UNICEF Home
unicef in actionHighlightsInformation ResourcesDonations, Greeting Cards, & GiftsFor the MediaVoices of YouthAbout UNICEF
Unicef Home      

Press Centre

Press Centre Home

Press Releases 1996-2003

UNICEF in the News

Calendar

Executive Speeches

Country Stats

For Broadcasters

Press Centre

Media advisory

Bellamy begins whistle-stop journey across Africa

UNICEF Chief to Spotlight Immunization, AIDS, Girls’ Education, and Drought

GENEVA / NEW YORK, 19 November 2002 – Carol Bellamy, Executive Director of UNICEF, begins a five-nation tour of Africa this week, during which she will spotlight a series of major issues confronting children on the continent and around the world.

Bellamy’s trip will focus on child immunization rates, children orphaned by AIDS, the education gap affecting girls, and the growing drought crisis in the Horn of Africa. Her journey will encompass stops and activities in:

  • Senegal Sunday 17 November – Thursday 21 November
    Dakar: Launch of the new WHO/World Bank/UNICEF report, The State of the World’s Vaccines and Immunization, on Wednesday 20 November
  • Also: Board meeting of the Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunization, chaired by Ms. Bellamy
  • Europe Friday 22 November – Monday 25 November
    Paris: UNICEF-UNESCO joint meeting on education, Monday 25 November
  • Ghana Tuesday 26 November June – Wednesday 27 November
    Accra: Regional meeting with UNICEF offices from West and Central Africa
  • Namibia Thursday 28 November – Friday 29 November
    Windhoek: Regional conference on Orphans and Vulnerable Children, Bellamy speech and press conference on Friday 29 November
  • Tanzania Saturday 30 November – Thursday 4 December
    Kisaraw: Visit to girls’ education initiatives in this local district, 30 November
    Dar-es-Salaam: Participate in World AIDS Day events, 1 December
  • Also in Dar: Bellamy will announce a major campaign for girls’ education in front of African Education Ministers (MINEDAF), Tuesday 3 December
  • Ethiopia Thursday 5 December – Saturday 7 December
    Addis Ababa: Tour of drought-affected regions; meetings with national leaders

    * * *
    For further information, please contact:

Alfred Ironside, UNICEF Media, New York (212) 326-7261
Wivina Belmonte, UNICEF Media, Geneva (4122) 909-5509
Madeline Eisner, UNICEF Media, Nairobi (2542) 622-214
Margharita Amodeo, UNICEF Media, Abidjan (2250) 501-1319
Angela Walker, UNICEF Media, Addis Ababa (251-1 515155 x251 )