新闻中心

新闻发布稿

联合国儿童基金会执行主任就海地灾后恢复工作发表专栏

成吨未清除的废墟瓦砾。到处是人满为患的临时帐篷区。成千上万需要保护的儿童。海地依旧是一片满目疮痍的景象,当本周三我们纪念海地大地震一周年祭日时,对持续危机的全面评估,很有可能在我们的脑海里留下深刻的印象。

在一个如此规模空前灾难的紧急情况下,人们很自然会期待坏人的出现,同时发现英雄人物更是难以寻觅。但在我们真诚地评估海地灾情并了解问题症结的同时,我们还必须学习和借鉴做得对的地方及其成功的原因。

这项任务本身已经相当艰巨:在世界上最贫穷的国家之一和人道主义局势处于最恶劣的情况下,发生了大规模人员伤亡,和多种灾难,大批的国家民间服务遭到损坏,大量的关键记录被毁及国家的关键基础设施遭到惊人的破坏。对所承诺的援助的延误使灾后恢复的努力变得进一步复杂化。

而在过去三个月内,霍乱疫情已造成了约3,500 人死亡,至今已有150,000 病例的记录。尽管有我们自始至终的坚定努力,这一致命疾病带来的危害还未完全得到控制。
 
这些都是巨大的,前所未有的困难。每当我们回首往事,我们都应该提醒自己,在如此严峻的情况下不仅事态可能会更遭,而且也可能不会取得真正的进展。

海地多个救援组织与140个捐助国、国际非政府组织和包括联合国儿童基金会在内的联合国机构携手,已挽救了许多生命并改善了他们的生活状况。每天卡车运送着八百多万升的清洁水;移动营养小组使普遍的急性营养不良症得到缓解;近二百万名儿童和青少年接种了疫苗。

上千名儿童已与家人团聚。“儿童友好中心”使近10万名儿童受益,并提供心理保健服务。而新开展的“所有儿童返校”运动已接触到了约80%直接受地震影响的儿童。
这仅仅是一个开始。在海地的每一个紧急情况中,我们能够而且必须做得更好,将承诺的援助提供给最需要的人们和社区。我们必须确保各政府、国际援助机构和当地非政府组织间更好地协调。我们需要做更多的工作支持社区的努力,以便推动其自身的重建。

当还有这么多的事情要去做,还有这么多人在不断受苦的情况下,我们没有时间沾沾自喜。当然也不要因此变得垂头丧气。然而继续努力的风险之大足以令那些愿意提供帮助的望而生怯,使那些迫切需要得到帮助的人们陷入绝境。这对刚刚取得的一些小胜利来说是一种否定,对那些每天仍在当地帮助重建和恢复生活带来希望的英雄们来说是在推卸我们的责任。


如像玛丽这样的英雄,她是一名结构工程师和电台主持人,地震后回到了海地,决心帮助海地儿童重建学校。正如她所说的那样,“如果我们不给儿童提供上学的机会,我们将失去整整一代人。”

如像弗里尔.富兰克林这样的英雄,他对海地儿童的承诺早已成为传奇,在灾难刚发生他就为全国各地上千人提供清洁饮水。

如像莫维塔这样的英雄,一名太子港的注册护士和护士学校的前任教师,在经过九死一生后,现在致力于为梅斯门著名的“婴儿帐篷”服务,挽救了许多婴儿的生命。而像15岁大的朱迪这样的年轻英雄,尽管她在地震中失去了母亲和自己的家,但并没有失去希望。她现在和八名亲戚住在一个单间里,每天步行两小时去上学。“有时我真想放弃,”她说道,“但有一个微弱的声音告诉我要坚持下去。”


我们可以少做些吗?

无可否认,今天的海地,仍有瓦砾残垣,霍乱还在肆虐,政治动荡仍危及进展。但时间已让人们的眼光穿过瓦砾和废墟,看到了未来一个更强大的海地。一年后的今天,我们面对一个选择:是捶胸顿足,还是加入新的承诺,帮助海地人民一起重建他们遭到重创的国家。当众多海地人民还没有绝望时,我们又有什么理由失去信心?

阅读更多相关资讯: http://www.miamiherald.com/2011/01/11/2009944/look-beyond-the-rubble.html#ixzz1ApsyDHgY


 

 
搜索

Press centre

Op Ed

Op Ed by UNICEF Executive Director on Haiti's recovery

Tons of uncleared debris. Tent cities filled to overflowing. Tens of thousands of children in need of protection. Such harsh images of Haiti -- and stark assessments of the on-going crisis there -- are likely to dominate our thoughts this week, as we mark the somber anniversary of the earthquake that struck one year ago Wednesday.

In an emergency of such tragic magnitude, it is natural that we look for villains -- and much harder to look for heroes. But as we frankly assess and learn from what's gone wrong in Haiti, we must also study and build upon what has gone right, and why.

The task has been Herculean -- a humanitarian worst case scenario in one of the world's poorest countries, with massive casualties, multiple catastrophes, the decimation of the nation's civil service, reams of critical records destroyed and staggering damage to the country's critical infrastructure. Delays in pledged aid have further complicated the recovery effort.

And in the past three months, the cholera epidemic has claimed almost 3,500 lives, with almost 150,000 cases reported to date. Despite our determined efforts, the wave of this deadly disease has not yet crested.

These are enormous, unprecedented obstacles. But as we look back, we should remind ourselves not only that it might have been far worse, but that real progress has been possible, even in such dire circumstances.

Working together, Haitian relief organizations, 140 donor countries, international NGOs and the UN, including UNICEF have saved and improved many lives. More than eight million liters of clean water have been trucked every day; mobile nutrition units have helped to avert widespread acute malnourishment; almost two million children and young people have been immunized.

Thousands of children have been reunited with their families. Almost 100,000 children continue to benefit from a network of child-friendly spaces that provide psychosocial care. And the new "All to School'' campaign is reaching around 80 percent of children directly affected by the earthquake.

This is only a start. In Haiti -- as in every emergency -- we can and must do a better job channeling pledged aid to people and communities in greatest need. We need to ensure better coordination among government, the international aid community and local NGOs. And we need to do more to support communities' efforts to drive their own recovery.

When so much remains to be done, and when so many continue to suffer, it is no time for self-congratulation. But neither should it become an occasion for self-flagellation. To do so risks discouraging those who can still provide help -- to the absolute detriment of the people who so desperately need it. And it is both a denial of the small victories achieved and a disavowal of the heroes who are still out there, every day, helping to rebuild lives and restore hope.

Heroes like Marie, a structural engineer and radio host who returned to Haiti after the earthquake, determined to help Haiti's children by rebuilding schools. As she put it, ``If we don't give the children the opportunity to go to school, we will lose an entire generation.''

Heroes like Frere Franklin, whose commitment to Haiti's children is already the stuff of legend, and whose efforts to provide clean drinking water in the wake of disaster are reaching thousands of people around the country.

Heroes like Mauvette, a registered nurse and former lecturer at a nursing school in Port-au-Prince, who narrowly escaped death and now dedicates herself to the famous ``baby tents'' of Mais Gate, where so many newborn lives have been saved. And young heroes like Judith, 15, who lost her mother and her home in the earthquake, but who has not lost hope. She lives now in a single room with eight relatives, and walks two hours every day to attend school. ``Sometimes I want to give up,'' she says, ``but a little voice tells me to keep going.''

Can we do any less?

There is no denying that today in Haiti, rubble still remains, cholera still kills, and political turmoil still imperils progress. But the time has come to look beyond the rubble and the ruin, and to look ahead to a stronger Haiti. One year later, we have a choice -- to wring our hands or to join them together in renewed commitment to help Haitians rebuild their wounded country. For how we can despair, when so many Haitians have not?

Read more: http://www.miamiherald.com/2011/01/11/2009944/look-beyond-the-rubble.html#ixzz1ApsyDHgY


 

 

 

New enhanced search