Portraits de l’UNICEF

Ambassadeurs itinérants -Jackie Chan se rend au Cambodge

Image de l'UNICEF
© UNICEF Cambodia/2004/Heng
UNICEF and UNAIDS Goodwill Ambassador Jackie Chan poses with artwork created by Cambodian youth to promote HIV/AIDS prevention and non-discrimination.

Phnom Penh, Cambodge, 26 avril 2004 - Le Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’Enfance (UNICEF) et le Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/SIDA (ONUSIDA) ont nommé conjointement Jackie Chan, la célèbre vedette de films d’action, ambassadeur itinérant.  M. Chan, qui est extrêmement populaire au Cambodge où on le connaît sous le nom de “Chhin Long,” participe cette semaine à une mission de trois jours consacrée à l’éducation et à la prévention en matière de VIH/SIDA.

“Je suis extrêmement honoré d’avoir été nommé ambassadeur itinérant par l’UNICEF et l’ONUSIDA et suis très heureux de me trouver ici, à Phnom Penh, aujourd’hui,” a déclaré M. Chan. “En tant qu’ambassadeur itinérant, je ferai de mon mieux pour soutenir les efforts en vue d’arrêter la propagation du VIH/SIDA, de mettre fin à la discrimination dont sont victimes ceux qui sont touchés par le virus, et de protéger les enfants contre les effets des conflits.”

M. Chan a commencé sa tâche d’ambassadeur en déjeunant avec 30 jeunes cambodgiens, vivant avec et/ou affectés par le VIH/SIDA. Ce groupe a réalisé des autoportraits grandeur nature en vue de favoriser la prévention et la non-discrimination en matière de VIH/SIDA. M. Chan a passé un bon moment à parler avec les jeunes de leur projet, tout en admirant l’exposition.

Plus tard dans la semaine, il va visiter des projets de soins et d’aide dans le cadre du VIH/SIDA, notamment un temple situé à Siem Reap, où des moines bouddhistes apportent un soutien à des enfants et à des familles touchés par le VIH/SIDA.

Bien que la propagation de l’épidémie de VIH/SIDA semble s’être stabilisée ces dernières années, le Cambodge connaît encore l’un des taux d’infection au virus les plus élevés d’Asie.


 

 

Vidéo (en anglais)


Message d'intérêt public de Jackie Chan pour la campagne de l'UNICEF contre le SIDA

bas | haut débit
(Real player)

Recherche

UNICEF People

Goodwill ambassadors

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Cambodia/2004/Heng
UNICEF and UNAIDS Goodwill Ambassador Jackie Chan poses with artwork created by Cambodian youth to promote HIV/AIDS prevention and non-discrimination.

Phnom Penh, Cambodia, 26 April 2004 – Famous action film star Jackie Chan was appointed today as a Goodwill Ambassador for the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) and the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS).  Mr. Chan, hugely popular in Cambodia and known locally as “Chin Long,” is taking part this week in a three-day mission to focus on HIV/AIDS education and prevention.

“I am deeply honoured to be appointed as Goodwill Ambassador for UNICEF and UNAIDS and very pleased to be with you here in Phnom Penh today,” said Mr. Chan. “I will do my best as a Goodwill Ambassador to support efforts to stop the spread of HIV/AIDS, end discrimination against those affected by it, and ensure that children are protected from the effects of conflict.”

Mr. Chan began his ambassadorial work by having lunch with 30 young Cambodians, living with and/or affected by HIV/AIDS. The group had created life-sized self-portraits to promote HIV/AIDS prevention and non-discrimination. Mr. Chan spent time talking with the young people about their project, while admiring their exhibition.

Later this week he will be visiting HIV/AIDS care and support projects, including a local temple in Siem Reap, where Buddhist monks are assisting children and families affected by HIV/AIDS.

Although the spread of the HIV/AIDS epidemic appears to be stabilizing in recent years, Cambodia still has one of the highest infection rates in Asia.

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Video


Watch Jackie Chan's "Stigma Buster" PSA in English.

Low | High bandwidth
(Real player)

New enhanced search