新闻中心

社评

联合国儿童基金会、世界卫生组织和比尔及梅林达.盖茨基金会肯定安哥拉政府消除脊髓灰质炎疾病的新承诺,并允诺给予支持和督促进一步行动

安哥拉罗安达,2011年1月25日 – 在安哥拉访问之行即将结束之际,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克先生、比尔及梅林达.盖茨基金会全球健康项目总裁山田忠孝博士(Tachi Yamada)和世界卫生组织非洲地区助理主任玛特世蒂索.莫提博士(Matshidiso Moeti)对政府及其合作伙伴消除该国脊髓灰质炎疫情的承诺表示赞许。山田博士、莫提博士和雷克先生同样也重申了他们对实现这一重要目标的承诺。

在周一举行的与代表团的会议上,安哥拉总统若泽.爱德华多.多斯.桑托斯(Jose Eduardo dos Santos)重申了安哥拉政府和他自己对消除脊髓灰质炎疾病的承诺。他赞成推动该国2011年的免疫接种运动,并确保运动卓有成效地开展。在随后进行的全国委员会儿童会议上,这一承诺又得到各副部长、副州长和民间社会组织的积极响应,他们表示将在全国加强合作,扩大免疫接种的覆盖范围。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克说:“每个儿童都有接受免疫注射以预防疾病的权利,在安哥拉开展的新的伙伴关系有助于我们获得历史性的胜利,并在全世界彻底消除脊髓灰质炎疾病。”

在捐助商的圆桌会议上,私有企业和双边伙伴关系同意通过追加资金、物流支援和技术支持来补充2450万美元的资金缺口。今年的全国免疫接种运动共需要资金7000万美元。

山田博士说:“尼日利亚和印度所取得的杰出进展——去年两国的病例都减少了约95%,这让我们对消除全球脊髓灰质炎的运动充满信心。现在我们的目光转向安哥拉,在我们致力于在全球消除这一疾病时,必须对这里的工作成效承担责任。”

在会议中,罗安达市市长也对减少该市的疾病表示支持,罗安达市近年来一直是脊髓灰质炎病例最多的城市。在对罗安达市区的卡夸古社区进行实地考察时,代表团会见了一户家庭,家里的女儿因患脊髓灰质炎而瘫痪。他们还到访了为约4万人口提供医疗服务的一家诊所,会见了社区医疗志愿者,这些志愿者向社区民众宣传脊髓灰质炎和其它可预防性疾病的危害,并在免疫接种运动中作为疫苗接种人员,发挥了极为重要的作用。

安哥拉卫生部长若泽.维埃拉.迪亚斯.凡-杜内姆(Jose Vieira Dias Van- Dunem)说:“安哥拉政府非常清楚消除我国脊髓灰质炎疾病及预防疾病传播到邻国所要做的工作,我们需要家庭和社会各部门做出承诺,协力合作,制定更全面的规划,从而更好地开展免疫接种运动、加强常规免疫接种和强化疾病监督机制等方面的工作。”

安哥拉的脊髓灰质炎
安哥拉的脊髓灰质炎疫情前几年已经消除,但自2005年5月以来,该疾病又再度出现并开始蔓延,进一步传播到纳米比亚(2006年)、刚果民主共和国(2006、2008和2010年)和刚果共和国(2010年)等各国。尽管自2002年内战结束后在各方面取得了进展,安哥拉仍一直在恢复其基本医疗体系、投资基础设施建设和培育人才。该国在消除脊髓灰质炎和帮助儿童方面依然面临着诸多挑战。合作伙伴已经同意支持安哥拉政府加强疾病监督机制、提高应对疾病暴发的能力、培训更多医护人员和加强常规免疫接种工作。

另外,欲获得免费的高清晰图片和视频录像,请访问: www.thenewsmarket.com/unicef

关于联合国儿童基金会
联合国儿童基金会在150多个国家和地区设有办事处,以帮助从幼儿到青春期的儿童生存和茁壮成长。作为全球发展中国家最大的疫苗供应者,联合国儿童基金会在儿童保健和营养、良好的供水和卫生设施、男女平等的优质基础教育以及保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病影响等领域提供帮助。联合国儿童基金会的资金完全来自个人、企业、基金会和政府的自愿捐款。如需要了解更多有关联合国儿童基金会及其工作,请访问 http://www.unicef.org

如需了解更多信息,请联系:
隆那.哈瓦斯(Lone Hvass),联合国儿童基金会驻安哥拉办事处,电话:+244 912 653 017
lhvass@unicef.org

凯瑟琳.多诺万(Kathryn Donovan),联合国儿童基金会纽约总部,电话:+1 212 326 7452
kdonovan@unicef.org

梅莉莎.科韦利(Melissa Covelli),比尔及梅林达.盖茨基金会,电话:+1 206-799-3664
melissa.covelli@gatesfoundation.org


 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Joint press release

UNICEF, WHO and Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation applaud Angolan Government for renewed commitment to polio eradication, pledge support, and urge continued action

LUANDA, 25 January 2011 - As their visit to Angola came to a close today, Mr. Anthony Lake, UNICEF Executive Director, Dr. Tachi Yamada, president of the Global Health Program of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, and Dr. Matshidiso Moeti, Assistant Regional Director for WHO Africa, welcomed commitments by the government and partners to rid the country of the scourge of polio. Dr. Yamada, Dr. Moeti and Mr. Lake also renewed their own commitment to achieving this critical goal.

In a meeting with the delegation Monday, Angolan President Jose Eduardo dos Santos reaffirmed the government´s and his personal commitment to eliminating polio. He agreed to spearhead the country's 2011 vaccination campaigns and ensure that they are conducted with determination and efficiency. Later at a special meeting of the National Council on Children, this pledge was echoed by Vice Ministers, Vice Governors and civil society organizations, who agreed they would work across the country to improve vaccination coverage.

"“Every child has the right to be vaccinated against this evil disease,” said Anthony Lake, UNICEF Executive Director. “This renewed partnership in Angola can help us to achieve an historic victory and rid the world of polio once and for all.”

At a donor's pledging roundtable, private sector companies and bilateral partners agreed to contribute to the US$24.5 million shortfall by pledging additional funds, logistical support and technical expertise. A total of US$70 million is needed this year for the national immunization plan.

“Extraordinary progress in Nigeria and India – each has reduced cases by approximately 95 percent last year – has given us confidence in the global fight to end polio,” said Dr. Yamada. “The spotlight has turned to Angola, and we must all be held accountable for success here as we seek to rid the world of a terrible disease.” 

In a meeting, the Governor of Luanda also pledged his support for reducing the burden in his city, which has experienced the largest number of polio cases in recent years. During a field visit to Cacuaco, one of Luanda’s large urban communities, the delegation met with a family whose daughter had been paralyzed by polio. They visited a health clinic that provides services to almost 40,000 people and met with community health volunteers who play a vital role in educating communities about the dangers of polio and other vaccine-preventable diseases, and also serving as vaccinators during campaigns.

"The Government of Angola is clear about what needs to be done to eliminate polio in our country and stop the further spread to our neighbors," said Dr. Jose Vieira Dias Van- Dunem, the Minister of Health. "We need the commitment of families and all sectors of society to work together to mount a comprehensive plan that includes vaccination campaigns, stronger routine immunization, and better disease surveillance to quickly detect new cases."

Polio in Angola
Angola, which eliminated polio for several years, has been plagued by the reemergence of this crippling disease since May 2005.  The disease has since spread from Angola to Namibia (2006), the Democratic Republic of Congo (2006, 2008 and 2010), and the Republic of Congo (2010).  While good progress has been made since the war ended in 2002, Angola is still rebuilding its primary health care system and investing in infrastructure and human capital. The country still faces many challenges in its efforts to eliminate polio and reach all children.  Partners have agreed to work to support the Government in strengthening surveillance systems to improve the country's ability to respond to new outbreaks, training more health workers and increasing routine immunization.

In addition, high resolution images and video b-roll is available on request and also available free of charge at www.thenewsmarket.com/unicef

About UNICEF
UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.  The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments. For more information about UNICEF and its work visit: www.unicef.org

For further information, please contact:
Lone Hvass, UNICEF Angola,
Tel. +244 912 653 017
lhvass@unicef.org

Kathryn Donovan, UNICEF New York,
Tel 1 212 326 7452
kdonovan@unicef.org

Melissa Covelli, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation,
Tel +1 206-799-3664
melissa.covelli@gatesfoundation.org


 

 

 

New enhanced search