带联盟” 为世界各地妇女获得基本医疗保健和孕产妇服务发起的一个运动。

加入联合国儿童基金会前,维尼曼曾担任过美国农业部(USDA)部长的职务,属下拥有110,000名职员,年度预算为1130亿美元。在这个多重机构中,她的多个职责包括了管理国家的粮食和营养计划,包括食品券、学校午餐计划和对妇女、婴儿和儿童的营养援助服务。她在2003年主办了第一次科学和技术部长级会议,汇集了来自120个国家的领导人,探讨解决全球饥饿的新办法及如何更好地利用科学和技术来减少发展中国家的饥饿和贫困状况。维尼曼还在农业部担任过其他不同职务,包括国际事务和商品项目的常务副秘书长,副次长,和外国农业服务局的副局长。她还担任过加利福尼亚州的农业局局长。

作为一名经过职业培训的律师,维尼曼在华盛顿特区和加利福尼亚州已成为专职律师。此前职业经历中,她曾担任过副公共辩护人。维尼曼在加利福尼亚大学戴维斯分校获得政治学学士学位,在加利福尼亚大学伯克利分校获得公共政策硕士学位,并在加利福尼亚大学黑斯廷斯法学院获得法学博士学位。她还被几所大学和学院授予名誉博士学位。

她以私人身份担任过非党派的公民教育组织Close Up Foundation的董事会成员,并在此前在数个涉及儿童和高等教育的咨询理事会和委员会任过职。维尼曼在整个职业生涯中获得过许多奖励和荣誉,包括国际贸易杰出女性奖;粮食研究与行动中心奖;荷裔美国人传统奖;初级国务活动家基金会年度国务活动家奖;加利福尼亚州国际贸易理事会黄金之州奖;戈德曼公共政策学院年度校友奖;历史频道“拯救我们的历史”领袖奖;Main Street合作伙伴约翰查菲杰出公共服务奖;美国民间志愿组织(PVO)合作伙伴为有需要之人服务奖;理查德.E.林公共服务奖;芝麻街(Sesame) 研讨会儿童领导力奖;以及扶轮社名誉会员。

维尼曼在联合国儿童基金会的领导能力和远见卓识已得到国际组织的认可,包括具影响力的英国医学杂志《柳叶刀》,写道:“…… 联合国儿童基金会在新领导层的领导下已成为一个重要的支持确保儿童享有生存权利的推动者。这一承诺并不总是得到保证的。然而,安.维尼曼已许诺其机构将会掀起第二次确保儿童生存权利的革命。”

更新日期 2009年5月


 

 

搜索

UNICEF People

Executive Director Ann M. Veneman

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ05-0653/Toutounji
Ann M. Veneman, UNICEF Executive Director, 2005-2010.

Download high-resolution image [JPEG]
Full credit must be given - see below.

Ann M. Veneman became UNICEF's fifth Executive Director on 1 May 2005. Appointed by the United Nations Secretary General, the Executive Director works on behalf of the United Nations children's agency to help children around the world survive and thrive by advocating for and protecting their rights. UNICEF's mission is accomplished by over 11,000 staff on the ground in more than 150 countries, advancing programs that support child health and nutrition, quality basic education, the protection of children from violence, exploitation and AIDS, and access to clean water and sanitation, among other priorities.

At UNICEF, Veneman oversaw annual programme resources of around $4 billion, funded entirely from voluntary contributions. She stressed a culture of continuous improvement to help achieve lasting results for children. Under her management, UNICEF launched initiatives to improve business practices, transparency and collaboration to ensure that the agency's programmes reached those most vulnerable and that its resources were utilized efficiently to protect, save and improve the lives of children around the world. These strategies included establishing a results-based approach to programme management and scaling up the use of integrated packages of interventions to the health and development of children.

As Executive Director, Veneman travelled to more than 60 countries to review the plight of children and UNICEF's work to assist them. She gained first-hand knowledge of how children's lives were being saved and improved as a result of programmes and assistance provided by UNICEF and its partners. Veneman witnessed the devastation caused by natural disasters, conflict, disease and exploitation. These experiences redoubled her sense of hope, passion and urgency in advocating for children when administering programmes, meeting with government leaders, international agencies and strategic partners, or speaking at conferences such as the World Economic Forum and Clinton Global Initiative. Veneman co-chaired Mothers Day Every Day, a campaign launched by CARE and the White Ribbon Alliance supporting access to basic health care and maternal services for women around the world.

Prior to joining UNICEF, Veneman served as Secretary of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), overseeing 110,000 employees and an annual budget of $113 billion. Among her responsibilities at this diverse agency was the management of the nation's food and nutrition programmes, including services for food stamps, school lunch programmes and nutrition assistance for women, infants and children. In 2003 she hosted the first-ever Ministerial Conference on Science and Technology, bringing together leaders from 120 nations to explore new approaches to global hunger and the better use of science and technology to reduce hunger and poverty in developing countries. Veneman held various other positions at USDA, including Deputy Secretary, Deputy Undersecretary for International Affairs and Commodity Programs, and Associate Administer of the Foreign Agricultural Service. She also served as Secretary of the California Department of Food and Agriculture.

A lawyer by training, Veneman has practiced law in Washington, DC and California. Earlier in her career, she served as a deputy public defender. Veneman earned her bachelor's degree in political science from the University of California, Davis; a master's degree in public policy from the University of California, Berkeley; and a juris doctorate degree from the University of California, Hastings College of Law. She has also been awarded honorary doctorate degrees from several universities and colleges.

In a personal capacity, Veneman serves on the Board of the Close Up Foundation, a non-partisan civic youth education organization. She has previously served on a number of advisory councils and committees, particularly those involving children and higher education. Veneman has received numerous awards and distinctions throughout her career, including the Outstanding Woman in International Trade Award; Food Research and Action Center Award; Dutch American Heritage Award; Junior Statesman Foundation Statesman of the Year Award; California Council for International Trade Golden State Award; Goldman School of Public Policy Alumnus of the Year Award; History Channel Save Our History Leadership Award; Main Street Partnership John Chafee Award for Distinguished Public Service; American PVO Partners Award for Service to People in Need; Richard E. Lyng Award for Public Service; Sesame Workshop Leadership Award for Children; and Rotary Club Honorary Membership.

Veneman's leadership and vision at UNICEF were recognized both nationally and internationally. In 2009, she was named to the Forbes 100 Most Powerful Women list, ranking #46.

Image release - credit: ©  UNICEF photographs are available for use by bona fide news media organizations as part of reports or feature stories on UNICEF. Release permission is hereby granted for this purpose on the following conditions:  Image content may not be changed by digital or any other means, except cropping. Image may not be archived in any format or distributed to a third party by any non-UNICEF entity. No other rights than those specified are either granted or implied. Thank you for your interest in UNICEF.


 

 

New enhanced search