新闻中心

新闻发布稿

联合国儿童基金会呼吁募集22亿美元,用以帮助处于危难中的5900万儿童

© UNICEF/NYHQ2013-1159/MIA FARROW
2013年11月9日,联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米亚.法罗拍下了这张照片。流离失所的孩子们站在中非共和国北部博桑戈阿(Bossangoa)地区的帐篷庇护所前。

日内瓦,2014年2月21日 —— 联合国儿童基金会今天发出呼吁募集22亿美元资金,用于在2014年为8500万人提供人道主义援助,其中包括在50个国家中身处暴力冲突、自然灾害及其它复杂紧急事项中的5900万儿童。

“我刚从南苏丹回来,最近爆发的大规模冲突夺去了数百万无辜儿童的生命。冲突导致超过40万儿童及其家人流离失所,超过320万人急需人道主义援助。雨季即将到来,我们必须提前准备物资并加强基础服务,为此,我们需要筹集紧急资金,阻止一场大灾难的爆发。”联合国儿童基金会紧急项目主任特德.柴班(Ted Chaiban) 说。
 
“除了数百万已受中非共和国及叙利亚国内冲突影响的儿童之外,南苏丹儿童也在经历冲突,人道主义援助形势更加急迫。尽管目前各新闻头条报道的重点是应对这些情形复杂、资金不足的危机,但还有很多其它严峻的局势需要立即获得资金及紧急人道主义援助,包括阿富汗、哥伦比亚、刚果民主共和国、缅甸、索马里和也门及联合国儿童基金会呼吁中提及的其它国家。”柴班说。
 
联合国儿童基金会的《2014针对儿童的人道主义行动》强调了处于人道主义危机中的儿童每天面临的挑战、为了帮助他们生存和成长所需的支持,以及在最困难的环境中仍然有望取得的成果。

针对叙利亚及周边地区,联合国儿童基金会需要募集8.35亿美元以提供免疫、水和卫生设施、教育及保护等救生援助;并提供凝聚力及和平建设技能的支持,以满足建设更可持续发展未来的需求。

“儿童永远是紧急事件中最弱势的群体,他们更容易遭受暴力、剥削、疾病和忽视。”柴班说,“但在有支持的情况下,我们可以改善儿童的生活。联合国儿童基金会正与合作伙伴共同致力应对各种人道主义局势,包括萨赫勒地区的营养不良问题;也门安全饮用水和卫生设施的匮乏;海地爆发的霍乱;阿富汗袭击儿童事件的增加;及安哥拉的旱灾。”
 
此次呼吁筹集的资金还将帮助联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴共同开展工作,通过加强国家应急体系及培养儿童和社区的恢复能力,增强社区应对未来冲突或自然灾害冲击的能力。
 
此次发出的2014募捐呼吁所筹集的捐款将支持联合国儿童基金会继续巩固2013年的工作成果。2013年取得的成果包括:

•         为2450万名儿童接种了麻疹疫苗;
•         近2000万人获得了安全的饮用、烹饪及生活用水;
•         270万儿童获得了接受改善教育的机会,包括正式和非正式的教育;
•         190万儿童获得了针对严重急性营养不良的治疗;
•         93.5万儿童获得了心理支持。

然而,资金不足(如安哥拉、厄立特里亚、莱索托和马达加斯加)、人道主义援助不足、动荡的局势及艰难的运作环境,都意味着许多需求尚未得到满足。

联合国儿童基金会尤其需要不指定具体项目或紧急情况用途的资源。这能够使得儿基会及时应对未得到资金支持的紧急需求并通过创新型解决方案处理复杂事态,以及在大规模紧急事件中及时采取复原行动——许多类似的紧急事件往往同时波及多个国家。

# # #

2014针对儿童的人道主义行动呼吁及相关国家信息详见: www.unicef.org/appeals

编者按:2014针对儿童的人道主义行动呼吁将根据危机的规模、对儿童和妇女造成影响的紧迫性、响应行动的复杂性及响应能力的局限列出涉及的50个国家及地区。

关于联合国儿童基金会
联合国儿童基金会坚持在各方面努力提升每一名儿童的权利和福祉。与合作伙伴一起,我们在190个国家和地区将承诺兑现为实际行动,重点关注最弱势和受排斥的儿童,使我们的努力可以惠及所有儿童,不论他们身处何地。欲了解有关联合国儿童基金会及其工作的更多信息,请访问:www.unicef.org

欢迎访问我们的 Twitter 和 Facebook

欲了解更多信息,请联系:

联合国儿童基金会日内瓦 - 梅尔卡多(Marixie Mercado),电话:+4122-909-5716;手机:+4179-756-7703;电邮: mmercado@unicef.org

联合国儿童基金会日内瓦 – 帕特里克.麦考密克(Patrick McCormick),电话:+4122-909-5713,手机:+0541,电邮:pmccormick@unicef.org
 
联合国儿童基金会纽约总部 – 肯特.佩吉(Kent Page),电话:1-212-326-7605,手机:1-917-302-1735;电邮: kpage@unicef.org
 
联合国儿童基金会纽约总部 – 凯特.多诺万(Kate Donovan);电话:1-212-326-7452;手机:1-917-378-2128;电邮: kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 
搜索

Press centre

Press release

UNICEF calls for US$2.2 billion to help 59 million children in emergencies

Largest emergency appeal on record, almost 40 per cent for Syria and region

© UNICEF/NYHQ2013-1159/MIA FARROW
In a photograph taken by UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow on 9 November 2013, displaced children stand near tent shelters, at l’Évêché Catholic Mission, Bossangoa, Central African Republic

GENEVA, 21 February 2014 – UNICEF appealed today for almost US$2.2 billion to provide life-saving humanitarian assistance in 2014 to 85 million people, including 59 million children, who face conflict, natural disasters and other complex emergencies in 50 countries.

“I have just returned from South Sudan, the latest large-scale conflict to disrupt the lives of millions of innocent children. Over 400,000 children and their families have been displaced by the conflict, and over 3.2 million people are in need of humanitarian assistance. The rainy season is coming and we need to preposition supplies and reinforce essential services, for which we need urgent funding to prevent a catastrophe,” said Ted Chaiban, UNICEF’s Director of Emergency Programmes.
 
“The children of South Sudan join millions of others affected by conflict in the Central African Republic and Syria. But while today’s headlines focus on these complex, under-funded crises, many other desperate situations also require immediate funding and urgent humanitarian assistance. These include Afghanistan, Colombia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Myanmar, Somalia and Yemen, and other countries reflected in UNICEF’s appeal,” Chaiban said.
 
UNICEF’s Humanitarian Action for Children 2014 appeal highlights the daily challenges faced by children in humanitarian crises, the support required to help them survive and thrive, and the results that are possible even in the most difficult circumstances.

For Syria and the sub-region, UNICEF is appealing for US$835 million to deliver life-saving assistance including immunization, water and sanitation, education, and protection; and to support the social cohesion and peace-building skills needed to build a more sustainable future. 

“Children are always the most vulnerable group in emergencies, facing a high risk of violence, exploitation, disease and neglect,” Chaiban said. “But when support is made available, we can change the lives of children for the better. With its partners, UNICEF is working to address a diverse range of humanitarian situations including malnutrition in the Sahel; lack of safe drinking water and adequate sanitation in Yemen; cholera in Haiti; increased attacks on children in Afghanistan; and drought in Angola.”
 
Funds raised by the appeal will also help UNICEF in its work with partners to strengthen communities’ abilities to cope with future conflict or natural disaster shocks, by reinforcing national preparedness systems and developing resilience among children and communities.
 
Contributions to UNICEF’s 2014 appeal will allow the organization to build on its work in 2013, during which the following results were achieved:
      •   24.5 million children immunized against measles;
      •   Nearly 20 million people provided with access to safe water for drinking, cooking and bathing;
      •   2.7 million children provided with access to improved education, both formal and non-formal;
      •   1.9 million children treated for severe acute malnutrition; and
      •   935,000 children reached with psychological support.

However, funding gaps in some countries – such as Angola, Eritrea, Lesotho and Madagascar – as well as inadequate humanitarian access, insecurity and a challenging operating environment meant that many needs were not met. UNICEF particularly seeks resources that are not ear-marked for specific programmes or emergencies. This would allow the agency to respond to underfunded emergencies or where the needs are greatest; to apply innovative solutions to complex situations; and to integrate early recovery programming in large-scale emergencies, many of which affect several countries simultaneously.

# # #

The Humanitarian Action for Children 2014 appeal and related country information can be found here: www.unicef.org/appeals

Multimedia content available at http://weshare.unicef.org/MediaResources

Note to Editors
The 50 countries and areas featured in the Humanitarian Action for Children 2014 appeal are highlighted due to the scale of these crises, the urgency of their impact on children and women, the complexity of the response, and the capacity to respond.

About UNICEF
UNICEF promotes the rights and wellbeing of every child, in everything we do.  Together with our partners, we work in 190 countries and territories to translate that commitment into practical action, focusing special effort on reaching the most vulnerable and excluded children, to the benefit of all children, everywhere.  For more information about UNICEF and its work visit: www.unicef.org

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

For more information, please contact:

Marixie Mercado, UNICEF Geneva, Tel: +4122-909-5716; Cell: +4179-756-7703; mmercado@unicef.org

Patrick McCormick, UNICEF Geneva, Tel: +4122-909-5713; Cell: +4179-303-0541; pmccormick@unicef.org
 
Kent Page, UNICEF New York, Tel: 1-212-326-7605; Cell: 1-917-302-1735; kpage@unicef.org
 
Kate Donovan, UNICEF New York, Tel: 1-212-326-7452; Cell: 1-917-378-2128; kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

UNICEF in South Sudan

WATCH on YouTube
New enhanced search