日本

黑柳彻子担任联合国儿童基金会亲善大使25年

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Japan/2009
亲善大使黑柳彻子从联合国儿童基金会副执行主任萨阿德.霍瑞手中接过奖牌。

日本东京,2009年5月20日 – 近日,联合国儿童基金会亲善大使黑柳彻子(Tetsuko Kuroyanagi)在敬仰、赞美、来自联合国儿童基金会领导的视频致辞以及贵宾们的陪伴下,庆祝她四分之一世纪以来,为联合国儿童基金会和世界儿童所做出的贡献。

日本政府高级官员、议员和外交使团成员出席了这个表彰黑柳女士的作的纪念仪式。

出席仪式的还有来自联合国机构、非政府组织、联合国儿童基金会日本委员会、学术界和媒体的代表,以及由副执行主任萨阿德.霍瑞(Saad Houry)率领的联合国儿童基金会代表团和黑柳女士的朋友。

目睹苦难的现实生活

黑柳女士在颁奖仪式上说:“我要感谢联合国儿童基金会给予我机会可以作这么多年的亲善大使。”

“我本来只是个演员和知名人士,但是,联合国儿童基金会给了我每年出访,接触全世界儿童的机会。这些儿童中有被招募的儿童兵、有要饿死的孩子,还有在冲突中被强奸的女童。看到他们的生活,令人非常痛心。”

她眼含泪水接着说:“我想知道他们现在过得怎么样。他们在我的心灵深处,我必须继续工作。”

黑柳女士结束她的讲话时,呼吁日本政府继续支持儿童,并解决H1N1流感病毒对全球影响的问题。

通过孩子的眼睛看世界

黑柳女士于1984年被任命为国际亲善大使,由绪方贞子(Sadako Ogata)推荐给当时的联合国儿童基金会执行主任詹姆斯.格兰特(James P. Grant)。绪方女士曾任联合国儿童基金会执行局主席和联合国难民事务高级专员。她现任日本国际协力机构主席。

格兰特先生阅读了黑柳女士的童年回忆录《窗边的小豆豆》,他认为黑柳女士可以通过儿童的眼睛看世界,也会是一位有效的儿童权益倡导者。今天,黑柳女士是任职时间最长的联合国儿童基金会亲善大使——而且她还在积极地工作。

自1984年以来,黑柳女士每年都去一、两个国家访问。出访的国家包括阿富汗——女童和妇女在塔利班统治下处境艰难,卢旺达——灭绝种族的大屠杀给儿童心理留下创伤,以及印度尼西亚——被印度洋海啸严重破坏的亚齐省。

本周末,黑柳女士将前往尼泊尔,去执行她的第29次出访任务。

对儿童的坚定承诺

日本议会副外务大臣御法川信英(Nobuhide Minorikawa)说:“由于彻子的杰出工作,使联合国儿童基金会成为在日本最广为人知的联合国机构。日本将与彻子携手,尽可能多地为世界提供援助,并为实现千年发展目标做出贡献。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Japan/2009
联合国儿童基金会为黑柳彻子颁奖,表彰她25年来为世界儿童所做出的贡献。

维尼曼主任在录影致辞中感谢黑柳女士的服务、承诺和勇气,感谢她致力于使世界成为一个对儿童更美好的地方。

联合国儿童基金会日本议会联合会主席谷垣祯一(Sadakazu Tanigaki)在庆祝仪式上说:“我们的联合会成立于1988年,是在彻子出任联合国儿童基金会亲善大使的四年之后。她一直是我们推动有利于儿童权益的工作的榜样。”

霍瑞先生分享了黑柳女士第一次作为亲善大使访问坦桑尼亚的情景。

他回忆道:“你被孩子们的沉默震撼了,他们因营养不良而没有力气发出声音,那些安静的孩子将毫无怨言地死去,因为他们无条件地信任成人。在当今的世界上,还有太多的儿童在默默地死去,他们远离摄影机的注视和世界的关注。请继续打破那个沉默,没有其他人可以做得像你这样。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Japan

UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Tetsuko Kuroyanagi celebrates 25 years of service

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Japan/2009
Goodwill Ambassador Tetsuko Kuroyanagi receives a commemorative plaque from UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Saad Houry.

TOKYO, Japan, 20 May 2009 – With tributes, accolades and video messages from UNICEF’s leadership and a host of dignitaries, Goodwill Ambassador Tetsuko Kuroyanagi recently celebrated a quarter-century of dedicated service to UNICEF and the world’s children.

Ms. Kuroyanagi’s work was feted in a commemorative ceremony attended by senior Japanese Government officials, parliamentarians and members of the diplomatic corps.

Also in attendance were representatives from UN agencies, non-governmental organizations, the Japan Committee for UNICEF, academia and the media, along with her friends and a UNICEF delegation led by Deputy Executive Director Saad Houry.

Witness to painful realities

“I want to thank UNICEF for having given me the opportunity to serve as a Goodwill Ambassador for all these years,” Ms. Kuroyanagi said during the ceremony.

“I could have been solely an actress and celebrity, but going on missions for UNICEF every year gave me the chance to meet children around the world – children who were recruited as child soldiers, children who were starving to death and young girls who were raped during conflicts. It was very painful to see their realities.” 

Then, with tears in her eyes, she added: “I wonder how they are now. With them deep in my heart, I must continue my work.”

Ms. Kuroyanagi ended her address with an appeal to the Government of Japan to continue its support for children and to address the global impact of the H1N1 influenza virus.

Seeing the world through a child’s eyes
Ms. Kuroyanagi was appointed as an international Goodwill Ambassador in 1984, having been recommended to then-UNICEF Executive Director James P. Grant by Sadako Ogata, former UNICEF Executive Board Chairperson, former UN High Commissioner for Refugees and currently President of Japan International Cooperation Agency, who also spoke at the Tokyo ceremony.

Reading Ms. Kuroyanagi’s childhood memoir, ‘Totto-chan: The Little Girl at the Window’, the late Mr. Grant had been convinced that she was someone who could see the world through a child’s eyes and be an effective advocate for children. Today, she is UNICEF’s longest-serving Goodwill Ambassador – and she remains active.

Since 1984, Ms. Kuroyanagi has been visiting one to two countries every year, including Afghanistan, where girls and women faced harsh treatment under the Taliban; Rwanda, where the genocide left deep psychological scars in children; and Indonesia, whose Aceh province was devastated by the Indian Ocean tsunami.

At the end of this week, she will be travelling on her 29th mission, this time to Nepal.

Unwavering commitment to children
“Thanks to Tetsuko’s extraordinary efforts, UNICEF is the most recognized UN agency in Japan,” said the Parliamentary Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs, Hon. Nobuhide Minorikawa. “Hand-in-hand with Tetsuko, Japan should extend as much assistance as possible to the world and contribute to the achievement of Millennium Development Goals.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Japan/2009
Tetsuko Kuroyanagi with the commemorative plaque from UNICEF marking her 25 years of service to the world’s children.

In a video message, Executive Director Veneman thanked Ms. Kuroyanagi for her service, commitment and courage in helping to make the world a better place for children.

The President of the Japan Parliamentary League for UNICEF, Hon. Sadakazu Tanigaki, stated during the ceremony: “Since the League was established in 1988, only four years after Tetsuko’s appointment as UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador, she has been always a role model for us in pushing the agenda forward for children.”

And Mr. Houry shared one of Ms. Kuroyanagi’s anecdotes from her very first visit as a Goodwill Ambassador, to Tanzania.

“You were struck by the silence of the children – the silence of children too exhausted from malnutrition to make any sound, and the silence of children dying without complaining, due to their unquestioning trust in adults,” he recalled. “In today’s world, far too many children are still dying silently, away from the world’s cameras and attention. Please continue breaking that silence and speaking out like no other person can.”


 

 

New enhanced search