新闻中心

官方声明

联合国儿童基金会宣布急需14亿美元用于救助人道主义危机中的儿童

联合国儿童基金会纽约、日内瓦,2013年1月25日 —— 今天,联合国儿童基金会发起了14亿美元的资金呼吁,用于解决今年对身处暴力冲突、自然灾害及其它紧急情况下的45个国家及地区儿童的紧急救生需求。这项呼吁所筹集的资金也将有助于提高备灾工作能力,并增强社区恢复能力,帮助社区应对未来危机、使危机的影响最小化。

“仅仅在2013年的第一个月,数百万叙利亚儿童及被迫逃至邻国的难民就已经遭受了重重磨难。马里和中非共和国国内的冲突日益恶化,妇女儿童面临着生命危险。”联合国儿童基金会紧急计划办公室主任特德.柴班(Ted Chaiban)说,“紧急情况下的儿童处于极其弱势的地位,生存条件往往极其恶劣、危险,他们面临疾病、暴力、剥削及歧视的风险很高。”

《2013针对儿童的人道主义行动报告》的援助对象既包括目前各新闻头条报道的国家,也包括许多媒体关注相对较少的国家,如:乍得、哥伦比亚、埃塞俄比亚、菲律宾、索马里、也门等,这些国家也急需关注与援助。

“叙利亚复杂的紧急形势已经成为联合国儿童基金会全球应急响应行动的一项重要工作。”柴班说,“除此之外,我们同时也在帮助世界各地面临巨大挑战、且没有受到足够关注的危机中的儿童。”

超过85%的资金需求将用于叙利亚及其相关难民危机之外的人道主义工作。本次呼吁所筹集的资金,将根据危机的规模、对儿童和妇女造成影响的紧迫性、响应行动的复杂性及响应能力的局限,对涉及的45个国家及地区进行优先排序。

对联合国儿童基金会2013年筹资呼吁的积极响应,将帮助本机构在2012年工作成果的基础上继续前进。2012年1月至10月取得的部分工作成果包括:

• 医疗卫生:3830万名儿童进行了疫苗接种
• 水、环境卫生及个人卫生:1240万人获得了安全的饮用、烹饪及生活用水
• 教育:300万名儿童的受教育状况得到改善
• 儿童保护:240万名儿童获得各种儿童保护服务
• 营养:200万名儿童获得严重急性营养不良的治疗
• 艾滋病毒及艾滋病:100万人获得体检、咨询及转诊治疗服务

    在2012年,像马达加斯加和哥伦比亚这样的一些国家由于资金缺口巨大,很多需求未能得到解决。在许多国家,入境问题、安全问题及合作伙伴的能力问题成为提供人道主义援助的其他主要制约因素。

    “对于本次筹资呼吁的响应,就是对儿童及其未来的投资。”柴班说,“联合国儿童基金会需要未指定用途的资源,以响应长久未得到资金支持的紧急需求、通过创新型解决方案处理复杂事态、以及在大规模紧急事件中及时采取复原行动 —— 许多这样的紧急事件同时波及多个国家。”

    # # #

    如需下载《2013针对儿童的人道主义行动报告》
    请访问: www.unicef.org/appeals

    关于联合国儿童基金会
    联合国儿童基金会在190多个国家和地区设有办事处,帮助儿童从幼儿到青少期间的茁壮成长。联合国儿童基金会是世界范围内为发展中国家提供疫苗的最大供应者,在儿童健康和营养、优质水供应和卫生设施、男孩女孩平等接受优质基础教育以及保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病影响等领域提供帮助。联合国儿童基金会的资金完全来自个人、企业、基金会和政府的自愿捐助。欲了解有关联合国儿童基金会及其工作的更多信息,请登陆:www.unicef.org

    欢迎访问我们的 Twitter 和 Facebook

    欲了解更多信息,请联系:

    联合国儿童基金会日内瓦的梅尔卡多(Marixie Mercado)
    Tel: +41-22-909-5716 Cell: +41-79-756-7703 Email: mmercado@unicef.org

    联合国儿童基金会日内瓦的克里斯.泰迪(Chris Tidey)
    Tel: +41-22-909-5715 Cell: +41-79-204-2345 Email: ctidey@unicef.org

    联合国儿童基金会驻纽约的肯特.佩吉(Kent Page)
    Tel: 1-212-326-7605 Cell: 1-917-302-1735 Email: kpage@unicef.org

    联合国儿童基金会纽约的彼得.斯默登(Peter Smerdon)
    Tel: 1-212-303-7984 Cell: 1-917-213-5188 Email: psmerdon@unicef.org

     


     

     

     

     

     

    搜索

Press centre

Press release

US$1.4 billion needed now for children in humanitarian crisis says UNICEF

GENEVA, 25 January 2013 – UNICEF appealed today for almost US$1.4 billion to meet the immediate, life-saving needs of children in 45 countries and regions gripped by conflict, natural disasters and other complex emergencies this year. Funds raised by the annual appeal will also go towards improving disaster preparedness, and to strengthening the resilience of communities to withstand and minimize the impact of new shocks.

“We are still in the first month of 2013, which has already proved harsh for millions of children suffering in Syria and for refugees who had to flee to neighbouring countries. Mali and the Central African Republic are also experiencing worsening conflict, threatening the lives of children and women,” said Ted Chaiban, UNICEF’s Director of the Office of Emergency Programmes. “Children are extremely vulnerable in emergencies, often living in unhealthy and unsafe conditions, at high risk of disease, violence, exploitation and neglect.”

The Humanitarian Action for Children 2013 appeal includes countries prominent in today’s news headlines along with many other countries that receive much less media coverage, such as Chad, Colombia, Ethiopia, the Philippines, Somalia and Yemen, but which also require urgent attention and  assistance.

“The complex emergency in Syria represents one important focus of UNICEF’s global emergency response,” said Chaiban. “But we are also delivering results for children in highly challenging and largely forgotten emergencies around the world.”

More than 85 per cent of the funding requirements are for humanitarian situations other than Syria and the related refugee crisis. The 45 countries and regions in the appeal are priorities due to the scale of the crisis, the urgency of its impact on children and women, the complexity of the response and the capacity to respond.

Contributions to UNICEF’s 2013 requirements will allow the organization to build on its work in 2012. Some of the results achieved between January through October 2012 include:

  • Health: 38.3 million children immunized
  • Water, Sanitation & Hygiene: 12.4 million people provided access to safe water for drinking, cooking and bathing
  • Education: 3 million children provided access to improved education
  • Child Protection: 2.4 million children provided with child protection services
  • Nutrition: 2 million children treated for severe and acute malnutrition
  • HIV and AIDS: 1 million people provided access to testing, counseling and referral for treatment

In 2012, large funding gaps in some countries such as Madagascar and Colombia left many needs unmet. In many countries, access, security and the capacity of partners are other major constraints to delivering humanitarian assistance.

“Contributions to the appeal are sound investments in children and their futures,” said Chaiban. “UNICEF seeks un-earmarked resources to allow the organization to respond to consistently underfunded emergencies or where the needs are greatest, to apply innovative solutions to complex situations, and to integrate early recovery in large-scale emergencies – many of which extend across multiple countries at the same time.”

# # #

To download the Humanitarian Action for Children 2013 Report
Please click here: www.unicef.org/appeals

About UNICEF
UNICEF works in more than 190 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence. The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS. UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments. For more information about UNICEF and its work visit: www.unicef.org

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

For more information, please contact:

Marixie Mercado, UNICEF Geneva
Tel: +41-22-909-5716 Cell: +41-79-756-7703 Email: mmercado@unicef.org

Chris Tidey: UNICEF Geneva
Tel: +41-22-909-5715 Cell: +41-79-204-2345 Email: ctidey@unicef.org

Kent Page, UNICEF New York
Tel: 1-212-326-7605 Cell: 1-917-302-1735 Email: kpage@unicef.org

Peter Smerdon, UNICEF New York
Tel: 1-212-303-7984 Cell: 1-917-213-5188 Email: psmerdon@unicef.org

 


 

 

 

New enhanced search