中非共和国

米亚.法罗敦促为中非共和国‘被遗弃’的家庭提供支持

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ08-0592/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米亚.法罗对中非共和国的访问后,在联合国儿童基金会大楼发表简短的讲话;她此行是由联合国儿童基金会区域主任艾斯特.古鲁马博士(左)陪同前往的。

克里斯.内尔斯报道

美国纽约,2008年6月10日。联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米亚.法罗今天讲述了中非共和国的人是“毫无疑问,在地球上遭受遗弃最多的人。”她呼吁国际社会为被暴力蹂躏的国家恢复和平提供全力支持。

最近刚从中非共和国归来的法罗女士,在纽约联合国儿童基金会大楼的简短讲话中说:“中非共和国一直被称为被遗忘的悲剧,被遗忘的危机,但是这意味着它一度被铭记 — 而我不确定它是否曾经被铭记”。

十多年的内战使国家四分五裂,中非共和国还饱受了出没于西北一带的强盗的折磨,他们绑架儿童,掠夺财产。

‘人们担惊受怕’

“几百年一直以游牧为生的家庭,现在害怕拥有牲畜,因为那将标志着他们……有财产和可能酬到赎回孩子的钱,”法罗女士说。“人们为有一辆自行车或他们有钱支付给罪犯的任何标志而担心。这是一个惊恐不安的民众,并被这些势力控制在恐怖中”。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ08-0595/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米亚.法罗和联合国儿童基金会区域主任艾斯特.古鲁马博士(中间)与英国广播公司驻联合国记者贝桑.维寇谈论中非共和国的情况。

由于中非共和国持续不断的暴力和不安全感,有30多万人已被迫离开家园。他们带着少量的食物和饮水住在灌木丛深处。强奸妇女和儿童是司空见惯且很少见诸报端。

“平民百姓惊恐万状,他们生活在远离道路的灌木丛里。听到隆隆作响的汽车声,他们就会逃跑,”法罗女士指出。

希望的迹象

在2007年2月,法罗女士随着联合国儿童基金会区域主任艾斯特.古鲁马博士,首次访问了中非共和国。最近一次的访问后,她说,有了一些希望的迹象。

“看到联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正在修建乡村学校真是令人鼓舞,”法罗女士说。

即使在最困难的情况下,既缺乏安全,充足的食品,安全饮用水或医疗照顾的情况下,她补充说,“为这些好人,善良的家长们,为了他们几乎不能预想的未来,给他们的子女提供教育,依然是要优先考虑的问题。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年6月10日:
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米亚.法罗呼吁国际社会对中非共和国在危难中的儿童和家庭提供帮助。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Central African Republic

Mia Farrow urges support for ‘abandoned’ families in Central African Republic

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ08-0592/Markisz
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow briefs reporters at UNICEF House, following her visit to the Central African Republic; she was accompanied on her trip by UNICEF Regional Director Dr. Esther Guluma (at left).

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, USA, 10 June 2008 – UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow today described the people of Central African Republic as “without question, the most abandoned people on earth.” She called on the full support of the international community to restore peace in the violence-ravaged country.

Briefing reporters at UNICEF House in New York, Ms. Farrow, who has recently returned from a trip to CAR, said: "The Central African Republic has been called a forgotten tragedy, a forgotten crisis, but that implies that it was once remembered – and I’m not sure it was ever remembered."

Riven by civil war for more than a decade, CAR is also plagued by bandits who roam the north-west, kidnapping children and looting property.

‘People are afraid’
“The families that have been herders for centuries are now afraid to have animals, because that would be a sign that they … have wealth and could raise the money to reclaim their children,” said Ms. Farrow. “People are afraid to have a bicycle or any sign that they could pay these criminals. It is a terrorized population being held in terror by all these forces.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ08-0595/Markisz
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow and UNICEF Regional Director Dr. Esther Guluma (centre) speak with BBC UN Correspondent Bessan Vikou about conditions in the Central African Republic.

More than 300,000 people have been driven from their homes by the ongoing violence and insecurity in CAR. They live deep in the bush with little to eat or drink. Rape of women and children is commonplace and rarely reported.

“The civilian population is completely terrified and they live far from the roads in the bush. At the rumbling of a vehicle they will flee,” Ms. Farrow noted.

Signs of hope

Ms. Farrow first visited CAR in February 2007, along with UNICEF Regional Director Dr. Esther Guluma. On her most recent visit, she said, there were some signs of hope.

“It was encouraging to see UNICEF and its partners are building bush schools,” said Ms. Farrow.

Even under the most difficult circumstances, lacking security, sufficient food, safe water or medical attention, she added, “still the priority for these good people, good parents, was to provide their children with an education for a future which they can barely envision.”


 

 

Video

10 June 2008:
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow appeals to the international community to help children and families at risk in the Central African Republic.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search