UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

儿童营养问题

母乳喂养和辅助喂养

喂养婴儿的食物和方式至关重要

婴儿需要在适当时间摄入适当的饮食,才能健康成长并发挥出所有发育潜能。 促成良好营养状况的关键阶段就是从妇女怀孕到婴儿第二个生日期间的1000天。

在这个关键阶段, 母乳是儿童健康及发育所需的最佳食品。 它提供了儿童茁壮成长需要的所有维生素、矿物质、酶类、抗体。

母乳喂养有着很神奇的功效。 这种拯救婴儿生命的喂养方式也是一种全球通用、技术含量低、影响力强且又经济实惠的解决方案——但在全球范围内却没有受到足够重视。 联合国儿童基金会正致力于改变这种情况

母乳喂养是世界上最接近于灵丹妙药的东西,它能够帮助婴儿生存。 在发展中国家,最佳的母乳喂养——开始于婴儿出生后的一小时内,并在前6个月内使用纯母乳喂养(没有其他食物或液体,包括水在内),然后一直喂养到2岁或以后——能够阻止12%的5岁以下儿童死亡事件1。纯母乳喂养的儿童受腹泻和肺炎等疾病的影响很小,存活的可能性也比非母乳喂养的儿童高14倍2

母乳是很安全的: 它总是温度适宜、无需准备,即使是在卫生状况差和应用水不安全的情况下,也可以放心喂养。 从这点上看,母乳喂养能够保证婴儿获得充足可靠却又经济营养的食物。 母乳喂养还能够为健康的大脑发育提供支持,提高教育表现并且降低肥胖和其他慢性疾病的风险。

母亲们通过母乳喂养也受益匪浅: 母乳喂养能够帮助防止产后出血,减少乳腺癌和卵巢癌的风险,并且让女性在多次怀孕之间拥有良好的恢复期。

出生六个月后,联合国儿童基金会推荐除了母乳以外,儿童还应经常摄入多种营养丰富的食物以及干净卫生的辅助食品。 这也食物不仅仅是为了填饱婴儿的肚子: 它们还要提供充足的能量、蛋白质、脂肪、维生素和矿物质,以满足婴儿的成长需求。 

而婴儿看护人的角色也同食物本身一样重要: 看护人应多与儿童交流,回应他/她的饥饿信号,选择适当的食物,并确保准备食物的过程安全清洁。

面临的挑战

从全球范围来看,母乳喂养和辅助食物的状况都令人堪忧。 全世界仅有38%的婴幼儿(0-6个月大)得到了纯母乳喂养,许多幼儿每日的饮食量都达不到最低标准。

人们面临的最大挑战之一就是当地政府的关注意识不强。 这就意味着在改善母乳喂养和辅助食物情况方面,相关的保护性法律、医护人员培训以及咨询项目均得不到足够的优化与财政投资。

母亲们都表示,母乳喂养的方法本身就充满挑战: 提供有关专业喂养的支持至关重要。 然而,许多国家却都缺乏那些经过培训、并能为母亲的母乳喂养和辅助喂养提供咨询与支持的医护人员。这种情况需要改变。

必须制定强有力的国家政策与法律(呼应《国际母乳代用品销售守则》),以还击配方奶粉生产企业贬低母乳喂养习惯的那些激进甚至不道德的营销策略。

政府也需要更好地为在职母亲的哺乳需求提供支持。 采取支撑性的国家政策与法律(如带薪产假、哺乳假和专属空间)将有助于确保哺乳和工作两不耽误。

缺乏经济营养的食物也是全球许多家庭正在面临的问题。  通常情况下,固体食物和软食都来得太早或太晚,提供饮食的频率和数量也无法满足儿童正常发育的需求,又或者食物的粘稠度和营养密度也不适用于儿童的需要。

缺少食物和卫生实践的问题缘起于诸多因素: 包括看护人缺乏教育、信仰和文化禁忌、看护人的工作负担、以及资源不足、贫穷和食品不安全等。 不健康食品和饮料的营销也是良好营养状况的一大阻碍。

紧急情况期间喂养婴儿就变得更具挑战了。看护人常需要竭力寻找喂养婴儿的安全场所,而应急食物短缺也是受灾人群面临的最大问题。紧急事件期间难以控制、定位不准的婴儿配方食品发放也会影响到母乳喂养。

联合国儿童基金会的回应

全球母乳喂养倡议行动—联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织正带领全球的合作伙伴,促使政府履行政治承诺并加大投资,从而增加母乳喂养比例。 相应事宜的快速进展是可能实现的: 在改善母乳喂养状况方面,一些国家已经取得了巨大收获。

保护性政策与法律—联合国儿童基金会倡议各国立法保护母乳喂养并关停那些涉及不道德营销战略的配方奶粉公司。 联合国儿童基金会支持各国执行并管控相关政策。

此外,联合国儿童基金会还同各国政府合作,制定并执行相应政策,为需要进行母乳喂养的母亲提供时间、空间与支持。 其中包括允许母亲在返回岗位前多与婴儿相处的产假立法、支持性的工作-家庭政策、以及涉及母乳喂养所需时间和指定场所的政策和允许工作场地挤奶的政策。

项目指导—联合国儿童基金会还就适当的护理和喂养方法提供全球指导。 其中包括联合国儿童基金会婴幼儿喂养方案指导,以及最近出台的埃博拉情境下的婴幼儿喂养指导。 

培训及能力增强—联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织针对婴幼儿喂养制定了整合方案,包括提升医护人员能力的支援性管理,以便其更好地为母亲提供支持和咨询。 联合国儿童基金会还与康奈尔大学合作提供了在线培训课程,以便为发展中国家的婴幼儿喂养项目提供支持。  

婴儿友好医院倡议该倡议由联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织领导,旨在帮助分娩后的母亲进行母乳喂养,从而确保母亲在出院返家后仍能持续母乳喂养。 不接受免费或低成本母乳替代品、并且执行成功母乳喂养10项支持步骤的妇产医院,将被冠以“婴儿友好”医院的称号。 

基于社区的方案–联合国儿童基金会与社区合作,为那些想要采取正确喂养方式的母亲提供了咨询机会。 联合国儿童基金会还制定了基于社区的婴幼儿喂养咨询包,用以培训社区工作人员。 定制的咨询方案考虑到了家庭居住的环境,并且提供了具体行动以改变行为举止、改善喂养习惯并增强支撑网络。 这些方案在那些卫生系统薄弱的地区尤为重要。

改善富营养辅助食品的状况—联合国儿童基金会向看护人提供营养教育,进而改善辅助喂养状况。 在那些受到不安全食物影响的地区内,联合国儿童基金会还推广使用强化食品和微量营养粉,以改善辅助食品的营养质量。

紧急情况支持– 联合国儿童基金会始终是人道主义形势中的前排兵,一直在提供支持、努力为喂养婴儿搭建安全场所并监管婴儿配方奶粉的发放。

支援HIV病毒区内的婴儿喂养— 联合国儿童基金会协助受艾滋病毒影响国家的政府,在最新指导的基础上,制定有关艾滋病毒和婴儿喂养的战略与政策,并培养医护人员的能力,以便确保受艾滋病毒感染的母亲能够安全地喂养婴儿。 

________________

1 布莱克.R等人,‘低收入和中等收入国家中母亲及儿童的营养不良和超重情况’。《柳叶刀》2013年8月3日,第9890期382卷,427-451页。
2 布莱克.R等人,‘母亲及儿童营养不良:全球和地区程度及健康后果’(母亲与儿童营养不良系列1),《柳叶刀》2008年1月,第9508期371卷,243-60页。


 

 

搜索

Nutrition

Breastfeeding and complementary feeding

What and how we feed babies is critically important

Babies need the right foods at the right time to grow and develop to their full potential. The most critical time for good nutrition is in the brief 1,000 day period from the start of a woman’s pregnancy until a child’s second birthday.

Breast milk is the best food for children’s health and development during this critical window. It provides all of the vitamins, minerals, enzymes and antibodies that children need to grow and thrive.

Breastfeeding is a miracle investment. It is a universally available, low-tech, high impact, cost-effective solution for saving babies’ lives – but globally, it hasn’t received the attention it should. UNICEF is working to change this.

Breastfeeding is the closest thing the world has to a magic bullet for child survival. In developing countries, optimal breastfeeding – starting within one hour of birth, exclusive breastfeeding (no additional foods or liquids, including water) for 6 months, and continued breastfeeding until age 2 or longer – has the potential to prevent 12 per cent of all deaths in children under age 5.1 Exclusively breastfed children are less susceptible to diarrhoea and pneumonia and are 14 times more likely to survive than non-breastfed children2.

Breast milk is safe: it is always the right temperature, requires no preparation, and is available even in environments with poor sanitation and unsafe drinking water. In this way, breastfeeding guarantees babies access to a reliable, sufficient quantity of affordable, nutritious food. Breastfeeding also supports healthy brain development, higher educational achievement, and lowers the risk of obesity and other chronic diseases.

Mothers also benefit from breastfeeding: it helps prevent post-partum hemorrhage, reduce the risk of breast and ovarian cancers, and allows women to better space their pregnancies.

After the first 6 months of life, UNICEF recommends that children eat a frequent and diverse diet of nutrient-rich and hygienically prepared complementary foods in addition to breast milk. These foods are not only to fill a child’s belly: they must provide enough energy, protein, fats, vitamins and minerals to meet their growing needs.

The role of the caregiver is as important as the food itself: caregivers need to interact with the child, respond to his or her hunger signals, select appropriate foods, and prepare those foods safely.

What are the challenges?

Globally, breastfeeding and complementary feeding practices are poor. Only 38 per cent of the world’s (0-6 month old) infants are exclusively breastfed and most young children are not eating a minimally acceptable diet.

One of the biggest challenges is a lack of awareness on the part of national governments. This has, in turn, meant limited prioritization and financial investment for things like protective legislation, training of health workers, and counselling programmes to improve breastfeeding and complementary feeding practices.

Any mother will tell you that breastfeeding itself can be challenging: skilled support is crucial. However, many countries have a shortage of health workers trained to counsel and support mothers with both breastfeeding and complementary feeding. This needs to change.

Strong national policies and legislation – reflecting the International Code of Marketing of Breast Milk Substitutes – are needed to combat the aggressive and often unethical marketing tactics of formula producing companies that undermine breastfeeding norms and practices.

Governments also need to better support working mothers to breastfeed. Adopting supportive national policies and legislation – such as paid maternity leave, breastfeeding breaks, and designated spaces – will help guarantee that breastfeeding and working are not mutually exclusive.

The lack of access to affordable, nutrient-rich foods is an ongoing problem for many families around the world. Too often, solid and soft foods are introduced too soon or too late, the frequency and amount of food offered is less than required for normal child growth, or the consistency or nutrient density of the food may be inappropriate for the child's needs.

Inadequate food and hygiene practices are related to a number of factors: lack of education of caregivers, beliefs and cultural taboos, the workload of the caregiver, poor access to resources, poverty, and food insecurity. The marketing of unhealthy food and drinks to children is also a barrier to good nutrition.

Feeding babies becomes even more challenging during emergencies. Caregivers often struggle to find safe spaces to feed their children, and emergency-related food shortages hit vulnerable populations the hardest. The uncontrolled and untargeted distribution of infant formula during emergencies can also undermine breastfeeding.

How is UNICEF responding?

Global Breastfeeding Advocacy Initiative – UNICEF and WHO are leading a global partnership to galvanize political commitment and investments to increase breastfeeding rates. Rapid progress is possible: some countries have already made dramatic gains in improving breastfeeding.

Protective policies and legislation – UNICEF advocates for national laws to protect breastfeeding and stop infant formula companies from using unethical marketing practices. UNICEF supports countries to enforce and monitor these policies./p>

UNICEF also works with governments to develop and enforce policies that provide time, space, and support for women to breastfeed. This includes maternity leave legislation to allow women more time with their babies before returning to work, supportive work-family policies, and policies to allow time and designated spaces for breastfeeding or expressing milk in the workplace.

Programme guidance – UNICEF provides global guidance on appropriate care and feeding practices. Some of these include UNICEF’s Programming Guide for infant and young child feeding, and most recently, guidance on infant and young child feeding in the context of Ebola.

Training and capacity strengthening – UNICEF and WHO have developed an integrated course on infant and young child feeding, including supportive supervision to build the capacity of health workers to better counsel and support mothers. UNICEF provides an online training course, in partnership with Cornell University on supporting infant and young child feeding programmes in developing countries. 

Baby friendly hospital initiativeThis initiative, led by UNICEF and WHO, helps mothers initiate breastfeeding after birth, which in turn supports its continuation after the mother returns home. A maternity facility can be designated 'baby-friendly' when it does not accept free or low-cost breast milk substitutes and has implemented 10 specific steps to support successful breastfeeding.

Community-based approaches – UNICEF works with communities to establish counselling opportunities for mothers to adopt appropriate feeding practices. UNICEF has produced a community-based infant and young child feeding counselling package to train community workers. Counselling is tailored to the contexts in which families live, providing concrete actions to change behaviors, improve feeding practices, and strengthen support networks. It is particularly important in places where the health system is weak.

Improving access to nutritionally adequate complementary foods – UNICEF provides caregiver nutrition education to improve complementary feeding. In settings plagued by food insecurity, UNICEF promotes the use of fortified foods and micronutrient powders to improve the nutrient quality of complementary foods.

Support in emergencies – UNICEF is on the front lines in humanitarian situations, providing counselling, working to establish safe spaces for infant feeding, and monitoring the distribution of infant formula.

Support on the feeding of HIV-exposed infants – UNICEF assists governments in HIV-affected countries to develop national strategies and policies on HIV and infant feeding based on the latest guidance and to build the capacities of health workers to support HIV-infected mothers to breastfeed safely.

 

 

________________

1 Black, R. et al., ‘Maternal and child undernutrition and overweight in low-Income and middle-income countries’, The Lancet, vol.382, no. 9890, 3 August 2013, pp.427-451.
2 Black R. et al. ‘Maternal and child undernutrition: global and regional exposures and health consequences’. (Maternal and Child Undernutrition Series 1). The Lancet, vol. 371 No. 9608, January 2008, pp.243-60


 

 

New enhanced search