儿童营养问题

《儿童和产妇营养进展跟踪报告》呼吁国际社会关注全球粮食安全

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0815/Ramoneda
在兰格普尔成马里的社区营养中心,一位母亲正在喂孩子吃营养补充食品。

克里斯.尼尔斯报道

美国纽约,2009年11月10日 – 联合国儿童基金会最近发布的一份报告显示,粮食短缺问题是幼儿死亡的最重要原因之一。目前,全球受饥饿和营养不良影响的人数已经超过10亿。

 点击此处观看视频

今天发布的《儿童和产妇营养进展跟踪报告》指出,三分之一的五岁以下儿童死亡与母亲和儿童的营养不良状况有关。由于全球金融危机,再加上食品价格不断上涨,使更多的家庭在为能够吃上有营养的食物而挣扎。

联合国儿童基金会营养事务助理主任维尔纳.舒尔汀克(Werner Schultink)说:“我们发表的报告提请人们关注,发展中世界有将近2亿名五岁以下的儿童患有慢性营养不良症。这个数字太高了。”

这份报告显示,问题集中发生在几个地区,其中80%的慢性营养不良儿童生活在24个国家。有1.95亿儿童发育迟缓,他们中的90%居住在非洲和亚洲。发育迟缓是长期营养不足所致,如果母亲没有充足的营养,她们的孩子先天就营养不良。

妇女地位的影响

舒尔汀克先生指出:“妇女的地位问题是一个重要因素。几乎所有这些国家的妇女都没有足够的权利,来决定照顾自己或子女的方式,她们通常被视为二等公民。”

儿童早期的食品缺乏容易导致他们患上诸如肺炎和腹泻之类的疾病,而且可能会阻碍他们一生的智力发展。

舒尔汀克先生说,营养不良的儿童“在学校表现较差,他们长大后也将难以获得成功;更糟糕的是,儿时的营养不良还有可能影响到他们成年以后的健康状况,他们可能患上诸如心脏病或糖尿病这样的慢性疾病。”

紧急国际行动

《儿童和产妇营养进展跟踪报告》同时呼吁,为解决影响10亿人的粮食匮乏问题,全世界必须紧急行动起来。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2004-0573/Ramos
在墨西哥恰帕斯州圣胡安查姆拉市,一个男孩正在吃玉米。

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴将继续努力,为那些处境最危险的人群提供食物和营养。这些有效的项目已经为最不发达国家中大约80%的弱势目标儿童提供了维生素A补充剂,并且帮助确保发展中国家里72%的家庭摄取到足够的加碘食用盐。

在非洲开展的鼓励为婴儿实行纯母乳喂养至少半年的项目也取得了进展。

舒尔汀克先生说:“如果这些国家能做到这些,能够保护他们的儿童,说明更多的国家也应该能够做到。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.尼尔斯报道,联合国儿童基金会最近发布的《儿童和产妇生存发展评估报告》报告显示,粮食短缺问题是幼儿死亡的最重要原因之一。
 视频   | 低w

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Nutrition

'Tracking Progress': UNICEF report calls for urgent international action on nutrition

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0815/Ramoneda
Tasleem Mondy pours a cup of therapeutic milk, providing treatment for her undernourished 18-month-old son, Mohammed, at their home in Karachi, Pakistan.

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, USA, 11 November, 2009 – As the number of hungry and malnourished people passes 1 billion, a new UNICEF report identifies undernutrition as one of the major causes of death among young children.

VIDEO: Watch now

‘Tracking Progress on Child and Maternal Nutrition’, released today, says that undernutrition in mothers and children is a factor in a third of all deaths of children under five. At the same time, the global financial crisis and rising food prices have left many more families struggling to put nutritious food on the table.

“The report we have launched draws attention to the fact that 200 million children under the age of five in the developing world suffer from chronic undernutrition. That’s a very high number,” said UNICEF Associate Director of Nutrition Werner Schultink.

As the report shows, the problem is concentrated in just a few regions, and 80 per cent of all chronically undernourished children are found in just 24 countries. Among children who suffer from stunting – a consequence of chronic nutritional deprivation that begins before birth if the mother is undernourished – 90 per cent live in Africa and Asia.

Impact of women’s status
“An important factor in almost all of these countries is the situation of women,” noted Mr. Schultink. “Women do not have enough decision-making power to either take care of themselves or of their children and, in general, are seen as lower-class citizens.”

Inadequate nutrition in early childhood makes children more susceptible to diseases such as pneumonia and diarrhoea – and it can impair them for life.

Undernourished children “will perform less well in school, they will be able to do less well as an adult and, even worse, their health situation in adult life may be negatively affected,” said Mr. Schultink. “They are more likely to suffer from chronic diseases such as heart disease or diabetes.”

Urgent international action
The ‘Tracking Progress’ report calls for urgent international action to reach those who do not have adequate nutrition.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2004-0573/Ramos
A boy eats corn at a health and education support programme for local families in the municipality of San Juan Chamula, located in Chiapas, Mexico.

UNICEF will continue to work with its partners on successful programmes that work to improve nutrition for the children and families most at risk. Among other achievements to date, the organization has provided vitamin A supplementation to about 80 per cent of vulnerable children targeted for assistance in the least developed countries. And it has helped to ensure that some 70 per cent of all households in developing countries now consume adequately iodized salt.

Advances have also been made in Africa, with programmes that encourage exclusive breastfeeding for at least the first six months of a baby’s life.

“If these countries were able to do these things, if they were able to protect children,” said Mr. Schultink, “many more countries should be able to do the same.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the findings of a new UNICEF report that shows how undernutrition is affecting children worldwide.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search