新闻中心

官方声明

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴携手为儿童打造一届成功的世界杯

比勒陀利亚/纽约/日内瓦,2010年6月11日 – 今天,联合国儿童基金会热烈庆祝2010年南非世界杯开幕。随之开展的一系列有关足球的活动与项目将为儿童提供了解世界的机会,并通过宣扬体育的力量与精神来促进儿童权利的保护。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克在纽约说:“联合国儿童基金会非常期待能够让更多的儿童有机会在安全的环境下感受世界杯带来的精彩与刺激,不管孩子们是坐在场馆里还是在自己的村子里收看比赛。”

联合国儿童基金会、儿童无线广播基金会和其他社区合作伙伴共同支持开展了“世界杯在我家”( World Cup in My Village)项目,目前在两个非洲国家试行。这将让那些没有机会收看世界杯的年轻人能够在户外大屏幕和放映机上看到比赛。这些特别的大屏幕已经设立于一些没有电力供应或无线广播的地区,如卢旺达的鲁巴伍地区、赞比亚的芒古镇和联合国难民署的马宇卡瓦宇卡瓦(Mayukwayukwa)难民营。除了播放足球赛事外,大屏幕上还将播放有关儿童保健和权利等重要信息。

在世界杯主办国,联合国儿童基金会将同南非政府进行特殊合作,解决因人口流入而可能引发的潜在问题。南非有1200万贫困儿童,没有监护人的未成年儿童受到了特别关注。其中有些儿童可能被诱骗到世界杯比赛城市寻求工作机会和历险。

随着数以百万的人们收看比赛及参加庆祝活动,世界杯赛场将向儿童和成人宣传更多的有关保护儿童权利的讯息。

大规模的“红卡”宣传运动目前已经启动,向人们传达的信息是:南非应该杜绝虐待与剥削儿童的行为。这项运动针对儿童、家长和游客,利用数码、印刷和电子手段来对虐待、剥削和贩卖儿童的行为及雏妓旅游业发出警告。

南非旅游贸易博览会(FTTSA)是配合该运动向国际游客传达信息的重要伙伴,该组织同国际劳工组织(ILO)合作,目前已有30个旅游工业公司签署了“反对儿童商业性性剥削的国际协定”。这些包括宾馆、租车公司和旅游经营商在内的合作伙伴将通过他们的网络来宣传有关儿童权利和安全的信息。“红卡”运动将影响到南非及其邻国的数百万人民。

除了帮助提高人们的意识以及确保为没有监护人的未成年人和其他弱势儿童群体提供服务,联合国儿童基金会还同南非社会发展部、南非儿童福利及其它民间社会团体紧密合作,建立转诊体系,培训社会工作人员。

由联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴支持的儿童友好中心将在国际足联位于索韦托、桑顿、内尔斯普雷特和伊丽莎白港四个主要的“球迷会”开放。预计这些中心将容纳15000到45000名球迷以及负责儿童保护和紧急护理的社会工作者、儿童和青年护理人员以及受过训练的志愿者。友好中心的电视屏幕还将播放比赛,并开展适当的活动。联合国儿童基金会、南非儿童福利和其他合作伙伴将为有需要的家长提供有编号的腕带,方便走散后与孩子联系。

南非的艾滋病毒流行率很高,联合国儿童基金会支持南非的“拯救同胞”运动,向青年人和家庭宣传疾病的风险和预防知识。这次运动通过里昂内尔.梅西(Lionel Messi)、瑞恩.吉格斯(Ryan Giggs)、迪埃里.亨利(Thierry Henry)和帕特里斯.艾瓦拉(Patrice Evra)等一些世界顶级足球明星的号召力,用广告牌向全国传递信息,促进良好的男性行为、艾滋病毒测试、适度饮酒和安全的性生活。

雷克主任说:“世界杯让我们有机会把公众的注意力放到南非及世界各国儿童所面临的威胁上来,也让公众关注到我们为保护儿童所作的努力。我们可以通过利用体育的影响力来促进保护世界儿童的权利和福利。”

关于联合国儿童基金会
联合国儿童基金会在全世界150个国家和地区开展工作,帮助从幼儿期到青少年时期的儿童生存与健康成长。联合国儿童基金会是世界上向发展中国家提供疫苗最多的机构,并在以下领域开展支援工作:儿童卫生保健和营养、提供清洁的饮用水和环境卫生设施、帮助所有的男童和女童接受优质的基础教育、以及保护儿童免受暴力侵犯、剥削和艾滋病的伤害。联合国儿童基金会所有资金均来自政府、企业、基金会和个人的自愿捐助。欲了解有关联合国儿童基金会及其工作的更多信息,请登陆:http://www.unicef.org

如需更多信息,请联络:
伊冯娜.邓肯(Yvonne Duncan)
手机:+27 82 561 3970,
yduncan@unicaef.org

凯特.帕维尔茨克(Kate Pawelczyk)
手机:+27 72 217 3554
kpawelczyk@unicef.org

凯特.多诺万(Kate Donovan)
联合国儿童基金会纽约总部,
电话: 1 212 326 7452
kdonovan@unicef.org

如需了解更多有关联合国儿童基金会南非“红卡”宣传运动的信息,请登陆:http://www.unicef.org/southafrica/index.html

如需了解更多有关“协定”的信息,请登陆:http://www.thecode.org 或联系FTTSA,联系电话:+27 12 342 2945,e-mail:thecode@fairtourismsa.org.za

了解更多关于“世界杯在我家”活动:

米斯巴赫.谢赫(Misbah Sheikh),联合国儿童基金会,卢旺达
联系电话: +250 788 300 731
msheikh@unicef.org

帕特里克.斯莱文(Patrick Slavin),联合国儿童基金会,赞比亚
联系电话: +260 977 770 616
pslavin@unicef.org

詹尼娜.康德尔(Janine Kandel),联合国儿童基金会纽约总部
联系电话:+ 1 212 326 7684
jkandel@unicef.org

广播专业人士请注意,有关“世界杯在我家”
获取免费视频胶片和高分辨率图片,请登陆:www.thenewsmarket.com/unicef

获取免费音频剪辑,请登陆:www.childrensradiofoundation.org

浏览青少年所写的故事,请登陆:www.voicesofyouth.org


 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Press release

UNICEF and partners join together to help make the World Cup a win for children

PRETORIA/NEW YORK/GENEVA, 11 June 2010 - UNICEF cheered the kick off of the 2010 FIFA World Cup today.  A series of partnerships and programmes around the global football championship will provide children with the opportunity to learn about their world, and help harness the power of sport to promote children’s rights.

“UNICEF is very excited to be able to give more children the chance to safely experience the thrill of the World Cup, whether they’re sitting in the stadium or watching from their own villages,” said Anthony Lake, UNICEF Executive Director from New York. 

A programme called World Cup in My Village piloted in two African countries by UNICEF, the Children’s Radio Foundation and other community partners.  It will give young people who would otherwise not have the opportunity the chance to see World Cup football matches on large open-air screens and projectors. The special screens have been set-up in the Rubavu District in Rwanda, and in the town of Mongu and the UNHCR Refugee Camp of Mayukwayukwa in Zambia; places where there is no electricity or broadcast connection. In addition to the football, the screens will broadcast important information about children’s health and their rights.

In the host country, a special partnership between UNICEF and the South African government will address potential problems that may arise due to the massive influx of people. In a country where 12 million children live in poverty, special attention is being given to unaccompanied minors, some of whom may be induced to travel to the cities where games are played in search of employment opportunities and adventure.

With hundreds of millions of people tuned into the competition and the celebrations, the World Cup is a venue for many important messages about child rights for children and adults.

A massive Red Card communication campaign has been launched that sends out a message that child abuse and exploitation have no place in South Africa.  Targeted at children, parents and tourists, the campaign uses digital, print and electronic outreach to warn about child abuse, exploitation, child sex tourism and trafficking.

A key ally in getting the message out, especially to foreign visitors, is Fair Trade in Tourism in South Africa (FTTSA), an organization that works alongside the International Labour Organisation (ILO) and now has 30 tourism industry companies signed up to the International Code against Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children.  These partners, including hotels, car rental companies and tour operators will also disseminate messages about child rights and safety throughout their networks. The Red Card campaign is expected to reach millions of people in South Africa and neighbouring countries.

In addition to raising awareness and helping ensure services are available to protect unaccompanied minors and other vulnerable children, UNICEF has worked closely with South

Africa’s Department of Social Development, Child Welfare South Africa and other civil society partners to set up referral systems and train social workers. 

Child-friendly spaces, supported by UNICEF and partners, will open at four of the major FIFA Fan Fests in Soweto, Sandton, Nelspruit and Port Elizabeth. The sites are expected to host 15,000 to 45,000 fans as well as social workers, child and youth care workers and trained volunteers charged with identifying children who are in need of protection and emergency care. TV screens will show matches in the spaces and age-appropriate activities will also be offered. UNICEF, Child Welfare South Africa and other partners will offer parents the option of voluntarily tagging children and themselves with numbered wristbands to facilitate easy reunification in the event that parents and their children are separated.

HIV prevalence in South Africa is high, and UNICEF has also contributed to prevention efforts to educate young people and their families about risks by supporting the Brothers for Life Campaign. This campaign leverages the star power of some of the world’s top football players, including Lionel Messi, Ryan Giggs, Thierry Henry and Patrice Evra, through messages that will be displayed on billboards across the country promoting positive male behavior, HIV testing, alcohol consumption and safe sex. 

“The World Cup gives us a chance to focus positive public attention on the special risks children face in countries like South Africa and around the world and the special efforts we can take to protect them from those threats,” said Lake. “We can use the popularity of sport to promote children's rights and wellbeing around the world.”

About UNICEF
UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.  The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments. For more information about UNICEF and its work visit: www.unicef.org

For further information, please contact:
Yvonne Duncan,
Mobile:  +27 82 561 3970,
yduncan@unicaef.org

Kate Pawelczyk,
Mobile:  +27 72 217 3554,
kpawelczyk@unicef.org

Kate Donovan, UNICEF New York,
Tel: 1 212 326 7452,
kdonovan@unicef.org

For more information about UNICEF South Africa’s Red Card Information campaign, visit http://www.unicef.org/southafrica/index.html

For more information about The Code, visit www.thecode.org or contact FTTSA, or telephone  +27 12 342 2945  or via e-mail thecode@fairtourismsa.org.za

For information about World Cup in My Village, please contact:

Misbah Sheikh, UNICEF Rwanda, 
Tel: +250 788 300 731, 
msheikh@unicef.org

Patrick Slavin, UNICEF Zambia 
Tel: +260 977 770 616,
pslavin@unicef.org

Janine Kandel, UNICEF New York,
Tel: + 1 212 326 7684,
jkandel@unicef.org

Attention broadcasters
Video footage and high resolution images will be available free of charge at www.thenewsmarket.com/unicef

Audio clips will be available free of charge at www.radioworkshop.org

Stories about the screenings written by youth will be available on www.voicesofyouth.org


 

 

 

New enhanced search