新闻中心

社评

联合国儿童基金会/世界卫生组织:应对肺炎和腹泻的新计划每年可挽救200万儿童的生命

日内瓦/华盛顿,2013年4月12日 —— 由联合国儿童基金会与世界卫生组织(WHO)今日推出的一项崭新的全球行动计划每年将可避免200万儿童死于肺炎和腹泻。肺炎和腹泻是全球导致五岁以下儿童死亡的首要原因。

“预防及控制肺炎和腹泻的综合性全球行动计划”呼吁群策群力共同防治这两种疾病,并确立了降低死亡率、改善针对儿童的救生干预措施服务的宏远目标。

“应对肺炎和腹泻的战略往往各自为营。”世界卫生组织孕产妇、新生儿、儿童和青少年卫生司司长伊丽莎白.马松(Elizabeth Mason)博士说,“然而,孟加拉、柬埔寨、埃塞俄比亚、马拉维、巴基斯坦和坦桑尼亚等国的经验已经证明,将这些战略更紧密地整合,在健康和经济效益方面都很有意义。”

导致肺炎和腹泻的原因很多,单一的干预措施并不能有效地防治或控制肺炎或腹泻。较富裕的国家已经证明,要减少这两种疾病造成的感染及死亡,一些因素至关重要。例如,良好的营养和干净的环境有助于保护儿童避免感染肺炎和腹泻。正投入使用的新型疫苗可以保护儿童不感染疾病。良好的医疗服务和正确用药可以确保儿童得到所需的治疗。但是在低收入与中等收入国家,目前,应对肺炎和腹泻的许多工作仍未给予这些因素足够的重视。

“这是一个公平问题。低收入国家的贫困儿童面临因肺炎或腹泻死亡的风险最大,但是,却更难获得所需的干预措施服务。”联合国儿童基金会健康计划全球负责人米奇.乔普拉(Mickey Chopra)博士说。

“我们非常清楚我们的目标。如果我们在死亡率最高的75个国家,将20%最富有家庭享有的基本干预措施服务提供给所有人,我们就可以在2015年实现千年发展目标的最后期限内,挽救200万儿童的生命。”乔普拉博士补充道。

世界卫生组织/联合国儿童基金会新的行动计划明确地确立了到2025年要实现的全球目标:将因严重肺炎和腹泻造成的五岁以下儿童死亡率在2010年的水平基础上减少75%,基本上消除这两种疾病造成的五岁以下儿童的死亡。此外,将全球五岁以下儿童发育迟缓的数量减少40%。

这项行动计划的目标水平显著高于当前水平。例如,这项计划呼吁让90%的儿童用上肺炎抗生素和治疗腹泻的口服补液盐,在当前水平的基础上分别增加了31%和35%。作为中期目标,致力实现让至少半数出生六个月内的婴儿接受纯母乳喂养——在2012年这一数值为39%。所有儿童应获得改善的卫生设施和安全的饮用水——目前的获得率分别为63%和89%;基于一些国家在采用新型肺炎球菌和轮状病毒疫苗领域已经取得的良好进展,这项计划期望到截至日期实现90%的疫苗接种覆盖率。

这项行动计划呼吁各国政府及其他利益相关者优先考虑援助最难以获得防治肺炎和腹泻服务的人群。在目前因肺炎和腹泻导致的儿童死亡中,近90%发生在撒哈拉以南的非洲地区和南亚地区。

正值国际社会加紧实现卫生千年发展目标(其中包括降低儿童死亡率的目标)之际,这项行动计划适时推出。国际社会的行动包括联合国秘书长发起的“每个妇女每个儿童”倡议及其组成部分“致力于儿童生存:重申承诺”—— 一项由联合国儿童基金会发起、170多个国家承诺到2035年消除所有可避免儿童死亡的全球运动。

在扩大和改善保护儿童免患腹泻和肺炎以及及时治疗患儿工作的同时,更紧密地整合现有各项计划及各类行动者(其中包括社区和私营部门)间的协作将是至关重要的。并且,所有工作必须确保长期执行的可行性。


***
编者注:

新的综合性全球行动计划基于现有承诺和举措,如联合国秘书长的妇女儿童健康全球性战略和“每个妇女每个儿童”运动;联合国妇女儿童健康信息和问责委员会;联合国妇女儿童救生商品委员会;“致力于儿童生存:重申承诺”;扩大治疗腹泻和肺炎工作的“2012年宣言”;“人人享有卫生设备与水”伙伴关系;“2005-2015‘生命之水’国际行动十年”;“可持续的环境卫生:2015年前的奋斗行动计划”;“全球疫苗行动计划”。

这项行动计划正与关于儿童肺炎和腹泻的《柳叶刀》新系列一起推出。该系列的四个文件提供了针对这两种疾病的综合行动的证据基础,包含了有关责任、流行病学、行之有效的干预措施、以及到2025年消除儿童因腹泻和肺炎导致可避免的死亡的经济成本的新数据。

有关儿童肺炎和腹泻的《柳叶刀》系列将于4月12日起在下面的网站刊载:www.thelancet.com/series/childhood-pneumonia-and-diarrhoea

关于世界卫生组织

世界卫生组织是联合国系统内负责卫生问题的指导和协调机构。它负责对全球卫生事务提供领导,拟定卫生研究议程,制定规范和标准,阐明以证据为基础的政策方案,向各国提供技术支持,以及监测和评估卫生趋势。欲了解有关世界卫生组织及其工作的更多信息,请访问:www.who.int

关于联合国儿童基金会

联合国儿童基金会在190多个国家和地区设有办事处,帮助儿童从幼儿到青少期间的茁壮成长。联合国儿童基金会是世界范围内为相关国家提供疫苗的最大供应者,在儿童健康和营养、优质水供应和卫生设施、男孩女孩平等接受优质基础教育以及保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病影响等领域提供帮助。联合国儿童基金会的资金完全来自个人、企业、基金会和政府的自愿捐助。欲了解有关联合国儿童基金会及其工作的更多信息,请访问: www.unicef.org

欢迎访问我们的 TwitterFacebook

欲了解更多信息,请联系:

世界卫生组织:
菲德拉.沙伊布(Fadéla Chaib)(日内瓦):电话:+41 22 791 3228,手机:+41 79 475 5556,电邮: chaibf@who.int

联合国儿童基金会:
梅尔卡多(Marixie Mercado)(日内瓦):电话:+41 22 909 5716,手机:+41 79 756 7703,电邮: mmercado@unicef.org
丽塔.安.华莱士(Rita Ann Wallace)(纽约):电话:+1 212 326 7586,手机:+1 917 213 4034,电邮: rwallace@unicef.org


 

 

 

 

 

多媒体

供记者使用图片
登录名: WHO_GAPPD
密码: GAPPD_501076

供记者使用视频

其他语言版本新闻稿

搜索

Press centre

Joint press release

UNICEF/WHO: New plan to address pneumonia and diarrhoea could save 2 million children a year

GENEVA/WASHINGTON, 12 April 2013 – A new Global Action Plan launched today by UNICEF and the World Health Organization (WHO) has the potential to save up to 2 million children every year from deaths caused by pneumonia and diarrhoea, some of the leading killers of children under five globally.

The Integrated Global Action Plan for the Prevention and Control of Pneumonia and Diarrhoea calls for closer integration of efforts to prevent and treat these two diseases and sets ambitious targets to reduce mortality rates and raise levels of children’s access to life-saving interventions.

“Too often, strategies to tackle pneumonia and diarrhoea run in parallel,” says Dr Elizabeth Mason, Director of Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health at WHO. “But as countries like Bangladesh, Cambodia, Ethiopia, Malawi, Pakistan and Tanzania are already showing, it makes good health sense and good economic sense to integrate those strategies more closely.”

Many factors contribute to these two conditions, so no single intervention can effectively prevent, treat or control either pneumonia or diarrhoea. However, as richer countries have demonstrated, a number of elements are key to reducing infections and deaths from both diseases. For example, good nutrition and a clean environment help protect children from both pneumonia and diarrhoea. New vaccines are being introduced to protect children from these diseases. Good access to health services and the right medicines can ensure they get the treatment they need. But many existing efforts to address pneumonia and diarrhoea in low- and middle-income countries have yet to capitalize on these common elements.

“This is a question of equity. Poor children in low-income countries are most at risk of death from pneumonia or diarrhoea but much less likely to get the interventions they need,” said Dr Mickey Chopra, global head of UNICEF’s health programmes.

“We know what to do. If, in the 75 countries with the highest death rates, we apply to the entire population the same coverage of essential interventions enjoyed by the richest 20 per cent of households, we can prevent the deaths of 2 million children even as soon as 2015, the deadline for the Millennium Development Goals,” Dr Chopra added.

The new WHO/UNICEF Action Plan sets clear goals for the world to achieve by 2025: a 75 per cent reduction in incidence of severe pneumonia and diarrhoea from 2010 levels among children under five, and the virtual elimination of deaths from both diseases in the same age-group. It also aims for a 40 per cent reduction in the global number of children under five who are stunted.

The Action Plan’s targets are significantly higher than current levels. For example, it calls for 90 per cent of all children to have access to antibiotics for pneumonia and oral rehydration salts for diarrhoea, up from current levels of 31 and 35 per cent respectively. As an interim target, at least half of all children under six months should be exclusively breastfed, against 2012 levels of 39 per cent. All children should have access to improved sanitation and safe drinking water, from 63 and 89 per cent respectively; and building on the good progress already made in some countries in introducing new vaccines against pneumococcal bacteria and rotavirus, it aims for 90 per cent coverage by the target date.

The Action Plan calls on governments and other stakeholders to prioritize investment in the population groups with the poorest access to services to prevent and treat pneumonia and diarrhoea. Nearly 90 per cent of pneumonia and diarrhoea deaths in children currently occur in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia.

The Action Plan comes at a time when the global community has strengthened its commitment towards the health MDGs, including towards reducing child mortality. These include the United Nations Secretary-General’s Every Woman Every Child initiative and within it, Committing to Child Survival: A Promise Renewed, a global movement spearheaded by UNICEF through which more than 170 countries have committed to ending all preventable child deaths by 2035.

In scaling up and refining existing efforts to protect children from diarrhoea and pneumonia and treat them appropriately when affected, improved coordination between existing programmes and a wide range of actors, including the community and the private sector, will be key. Efforts must also be sustainable over the longer term.


***
Notes to Editors:

The new integrated Global Action Plan builds on existing commitments and initiatives, such as the United Nations Secretary-General’s Global Strategy for Women’s and Children’s Health and Every Woman Every Child; the UN Commission on Information and Accountability for Women’s and Children’s Health; the UN Commission on Life-Saving Commodities for Women and Children; Committing to Child Survival: A Promise Renewed; the 2012 Declaration on scaling up treatment of diarrhoea and pneumonia; the Sanitation and Water for All partnership; the International Decade for Action ‘Water for Life’ 2005-2015; Sustainable sanitation: The Drive to 2015; and the Global Vaccine Action Plan.

The Action Plan is being launched in conjunction with a new Lancet Series on Childhood Pneumonia and Diarrhoea. The four papers in the Series provide the evidence base for integrated action on these two illnesses and include new data on burden, epidemiology, interventions that work, and the financial cost of ending preventable deaths from childhood diarrhoea and pneumonia by 2025.

The Lancet Series on Childhood Pneumonia and Diarrhoea will be available on this web site from 12 April: www.thelancet.com/series/childhood-pneumonia-and-diarrhoea

About WHO

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends. For more information about WHO and its work visit: www.who.int

About UNICEF

UNICEF works in more than 190 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence. The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS. UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments. For more information about UNICEF and its work visit: www.unicef.org

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

For more information, please contact:

WHO:
Fadéla Chaib (Geneva): Tel: +41 22 791 3228, Mobile: +41 79 475 5556, chaibf@who.int

UNICEF:
Marixie Mercado (Geneva): Tel: +41 22 909 5716, Mobile: +41 79 756 7703, mmercado@unicef.org
Rita Ann Wallace (New York): Tel: +1 212 326 7586, Mobile: +1 917 213 4034, rwallace@unicef.org


 

 

 

Multimedia

Photos for journalists
User name: WHO_GAPPD
Password: GAPPD_501076

Videos for journalists

Press releases in other languages

New enhanced search