儿童营养问题

抗击锌缺乏工作得到新支持

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1423/Markisz
在 “克林顿全球倡议”2009年的年会上,(左起)联合国儿童基金会执行主任维尼曼、美国前总统克林顿、国际锌协会执行主任威尔金森和泰克资源公司总裁兼首席执行官琳德赛先生一起,展示一份支持“锌与营养倡议”的承诺书。

艾米.贝内特报道

美国纽约,2009年9月24日 – 联合国儿童基金会和锌业合作伙今天在纽约召开的第五届“克林顿全球倡议”年会上召开。会上宣布了一个旨在消除缺锌问题并改善发展中国家粮食安全问题的特别项目。

在全体会议上,联合国儿童基金会执行主任维尼曼与美国前总统克林顿、泰克资源公司总裁兼首席执行官琳德赛(Donald Lindsay)和国际锌协会(IZA)执行主任威尔金森(Stephen Wilkinson)先生一起上台,展示一份支持“锌与营养倡议”的承诺书。

由国际锌协会领导的营养倡议,在泰克资源公司、联合国儿童基金会和其他合作伙伴的支持下,将致力于通过提高锌的摄入量,确保儿童的生存、成长和发育水平。

国际锌协会宣布初步承诺捐助500万美元,用以支持联合国儿童基金会在尼泊尔和秘鲁开展的大规模发放锌补充剂活动。国际锌协会是一个由经营锌业务的大企业高层管理人员组成的行业协会。

锌与营养

克林顿先生呼吁加强认识并了解锌在营养中的重要性。他说:“对于这个问题,90%的人没有意识到或完全不知道该做些什么。”

缺锌问题已被确定为一个重要的公共卫生问题,它是导致每年45万儿童死亡和每年总死亡人数达80万的杀手。全球大约有20亿人面临着缺锌的危险。

经验显示,我们有可能为世界上最贫穷和最偏远的社区定期提供拯救生命的干预措施,比如提供硫酸锌补充剂和口服补液盐。大规模地使用治疗性锌可以防止每年约30万名儿童死于有关腹泻的疾病。

琳德赛先生说:“今天宣布的‘锌与营养倡议’是为了在最需要锌的国家提高锌的摄入量。使用锌补充剂和锌肥有助于每年拯救成千上万名儿童的生命,并有助于粮食安全和增加生产量。”

推广补充剂

自从2004年联合国儿童基金会与世界卫生组织发表联合声明,建议使用锌补充剂和口服补液盐治疗腹泻以来,已经有大约50个国家的政府将使用锌控制腹泻纳入他们的儿童保健政策。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1424/Markisz
在纽约召开的第五届“克林顿全球倡议”年会上,美国前总统克林顿宣读承诺书。

然而,在国家一级推广锌补充剂的工作进展缓慢。问题包括有些国家很难改变保健计划和治疗指南,或面临着不能供应足够的优质锌补充剂的挑战。

为了推进这项工作,联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴们已经开展了一系列活动。值得注意的是,联合国儿童基金会在发展中国家发放硫酸锌的工作中,起着领导作用。

正如参加“克林顿全球倡议”年会的与会者所说,与锌业的合作将进一步加快持续地降低五岁以下儿童的死亡人数。此外,锌营养的改善将有助于为更好地促进儿童的成长发育奠定基础。


 

 

搜索

Nutrition

At Clinton Global Initiative, partners pledge new support for fighting zinc deficiency

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1423/Markisz
At the 2009 Annual Meeting of the Clinton Global Initiative (from left), UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman, former US President Bill Clinton, International Zinc Association Executive Director Stephen Wilkinson and Teck Resources Limited President and CEO Donald Lindsay display a commitment to support the Zinc and Nutrition Initiative.

By Amy Bennett

NEW YORK, USA, 24 September 2009 – At the fifth Annual Meeting of the Clinton Global Initiative (CGI) in New York, CGI hosted UNICEF and zinc industry partners today for the announcement of a unique effort aimed at eliminating zinc deficiency and improving food security in developing countries.

During a plenary session, UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman took the stage with former US President Bill Clinton, President and CEO Donald Lindsay of Teck Resources Limited and Executive Director Stephen Wilkinson of the International Zinc Association (IZA). They displayed a pledge commitment to support the Zinc and Nutrition Initiative.

Led by IZA with support and cooperation from Teck Resources, UNICEF and other partners, the nutrition initiative will work to ensure the survival, growth and development of children through improved zinc intake.

IZA – an industry association composed of senior executives from major zinc-related businesses – has announced an initial commitment of $5 million to help UNICEF scale up zinc supplementation in Nepal and Peru.

Zinc and nutrition
Mr. Clinton called for greater awareness and understanding of the importance of zinc in nutrition. “This is something 90 per cent of us are unaware of or wouldn’t have a clue as to what to do about it,” he said.

Zinc deficiency has been identified as a significant public health problem contributing to the deaths of about 450,000 children each year, and approximately 800,000 deaths overall. Worldwide, some 2 billion people are at risk of zinc deficiency.

But experience shows that it is possible to routinely deliver life-saving interventions – such as zinc sulphate supplements and oral rehydration salts – to children in the world’s poorest and most remote communities. Scaling up the use of therapeutic zinc could prevent an estimated 300,000 diarrhoea-associated child deaths annually.

“The Zinc and Nutrition Initiative announced today is designed to increase the intake of zinc in countries where it is most needed,” said Mr. Lindsay. “The use of zinc supplementation and zinc fertilizers can help save hundreds of thousands of children a year, and contribute to food security and increased production.”

Roll-out of supplements
Since the release of a 2004 UNICEF-World Health Organization Joint Statement recommending zinc supplementation and oral rehydration salts for the treatment of diarrhoea, about 50 governments have changed their child health policies to include zinc for diarrhoea management.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1424/Markisz
Former US President Bill Clinton announces pledge commitments at the fifth Annual Meeting of the Clinton Global Initiative in New York City.

However, the actual roll-out of zinc supplements at the country level has been slow. Complications include the difficulty of changing health plans and treatment guidelines in some countries, as well as the challenge of ensuring an adequate supply of quality zinc supplements.

UNICEF has undertaken a range of activities with several partners in order to advance this process. Notably, the agency has taken a lead role in the procurement of zinc sulphate for distribution in the developing world.

As participants in the CGI event suggested, collaboration with the zinc industry will further accelerate the continuing reduction in deaths of children under the age of five. Beyond that, improved zinc nutrition will help lay the foundation for greater progress on child growth and development.


 

 

New enhanced search