新闻中心

新闻发布稿

联合国儿童基金会执行主任表示,中非共和国儿童亟需救助、希望和资金支持

中非共和国班吉/塞内加尔达喀尔/日内瓦/布鲁塞尔,2014年1月20日 —— 中非共和国于今日举行临时总统选举,在过去的72小时内,毫无意义的暴力冲突已在各地造成多人死亡、全国陷入紧张局势。

一个由平民车辆组成的车队在逃往北部的途中,在布阿尔(Bouar)附近遭到袭击,这一暴力事件造成3名儿童和19名成年人死亡。国际红十字会帮助掩埋了在博亚利(Boyali)、博阿利(Boali)和博森贝莱(Bossembele)一带发现的50具尸体,这些人在上周末各派别间的暴力冲突中遭到杀害。昨天上午,一群暴徒在班吉将两名男子砍伤,随后用石块将其打死并在大庭广众之下焚烧尸体,包括儿童在内的很多人目睹了这一惨剧。

“对生活在中非共和国的儿童而言,最近几个月充满了可怕的暴力、痛苦和恐惧。”在班吉访问的联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克说,“儿童遭遇了伤害和死亡、亲眼目睹和承受了他们本不该面对的恐怖场景。他们中有太多人被迫离开了自己的家园、与家人失散、被招募到武装组织中。”

约230万名儿童受到了国内冲突的影响,近50万名儿童在过去一年中因暴力冲突而流离失所,许多人藏身于树林中,很少、或根本无法获得基本的服务与援助。全国各地的学校已经停课,卫生诊所被洗劫一空,供水系统遭到破坏。生活在全国各地流离失所者安置点中的成千上万人面临的人道主义局势可能在3月开始的雨季中进一步恶化。

今天,欧盟和联合国在布鲁塞尔就对中非共和国的人道主义援助和资金需求共同举办了一次高级别会议。在日内瓦,联合国人权理事会也举办了针对中非共和国的特别会议。

联合国儿童基金会呼吁,为了重建能够保护和培养儿童的医疗、教育和社区系统,儿童必须成为紧急响应的核心及重点投入的目标。这一切将需要时间、承诺及资源的投入,必须立即开始行动。

“中非共和国正处于一个十字路口。我们现在做什么,或者不做什么,都会对未来产生巨大影响 —— 不仅对个别儿童的生活,更对整个社会。”雷克先生说,“通过紧急集中全球的关注、资金和政治意愿,为中非共和国的儿童重建美好的童年,我们能够为他们的生活带来积极的变化,为他们的社会创造一个未来。”

###

关于联合国儿童基金会
联合国儿童基金会坚持在各个方面努力提升每一名儿童的权利和福祉。与合作伙伴一起,我们在190个国家和地区将承诺兑现为实际行动,重点关注最脆弱和受排斥的儿童,使我们的努力可以惠及所有儿童,不论这些儿童身处何地。
 
欲了解有关联合国儿童基金会及其工作的更多信息,请访问:www.unicef.org

欢迎访问我们的 Twitter 和 Facebook

欲了解更多信息,请联系:

联合国儿童基金会中非共和国 - 琳达.汤姆(Linda Tom);电话:+ 236-70550210; ltom@unicef.org

联合国儿童基金会纽约(负责中非共和国相关事务)- 肯特.佩吉(Kent Page);电话:+ 1 212-326-7605;手机:+ 1 917-302-1735; kpage@unicef.org  

联合国儿童基金会中非共和国 - 劳伦.迪维利耶(Laurent Duvillier);电话:+221 338 69 76 42;手机:+221 77 740 35 77; lduvillier@unicef.org

联合国儿童基金会布鲁塞尔 - 玛丽-弗朗斯.布尔乔亚(Marie-France Bourgeois); mfbourgeois@unicef.org

联合国儿童基金会日内瓦 - 梅尔卡多(Marixie Mercado);电话:4179 756 7703 mercado@unicef.org


 

 

 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Press release

Central African Republic’s children urgently need healing, hope and funding, says UNICEF chief

BANGUI, Central African Republic/DAKAR, Senegal/GENEVA/BRUSSELS, 20 January 2014 – Over the past 72 hours, senseless violence has resulted in many deaths and created tension throughout the Central African Republic in the lead-up to today’s vote to select an interim president of the country.

This violence includes three children and 19 adults killed when a convoy of civilians fleeing north was attacked near Bouar. The Red Cross helped bury some 50 people killed over the weekend around Boyali, Boali and Bossembele in inter-communal violence. Yesterday morning, two men were hacked and stoned to death by a mob in Bangui, their bodies then burned on a main road in front of passersby, including children.

“Recent months have been a time of horrific violence, suffering and fear for children in the Central African Republic,” UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake from Bangui. “They have suffered death and injury and have witnessed terrible things that no child should ever see, much less endure. Too many have been displaced from their homes, separated from their families and recruited by armed groups.”

Some 2.3 million children are affected by the conflict in the country, with nearly half a million children displaced by violence in the past year, many hiding in the forests with little or no access to basic services or assistance. Schools across the country are closed, health clinics ransacked and water systems destroyed. The rainy season, beginning in March, will exacerbate an already precarious humanitarian situation for hundreds of thousands of people living in IDP sites across the country.

Today, the European Union and the United Nations are co-hosting a high-level meeting on humanitarian response and funding needs for the Central African Republic in Brussels. And in Geneva, the UN Human Rights Council is holding a Special Session on the Central African Republic.

UNICEF urges that children be at the heart of the response and the focus of greater investment, if there is to be any chance of rebuilding the health, education and community systems that protect and nurture children. This will take time, commitment and resources. The work must begin now.

“The Central African Republic is at a crossroads. What we do now, or fail to do now, will have an impact for years to come, not only on individual children’s lives, but also their society,” Lake said. “By urgently focusing global attention, financial resources and political will to restore a better childhood for the children of Central African Republic we can make a positive difference in their lives – and thus the future of their society.”

###

About UNICEF
UNICEF promotes the rights and wellbeing of every child, in everything we do. Together with our partners, we work in 190 countries and territories to translate that commitment into practical action, focusing special effort on reaching the most vulnerable and excluded children, to the benefit of all children, everywhere.

For more information about UNICEF and its work visit: www.unicef.org

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

For more information, please contact:
Linda Tom, UNICEF Central African Republic; Tel: + 236-70550210; ltom@unicef.org

Kent Page, UNICEF New York (on mission in CAR); Tel: + 1 212-326-7605; Mobile: + 1 917-302-1735; kpage@unicef.org  

Laurent Duvillier, UNICEF Central African Republic; Tel: +221 338 69 76 42; Mobile: +221 77 740 35 77; lduvillier@unicef.org

Marie-France Bourgeois, UNICEF Brussels, mfbourgeois@unicef.org

Marixie Mercado, UNICEF Geneva; Tel: 4179 756 7703; mercado@unicef.org


 

 

 

 Email this article

 Printer friendly

 Press Releases

New enhanced search