新闻中心

新闻说明

受超强台风“海燕”影响的儿童已达400万,联合国儿童基金会积极加强紧急响应

马尼拉/纽约/哥本哈根,2013年11月10日 —— 联合国儿童基金会正在加紧为菲律宾受到超强台风“海燕”影响的地区提供紧急救援物资。11月8日“海燕”登陆菲律宾,据最新的估计显示,受灾难影响的儿童已多达400万。

联合国儿童基金会已在菲律宾国内动员了能满足3000受灾家庭所需的儿童食疗食品、急救工具包、水和卫生箱。在交通允许的情况下,将重点救援重灾区之一的塔克洛班。

“我们正加紧为经受这场灾难冲击的孩子们提供关键物资。”联合国儿童基金会驻菲律宾代表穗积智生表示,“台风对基础设施和通讯设施造成了严重的破坏,与受灾最严重地区的联系十分有限,到达重灾区的难度可想而知。但是,我们正夜以继日地工作、千方百计地寻找办法;在条件允许的情况下,让这些物资尽快送达受灾儿童的手中。”

联合国儿童基金会位于哥本哈根的仓库正在空运价值130万美元的物资,为额外1万个家庭提供支持,包括最近受到保和岛地震影响的家庭。运送的物资包括净水药片、肥皂、医药箱、防水油布和微量营养素补充剂。

在超强台风“海燕”所造成的可怕后果中幸存的儿童们迫切需要紧急援助,以应对劫后余生的一切。由于台风对供水和卫生系统造成了巨大破坏,目前特别要关注卫生问题。儿童也需要一个安全和被保护的空间,这样他们才可以在成年人重建家园和生计时继续学习和玩耍。

“随着我们逐渐深入了解这场毁灭性的危机所造成的影响;我们发现,受灾儿童的数目超出了我们的预计。”穗积先生说道,“联合国儿童基金会正在尽一切努力接触到受灾儿童,并以最快速度为他们提供关键物资,以保护他们的健康、安全和福祉,应对未来艰难的日子。”

全部多媒体新闻,包括短片和照片,请访问: http://weshare.unicef.org/mediaresources

关于联合国儿童基金会
联合国儿童基金会在190多个国家和地区设有办事处,帮助儿童从幼儿到青少年期间的生存与茁壮成长。联合国儿童基金会是世界范围内为相关国家提供疫苗的最大供应者,在儿童健康和营养、优质水供应和卫生设施、男女平等接受优质基础教育以及保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病感染等领域提供帮助。联合国儿童基金会的资金完全来自个人、企业、基金会和政府的自愿捐助。欲了解有关联合国儿童基金会及其工作的更多信息,请访问:www.unicef.org.
 
欢迎访问我们的 Twitter 和 Facebook
 
欲了解更多信息,请联系: 
联合国儿童基金会菲律宾 - 扎弗立恩.乔杜里(Zafrin Chowdhury),电话:+632 901 01 77, 手机: +63 917 867 8366, zafrinchowdhury@gmail.com
驻马尼拉区域顾问 - 克里斯托夫.德.博诺(Chris de Bono),+63 929 768 2367, cdebono@unicef.org
联合国儿童基金会菲律宾 - 玛吉.弗朗西亚(Marge Francia),电话:+632 901 01 73, Mobile: +62 917 858 9447, mfrancia@unicef.org
联合国儿童基金会日内瓦 - 梅尔卡多(Marixie Mercado),手机:+41 79 756 7703, mmercado@unicef.org
联合国儿童基金会纽约 - 凯特.多诺万(Kate Donovan),电话:+1 917 378 2128, kdonovan@unicef.org
联合国儿童基金会纽约 - 萨拉.克罗(Sarah Crowe),手机:+ 1 646 209 1590, scrowe@unicef.org


 

 

 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

News note

As number of children affected by Super Typhoon Haiyan rises to 4 million, UNICEF steps up emergency response

MANILA/NEW YORK/COPENHAGEN, 10 November 2013 –  UNICEF is rushing emergency supplies to areas of the Philippines ravaged by Super Typhoon Haiyan on 8 November, as the latest estimates indicate that up to 4 million children could now be affected by the disaster.

Therapeutic food for children, health kits, water and hygiene kits to support up to 3,000 families in the affected areas have already been mobilized from supplies available in the country, with distribution prioritized for the Tacloban area as soon as access is possible.

"We are rushing to get critical supplies to children who are bearing the brunt of this crisis,” said UNICEF Philippines Representative Tomoo Hozumi. “Reaching the worst affected areas is very difficult, with limited access due to the damage caused by the typhoon to infrastructure and communications. But we are working around the clock to find ways to get these supplies to children as quickly as conditions allow."

UNICEF’s warehouse in Copenhagen is airlifting US$1.3 million worth of additional supplies for another 10,000 families, including those affected by the recent earthquake in Bohol. The shipments contain water purification tablets, soap, medical kits, tarpaulins, and micronutrient supplements.

Children who have escaped the terrible damage of Haiyan still need urgent assistance to survive the aftermath of the storm. Particular concerns include health, due to the impact of the typhoon on water supply and sanitation systems. Children also need safe and protected spaces to be able to play and resume studying while adults work to recover their homes and livelihoods.

"As we get a better picture of the impact of this devastating crisis, it is clear that even more children are affected than first thought," said Mr. Hozumi. "UNICEF is doing all it can to reach these children, as quickly as possible with critical supplies, to protect their health, safety and wellbeing in the difficult days ahead."

###

For all multi-media products, including b-roll and photo,  please visit:  http://weshare.unicef.org/mediaresources

About UNICEF
UNICEF works in more than 190 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence. The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS. UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments. For more information about UNICEF and its work visit: www.unicef.org.
 
Follow us on Twitter and Facebook
 
For further information, please contact:
 
Zafrin Chowdhury, UNICEF Philippines, Tel:+632 901 01 77, Mobile: +63 917 867 8366, zafrinchowdhury@gmail.com
Chris de Bono, Regional Adviser, in Manila, +63 929 768 2367, cdebono@unicef.org
Marge Francia, UNICEF Philippines, Tel: +632 901 01 73, Mobile: +62 917 858 9447, mfrancia@unicef.org
Marixie Mercado, UNICEF Geneva, Mobile: +41 79 756 7703, mmercado@unicef.org
Kate Donovan, UNICEF New York, Tel: + 1 212 326 7452, Mobile: +1 917 378 2128, kdonovan@unicef.org
Sarah Crowe, UNICEF New York, Mobile: + 1 646 209 1590, scrowe@unicef.org


 

 

 

New enhanced search