新闻中心

新闻发布稿

安东尼.雷克正式担任联合国儿童基金会新任执行主任

2010年5月1日,纽约 - 拥有超过45年公共服务和国际经验的安东尼.雷克(Anthony Lake)今天正式上任,担任联合国儿童基金会第六任执行主任。他说:“能为联合国儿童基金会工作是一种殊荣。我期待与我们的许多合作伙伴、联合国儿童基金会遍布全球的专才和工作人员一起工作,共同致力促进各地儿童的每一项权利。”

联合国秘书长潘基文在征询联合国儿童基金会执行委员会的意见后,正式任命安东尼.雷克担任这一职务。潘基文3月16日在宣布这一决定时指出,雷克先生“长期服务美国政府的经验和其杰出的职业生涯,将是一笔财富。”

雷克先生有长期的与世界各国领导人和决策者一起工作的经验。他曾在比尔.克林顿总统任内担任国家安全顾问(1993年至1997年),也曾在卡特总统任内担任美国国家政策规划部部长(1977年至1981年)。在此期间,他负责处理全方位外交政策、国家安全、及人道主义和发展问题。2007年至2008年,他在奥巴马的总统竞选班子中担任外交政策高级顾问。

在他的职业生涯中,致力于和平和安全是一个显著的标志。1997年,他从政府部门离职,先后担任美国总统派往海地、埃塞俄比亚和厄立特里亚的特使。他促使埃塞俄比亚和厄立特里亚达成《阿尔及尔协议》,从而结束战争,他也因此获得2000年的白宫塞缪尔.德鲁.尼尔森奖(Samuel Nelson Drew Award)。他还在促使波斯尼亚、黑塞哥维那和北爱尔兰的和平进程的政策制定中发挥了领导性的作用。

他说:“和平与安全是建立一个适合儿童成长的世界的基础,战争不仅夺去儿童的生命,也会造成疾病滋生,破坏经济。归根结底,真正的和平不是一纸外交协议,而是女孩、男孩的安全与健康生活。如果我们能改善他们今天的生活状况,我们就能帮助他们继承一个更好的明天。”

安东尼.雷克在与非政府组织四十多年持续的工作中,在国际发展和儿童权利方面积累了广泛经验。在此期间,他还作为红十字国际委员会的国际顾问,领导了“国际志愿服务”的项目,并一直担任“救助儿童与海外发展”理事会的董事成员。

他是《千年宣言》和“千年发展目标”的坚定支持者。他说:“从本质上来说,千年发展目标是给全世界最脆弱的儿童一个更好地实现自己潜能的机会——不管是改善母婴健康、提高教育上的性别平等,还是根除贫困,都是如此。我们要实现设定的2015年千年发展目标任重道远,但我相信,通过政治承诺、有力的战略支持、充足的投资和全球社会的参与,我们一定可以做到。”

雷克先生与联合国儿童基金会的关系由来已久。他曾任职联合国儿童基金会美国基金会董事会成员达九年之久,包括从2004年至2007年任董事会主席一职。在他的主持下,美国基金会的募集的捐款大幅增加,同时也实现了人事和职能的过渡与转变。

安东尼.雷克毕业于哈佛学院,后在普林斯顿大学伍德罗.威尔逊公共和国际事务学院获得博士学位。在获联合国儿童基金会任命前,他是美国首都华盛顿乔治敦大学的外交事务教授。他致力于教育的坚定承诺还体现在他曾担任美国几所大学董事会的职务上,其中包括曼荷莲女子学院。

安东尼.雷克已婚,育有三个子女和五个孙子女。

关于联合国儿童基金会

联合国儿童基金会在全世界超过150个国家和地区开展工作,帮助儿童在婴幼儿期和青少年时期实现生存和发展的权利。联合国儿童基金会是世界上向发展 中国家提供疫苗最多的机构,为儿童提供卫生保健和营养、良好的供水和环境卫生设施,保障所有男孩和女孩都能接受优质的基础教育,并保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病的伤害。联合国儿童基金会的所有资金均来自政府、企业、基金会和个人的自愿捐助。

如需更多信息请联络

联合国儿童基金会纽约总部
Christopher de Bono
+ 1 212 303 7984
cdebono@unicef.org


 

 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Press release

Anthony Lake begins his tenure as UNICEF's Executive Director

NEW YORK, 1 May 2010 - Anthony Lake today begins his tenure as UNICEF’s sixth Executive Director, bringing more than 45 years of public and international service to the position.  “I am excited to be joining UNICEF. I look forward to working with our exceptional staff and our many partners to advance children’s rights around the world,” Mr. Lake remarked on his first day in office.

Anthony Lake was appointed by UN Secretary General, Ban Ki-moon, following consultations with UNICEF’s Executive Board. On announcing the appointment on 16 March 2010, the Secretary-General noted that Mr. Lake brings with him “a wealth of experience after a long and distinguished career with the United States government.”

Mr. Lake has worked with leaders and policy makers across the world.  As National Security Advisor (1993 - 1997) under President Bill Clinton, and as State Department Director of Policy Planning in the Carter administration (1977 - 1981), he managed the full range of foreign policy, national security, and humanitarian and development issues. In 2007-2008, he served as a senior foreign policy advisor to the presidential campaign of Barack Obama.

His commitment to peace and security are hallmarks of his career. After leaving government in 1997, he served as the United States President's Special Envoy, to Haiti as well as Ethiopia and Eritrea. His efforts, for which he received the 2000 White House Samuel Nelson Drew Award, contributed to the achievement of the Algiers Agreement that ended the war between Ethiopia and Eritrea. He also played a leading role in shaping policies that led to peace in Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Northern Ireland.

“Peace and security are the foundation of a world fit for children. Wars not only kill children – they breed disease and destroy economic hope. And in the end, real peace is not found in a piece of diplomatic paper. It is found in the secure and healthy lives of girls and boys. If we improve their lives today, we help them inherit a better tomorrow,” said Mr. Lake.

Anthony Lake has broad experience of international development and children's rights through ongoing work with non-governmental organizations spanning four decades. During that time he has led International Voluntary Services, acted as an international advisor to the International Committee of the Red Cross, and been a board member of Save the Children and the Overseas Development Council.

He is a strong supporter of the Millennium Declaration and Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). “At their heart, the Millennium Development goals are about giving the world's most vulnerable children a better chance to reach their full potential -- whether it's improving maternal and child health, increasing gender parity in education, or eradicating hunger. We’ve got a lot of urgent work ahead, leading up to, and beyond, the 2015 MDG targets we’ve set for ourselves. And I believe we can do it -- with political commitment, sound strategies, adequate investment and the engagement of a global community,” said Mr. Lake.

Mr. Lake’s ties with UNICEF are long-standing.  He served for nine years on the Board of the US Fund for UNICEF, including as Chair of the Board from 2004 to 2007. Under his chairmanship, the US Fund saw a significant increase in funding and undertook a transition in personnel and mission.

A graduate of Harvard College and Princeton University with a PhD from the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Anthony Lake served as Distinguished Professor in the Practice of Diplomacy at Georgetown University in Washington DC immediately prior to his appointment at UNICEF.  His strong commitment to education is reflected in his prior membership on the boards of several US academic institutions, including Mount Holyoke College.

He is married and has three children and five grandchildren.

###

About UNICEF
UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.  The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments. For more information about UNICEF and its work visit: www.unicef.org

For further information, please contact:
Christopher de Bono, UNICEF Media, New York, + 1 212 303 7984, cdebono@unicef.org


 

 

 

New enhanced search