新闻中心

联合新闻发布稿

2015年将有24亿人缺乏经过改良的卫生设施

世界将难以实现千年发展目标的既定目标

日内瓦/纽约,2013年5月13日 –根据世卫组织和联合国儿童基金会今天发布的一份联合报告,约有24亿人(占全球1/3的人口)在2015年依然无法获得经过改良的卫生设施。

这份题为《关于环境卫生和饮用水方面的进展——2013年最新情况》的报告发出警告说,按照目前的进展速度,到2015年,千年发展目标(MDG)中使1990年未获得基本卫生设施的人口比例减半的具体目标将无法实现,差距为百分之八——或5亿人。

两个组织称,这方面的需求迫在眉睫。每天有超过1500名五岁以下的儿童因患腹泻病死亡,这种疾病与饮用水受污染、环境卫生缺乏或个人卫生不足有关。

虽然儿基会和世卫组织去年宣布,到2010年时,已经实现并超越了千年发展目标在饮用水方面的具体目标,但为改善环境卫生并覆及有需要的人群所面临的挑战,已经形成了必须采取行动以加快进展的强烈要求。

“我们迫切需要确保所有必要开展的工作都落实到位——政治承诺、资金支持、领导资源——这样全世界才能加快进展,实现千年发展目标在环境卫生方面的具体目标,”世卫组织公共卫生和环境司司长Maria Neira博士说,“世界可以发生转变,并使依然未获得基本卫生设施的数百万人的生活发生变化。这样在卫生和福祉方面获得的回报将是巨大的,会从源头上消除贫穷。”

本报告是对联合国副秘书长扬•埃利亚松(Jan Eliasson)要求迫切采取行动的一个呼应,他号召国际社会共同努力,到2025年时终止露天排便现象。现在距实现千年发展目标的最后期限还有不到三年的时间,世卫组织和儿基会呼吁国际社会做最后冲刺,以实现环境卫生目标。

“这属于一项紧急事项,其严重程度并不亚于一场大地震或海啸,”儿基会的水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)方案全球负责人Sanjay Wijesekera说,“每天都有数百名儿童死亡,每天都有数千名家长为所失去的儿子和女儿哀恸。面临着这样巨大的、每天都在上演的人间悲剧,我们能够而且必须采取行动。”

在从2011年最新数据得出的主要结论中,报告重点强调:

  • 全世界有近三分之二(64%)的人口已获得经过改良的卫生设施,自1990年起增加了近19亿人。
  • 约有25亿人无法获得经过改良的卫生设施。其中,有7.61亿人使用公共或共享的卫生设施,有6.93亿人使用的设施不符合最低卫生标准。
  • 在2011年,仍有10亿人在露天排便。有90%的露天排便发生在农村地区。
  • 截至2011年年底,全世界有89%的人在使用经过改良的饮用水源,55%的人在相关场所拥有管道供水。因此估计有7.68亿人没有获得经过改良的饮用水源,其中1.85亿人的日常所需依旧依赖地表水。
  • 城乡居民之间仍然存在巨大差距。在获得家庭管道供水的人中,城市居民占了四分之三。而在全球未获得经改良的饮用水源的人中,有83%来自农村;在没有卫生设施的世界人口中,农村人口占据了71%。

两个组织表示,加速卫生方面的进展是有可能实现的。报告总结了包括学术界、人权和全球监测社区在内的饮用水、环境卫生和个人卫生方案相关部门为2015年以后的世界共同编织的愿景:

  • 应当无人露天排便
  • 每个人应当具备安全饮用水、环境卫生和住家个人卫生条件
  • 每个学校和卫生中心应当具备饮用水、环境卫生和个人卫生条件
  • 应当持续保持饮用水供应、环境卫生和个人卫生
  • 应当消除卫生条件获取方面的不平等现象

***

下载完整报告及了解更多信息:
http://www.unicef.org/media/media_69081.html
http://www.wssinfo.org
http://www.who.int/phe/en/

*关于联合监测方案(JMP)
世卫组织/儿基会供水和环境卫生部门联合监测方案是联合国的正式机制,其任务是监测全球为实现千年发展目标在洁净饮用水和环境卫生的获取方面所获得的进展。联合监测方案的数据有利于改善洁净饮用水和卫生设施的获取情况,从而提高人们的生活品质。

关于世界卫生组织
世界卫生组织是联合国系统内负责卫生问题的指导和协调机构。它负责对全球卫生事务提供领导,拟定卫生研究议程,制定规范和标准,阐明以证据为基础的政策方案,向各国提供技术支持,以及监测和评估卫生趋势。欲了解有关世界卫生组织及其工作的更多信息,请访问: www.who.int

关于联合国儿童基金会
联合国儿童基金会在190多个国家和地区设有办事处,帮助儿童从幼儿到青少期间的茁壮成长。联合国儿童基金会是世界范围内为相关国家提供疫苗的最大供应者,在儿童健康和营养、优质水供应和卫生设施、男孩女孩平等接受优质基础教育以及保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病影响等领域提供帮助。联合国儿童基金会的资金完全来自个人、企业、基金会和政府的自愿捐助。

基于社区的全民卫生计划(CATS), 在联合国儿童基金会的支持下已在全球50多个国家展开, 包括撒哈拉以南非洲及南亚的关键区域。这项计划在过去5年内覆盖了超过3.9万个社区,使2400多万人不再在露天排便。

欲了解有关联合国儿童基金会及其工作的更多信息,请访问:www.unicef.org.

欢迎访问我们的 Twitter 和 Facebook 

如欲获得更多信息,请联系:

纽约儿基会媒体官员Rita Ann Wallace女士
电话:+ 1 212 326 7586 / 手机:+ 917 213 4034,电子邮件:rwallace@unicef.org

日内瓦世卫组织通讯联络官Nada Osseiran女士
电话:+ 41 22 791 4475 / 手机:+41 79 445 1624,电子邮件:osseirann@who.int


 

 

 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Joint press release

2.4 billion people will lack improved sanitation in 2015

World will miss MDG target

GENEVA/NEW YORK, 13 May 2013 – Some 2.4 billion people – one-third of the world’s population – will remain without access to improved sanitation in 2015, according to a joint WHO/UNICEF report issued today.

The report, entitled Progress on Sanitation and Drinking-Water 2013 Update, warns that, at the current rate of progress, the 2015 Millennium Development Goal (MDG) target of halving the proportion of the 1990 population without sanitation will be missed by eight per cent – or half a billion people.

While UNICEF and WHO announced last year that the MDG drinking water target had been met and surpassed by 2010, the challenge to improve sanitation and reach those in need has led to a consolidated call for action to accelerate progress.

“There is an urgent need to ensure all the necessary pieces are in place – political commitment, funding, leadership – so the world can accelerate progress and reach the Millennium Development Goal sanitation target,” said Dr Maria Neira, WHO Director for Public Health and Environment. “The world can turn around and transform the lives of millions that still do not have access to basic sanitation. The rewards would be immense for health, ending poverty at its source, and well-being.”
 
The report echoes the urgent call to action by United Nations Deputy Secretary-General Jan Eliasson for the world community to combine efforts and end open defecation by 2025. With less than three years to go to reach the MDG deadline WHO and UNICEF call for a final push to meet the sanitation target.

"This is an emergency no less horrifying than a massive earthquake or tsunami," said Sanjay Wijesekera, global head of UNICEF's water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) programme.  “Every day hundreds of children are dying; every day thousands of parents mourn their sons and daughters. We can and must act in the face of this colossal daily human tragedy.” 

Among the key findings from the latest 2011 data, the report highlights:

  • Almost two-thirds (64 per cent) of the world’s population had access to improved sanitation facilities, an increase of almost 1.9 billion people since 1990.
  • Approximately 2.5 billion people lacked access to an improved sanitation facility. Of these, 761 million use public or shared sanitation facilities and 693 million use facilities that do not meet minimum standards of hygiene.
  • In 2011, 1 billion people still defecated in the open.  Ninety per cent of all open defecation takes place in rural areas.
  • By the end of 2011, 89 per cent of the world population used an improved drinking-water source, and 55 per cent had a piped supply on premises. This left an estimated 768 million people without improved sources for drinking water, of whom 185 million relied on surface water for their daily needs.
  • There continues to be a striking disparity between those living in rural areas and those who live in cities. Urban dwellers make up three-quarters of those with access to piped water supplies at home. Rural communities comprise 83 per cent of the global population without access to improved drinking- water source and 71 per cent of those living without sanitation.

Faster progress on sanitation is possible, the two organizations say. The report summarizes the shared vision of the water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) sector including academia, human rights and global monitoring communities for a post-2015 world where:

  • No one should be defecating in the open
  • Everyone should have safe water, sanitation and hygiene at home
  • All schools and health centres should have water, sanitation and hygiene
  • Water, sanitation and hygiene should be sustainable
  • Inequalities in access should be eliminated

***

Download the entire report and get more information at:
http://www.unicef.org/media/media_69081.html
http://www.wssinfo.org
http://www.who.int/phe/en/

About the JMP
The WHO/UNICEF Joint Monitoring Programme (JMP) for Water Supply and Sanitation is the official United Nations mechanism tasked with monitoring global progress towards the Millennium Development Goal (MDG) relating to access to drinking water and sanitation. The JMP data helps draw connections between access to clean water and private sanitation facility and quality of life.

About WHO
The World Health Organization is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends. From its inception, WHO has recognized the importance of water and sanitation. Visit www.who.int for more information.

About UNICEF
UNICEF works in more than 190 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence. The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS. UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments.

Community Approaches to Total Sanitation (CATS), now being supported by UNICEF in 50 countries around the world, including crucial ones in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia, have led to more than 39,000 communities, with a total population of over 24 million people, being declared free of open defecation within the last five years.

For more information about UNICEF and its work visit: www.unicef.org.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

For further information, please contact:

Rita Ann Wallace, Communications Officer, UNICEF New York,
Tel: + 1 212 326 7586 / Mobile: + 917 213 4034, rwallace@unicef.org

Nada Osseiran, Communications Officer, WHO Geneva,
Tel: + 4122 791 4475 / Mobile: + 4179 445 1624, osseirann@who.int


 

 

 

New enhanced search