新闻中心

媒体咨询

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克就也门日益恶化的局势发表声明

2011 年 10 月 5 日 纽约 —— “联合国儿童基金会对在也门交火中受到摧残的儿童深感痛惜,呼吁冲突各方尽最大努力保护平民,特别是妇女和儿童。自今年也门国内动荡开始以来,交火已造成至少 94 名儿童死亡,240 名儿童受伤。

“来自我们合作伙伴的证实报告称,本周至少有两名儿童被杀。10 月 2 日,一名 7 岁的儿童在首都萨那被炮弹碎片击中身亡,10 月 4 日,一名 13 岁的男孩以同样方式失去生命。联合国儿童基金会谴责一切在任何地区针对儿童的暴力。

“也门的儿童本应该在一年中的这个时段忙于返校。但现在,他们面对的是武装分子而不是老师,是子弹而不是书本。这个国家正在陷入更深的人道主义危机中。

“也门的危机对最弱势的孩子们影响最大,他们中的大部分人现在急需援助,未来也需要长期的帮助才能让生活重回轨道。

“即便在目前的冲突开始之前,该国的营养不良率已经高得惊人,其对最贫困人群的影响随着食品价格的上涨和基础健康服务的崩溃而愈发严重。在也门 360 万 5 岁以下儿童中,至少有 43% 体重不足,58% 发育不良。

“致命的普遍贫困和营养不良,正在席卷整个国家,在儿童群体中尤为凸显。在该国部分地区,儿童营养不良率已经大大高于紧急水平,与世界上营养不良率最严重的国家一样糟糕,这引起了国际媒体的更多关注。

“也门的人们现在需要我们的关注和帮助。一刻也不能耽搁。

“在这次不断加剧的人道主义危机中,联合国儿童基金会呼吁对妇女和儿童进行紧急保护,使他们重返正常生活,以便至少使儿童能够平静地上学。

如需获取更多信息,请联络:
Patrick McCormick, 联合国儿童基金会纽约办公室,
电话:  + 1212 326 7426
邮件:pmccormick@unicef.org

Patricia Nakell, 联合国儿童基金会安曼办公室,   
电话: + 962-79-588-3799
邮件:pnakell@unicef.org

在 Twitter 关注我们:  twitter.com/unicefmedia


 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Statement

Statement by Anthony Lake, UNICEF Executive Director, on the worsening situation in Yemen

NEW YORK, 5 October 2011 – “UNICEF deplores children being caught in the crossfire in Yemen and urges all parties to the conflict to do their utmost to spare civilians, especially women and children.  At least 94 children have been killed and 240 wounded by gunshots or shelling in Yemen since civil unrest began this year.

“Reports confirmed by our partners say that at least two children were killed this week. A seven-year-old girl was killed by shrapnel in the capital, Sana’a, on 2 October and a 13-year-old boy perished in the same manner on 4 October. UNICEF condemns all violence against children wherever they are.

“The children of Yemen should be busy going back to school at this time of year. Instead, they face armed men rather than teachers, bullets instead of books. The country is sinking deeper into a humanitarian crisis.

“The crisis in Yemen has the biggest impact on the most vulnerable, children, many of whom need assistance now and require help in the longer term if they are to recover.

“Malnutrition rates were alarmingly high in the country even before the current violence broke out, and its impact on the poorest people has only been compounded by rising food prices and collapsing basic health services.  Of 3.6 million children under five years of age in Yemen, at least 43 per cent are underweight and 58 per cent are stunted.

“The deadly combination of widespread poverty and malnutrition, especially among children, is sweeping the country. Child malnutrition rates are already well above emergency levels in parts of the country and are as bad as malnutrition rates in some of the worst countries in the world, which receive more international media attention.

“The people of Yemen need our attention and help now. There is not a moment to lose.

“In this deepening humanitarian crisis, UNICEF calls for the urgent protection of women and children and a return to normal life so children can at least attend school in peace.”

For further information, please contact:
Patrick McCormick, UNICEF New York,
Tel:  + 1212 326 7426
pmccormick@unicef.org

Patricia Nakell, UNICEF Amman,  
Tel + 962-79-588-3799
pnakell@unicef.org

Follow us on Twitter:  twitter.com/unicefmedia


 

 

 

New enhanced search