新闻中心

新闻说明

联合国儿童基金会关注受青海地震影响的儿童

联合国儿童基金会将向灾区运送防寒服、学校帐篷和毛毯。

2010年4月19日,北京 – 目前救援人员仍在继续搜寻青海玉树地震震中的结古镇倒塌房屋下的幸存人员,与此同时,在海拔4000多米的西藏高原上,灾区儿童正面临着抵御严寒的迫切问题。上周末,许多人在零度以下的气温中露宿,仅盖着毯子御寒。联合国儿童基金会应中国教育和卫生部门的请求,正积极采取行动提供援助,并与其他联合国机构紧密协调援助工作。

联合国儿童基金会向相关部门了解了灾区儿童的需求并协调开展援助行动。灾后的初期阶段至关重要,应尽量避免多次前往灾区进行实地评估,否则有可能严重影响当前正在进行的搜救行动。在未来几天内,联合国儿童基金会将向灾区运送5000套儿童防寒服、150顶72平米学校帐篷、以及2000床毛毯。根据气象部门预报,今天玉树震区将有小到中雪。

“这场地震发生在中国最为贫困和偏远的地区之一。” 联合国儿童基金会驻华代表兼联合国在华灾情管理工作组主席魏英瑛博士说。“我们很关注灾区的孩子们和他们的家人。”

截至周一,地震已造成1706人死亡,256人失踪,12128人受伤,其中1424人伤势严重。目前为止,救援人员已从废墟下成功解救出6870人,目前仍不清楚还有多少人仍被压埋在倒塌的房屋下。这场地震还造成当地85%的民房坍塌,大约十万名当地群众无家可归。

根据当地教育部门提供的信息,80%的小学和50%的中学校舍在此次强震中严重受损,影响了该县23197名学生及938名教师的正常教学活动。目前官方公布的学校伤亡人数为:103名学生和12名教师死亡,另有684名师生受伤,73名师生失踪或仍被压埋。玉树县近半数的学生都寄宿在学校。

应相关部门的请求,除了第一批援助物资外,联合国儿童基金会还将准备提供2000双儿童冬靴、5000套书包和文具、500块黑板、救护车、发电机和医疗设备。

“由于灾区学校遭受了大面积损毁,我们将协助当地政府确保设立临时的教学设施。”魏英瑛博士说。“在发生类似的灾难之后,让儿童尽早地回归到正常生活是非常重要的。我们从四川地震中获得的经验证明,让孩子返回课堂并接受适当的社会心理支持,有助于他们从灾难中恢复。”

地震发生后,中国政府立即展开了大规模救援行动,运送了大批赈灾物资,并调动部队官兵和其他救灾人员紧急赶往现场。中国民政部已向灾区运送了大量帐篷、棉衣和棉被。大约200名救援人员因为高原反应不得不撤离灾区。

根据青海省卫生部门提供的消息,玉树县妇幼保健院在地震中完全坍塌。目前,该地区急需医疗物资以及产科设备。

关于联合国儿童基金会

联合国儿童基金会在全世界超过150个国家和地区开展工作,帮助儿童在婴幼儿期和青少年时期实现生存和发展的权利。联合国儿童基金会是世界上向发展中国家提供疫苗最多的机构,为儿童提供卫生保健和营养、良好的供水和环境卫生设施,保障所有男孩和女孩都能接受优质的基础教育,并保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病的伤害。联合国儿童基金会在1947年至1951年间即解放前后曾向中国提供援助,援助内容包括:紧急救援、食品营养以及提供卫生保健培训等。1979年,联合国儿童基金会正式开始与中国政府合作。联合国儿童基金会的所有资金均来自政府、企业、基金会和个人的自愿捐助。

更多信息请联络

联合国儿童基金会驻中国办事处 刘莉
电话:(86-10) 65323131转1303
手机:13701066671
电邮:liliu@unicef.org


 

 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

News note

Children seriously affected by Qinghai Earthquake

UNICEF will assist with children’s winter clothing, school tents and supplies

BEIJING, 19 April 2010 – As teams of rescuers continue to search for survivors in earthquake flattened Jiegu Town, on the 4000 metre high Tibetan plateau, the immediate danger to children from cold weather has emerged. Over the weekend many residents slept in the open in sub-zero temperatures, trying to keep warm under blankets. UNICEF is now responding to requests from education and health authorities for assistance, and closely collaborating with other UN agencies.

UNICEF is coordinating its assistance with relevant authorities best placed to assess the needs of children. During the critical early period there is a danger that multiple assessment missions could seriously hamper the progress of ongoing search and rescue operations. Within the next several days UNICEF will dispatch 5,000 sets of warm children’s clothing, 150 72sqm school tents and 2,000 wool blankets. Today’s weather forecasts calls for light to medium snow.

“This earthquake hit one of China’s very poor and remote communities,” said Dr Yin Yin Nwe, UNICEF China Representative and Chair of the United Nations Disaster Management Team. “We are concerned about the impact on children and their families.”

By Monday, quake casualty numbers had reached 1,706 dead, 256 missing and 12,128 injured - including 1,424 severely. Some 6,870 people have been rescued from debris while an unknown number may still buried beneath collapsed buildings. 100,000 residents have been made homeless with 85% of all buildings toppled.

According to local education authorities 80 per cent of primary schools and 50 per cent of secondary schools in Yushu have been severely damaged affecting 23,197 students and 938 teachers. The latest available number of school casualties stands at 103 children and 12 teachers dead, 684 students and teachers injured as well as 73 students and teachers missing or buried. Approximately half of school children in Yushu County study in boarding schools.

At the request of relevant authorities UNICEF is also preparing to supply 2,000 children’s winter boots, 5,000 student kits and shoulder bags, 500 blackboards, ambulances, generators and medical equipment.

“Schools in the affected area have suffered extensive damage and we will support the government’s efforts to ensure that transitional facilities are set up,” said Dr Nwe. “Following disasters such as this it is important that children can return to normalcy as soon as possible. We have evidence from the Sichuan earthquake that going back to school with appropriate psycho-social support helps children recover.”

The Government of China has launched a major disaster response focusing on rescue and relief and mobilization soldiers and relief personnel. The Ministry of Civil Affairs has sent relief items including tents, winter clothes and quilts to the region. Approximately 200 rescuers were forced to leave the quake zone due to altitude sickness.
According to Qinghai health authorities the maternal and child health hospital in Yushu County collapsed in the earthquake. There is an urgent need for medical supplies and childbirth equipment.

About UNICEF
UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence. The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments.

For further information, please contact:
Dale Rutstein, UNICEF China, +86 13910973801, drutstein@unicef.org or Liu Li, UNICEF China, +86 13701066671, liliu@unicef.org

Patrick McCormick, UNICEF Media, New York,  Tel + 1 212 326-7426, Email: pmccormick@unicef.org


 

 

 

New enhanced search